Ratings based on 1,722 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan

Thank you Jasmyne and Dennis

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: The vibe, the staff, and the proximity to everything cool.
Cons: Wish you didn't have to book more than 1 night in the summer.
Location: You are close to Wonder Bar, Stone Pony, Convention Center, THE BEACH and Watarmark.
Great staff. I stay here about 5-10 times a year since I love Asbury. I only stay here. Great location, staff, vibes, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Jose A., Hotel Management
We truly appreciate the kind words and sharing your stay with us. Jasmyne and Dennis strive to make each guest feel welcomed. We continue look to the guest to provide us value added feedback so that we can continue to make improvements. We look forward to reconnecting in the near future. Be Well Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mahwah NJ

overall very good

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Location! Old but with style and faded glory.
Cons: Like most places small things that an owner or management team with purse power could fix quickly.
Location: Beach boardwalk all the restaurants and bars you could want within walking distance.
Staff great! Room large comfy. Some small things, bathroom light missing sconce. Sliding door on closet non-functioning. Carpet at door frayed. Windows dirty, one screen so discolored and frayed marred marvelous view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Jose A., Hotel Management
Hello Gerry, we truly appreciate the kind words and sharing your stay with us. Our team strives to provide a coastal chic experience with a nostalgic community. We continue look to the guest to provide us value added feedback so that we can continue to make improvements. We will take your comments into account and pass it down to our maintenance team for revision. We look forward to reconnecting in the near future. Be Well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brick, nj

Amazing hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Beautiful hotel with a friendly staff! They are very accommodating and Jose at the front desk is amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2017 by Berkeley Hotel Management, Hotel Management
James, thank you for your review. Our team is very grateful that you chose us as your home away from home. We would be so thankful if you could kindly write a 5 star Tripadvisor review about your recent experience with us and mention how Jose made it special for you! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Great staff. nice hotel. location close to beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Jose A., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our team is very grateful that you chose us as your home away from home! We would be so thankful if you could kindly write a 5 star Tripadvisor review about your recent experience with us and mention any of our staff members that made it extra special for you. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, Berkeley Oceanfront Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brick, NJ

Posted Dec 16, 2017
The best part of my experience was the gentleman at the front desk! Not only was he able to handle a busy late night check out, he was professional, courteous, and one of the most knowledgeable hospitality staff I have ever encountered, and I travel A Lot! I don’t remember his name but it stared with a ‘D’. He deserves a promotion!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Jose A., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our team is very grateful that you chose us as your home away from home, we are eager to please! We would be so thankful if you could kindly write a 5 star Tripadvisor review about your recent experience with us and mention how Dennis' service made it extra special for you. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
The hotel was beautiful and our room was very clean. My only complaint is that for a random weekend in December the price was quite high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Jose, Hotel Management
Greetings from the Berkeley! We're very please to hear overall you had a very good stay. Our weekends in the winter can definitely get busy with all of the events in Asbury Park, as well as weddings. We hope the price point won't stray you away from a bustling city with a landmark hotel. Hope to see you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Historic

Posted Nov 28, 2017
I have been staying here since 1982...simply love the Berkley..
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Jasmyne, Hotel Management
Dear Rich, Thank you for choosing our hotel as your home away from home. We are looking forward to hosting you again soon !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very close to beach, but slacked on amenities.

Posted Nov 26, 2017
This hotel is super clean and the staff is extremely nice. The only thing we didn’t like was the hotel rooms had no mini fridge, nor any coffee makers. I travels with an infant and was not able to keep the milk in fridge and has to leave the room to get coffee. The beds were very firm, and rooms aren’t very big. Breakfast the next morning was worth the $16. The food was really good and fresh!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Jasmyne, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Kristi, Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay with us. The Berkeley Team is working hard to make our guests happy. We apologize for not fully meeting your expectations and we do hope that you will visit us again. We do provide refrigerators and microwaves upon request.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Old charming hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Well we requested a king room received 2 double and was told no king rooms and because we booked through Expedia we weren't guaranteed a king bed. My confirmation clearly stated king, manager said no guarantee rooms & no rooms available . Our room was a little worn down. Bedding comfy though. And bathroom lite burnt out upon arrival.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Jasmyne, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Kim, We do apologize for any issues that you encountered during your stay with us. The Berkeley Team is working very hard to create the best experiences possible for all of our guests. We hope to see you back soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great wedding...Rooms need improvement.

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Great wedding!
Cons: Parking situation was confusing. There is valet parking but not if you are staying overnight at the hotel which doesn't make much sense.
Room was very dated. Old carpet. Moldy smell.. "City view" room was horrific. Showed only a rooftop with construction equipment and paint buckets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by Berkeley Team, Hotel Management
We truly apologize that we missed the mark with your stay. Your thoughts and your voice are very important to us. We continue to share with our associates on all feedback especially areas of improvement. Be well, Hotel Manager