Ratings based on 467 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean. Nice.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Great staff, got us a 2 bed room instead of a single, which was great. I wish the roof was open just for the view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Mike T, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very unique hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 19, 2016
We stayed here for a wedding we were attending. The hotel is really neat in appearance & has almost an old school/apartment looking style to it on the outside & a sleek modern look inside. It really is a unique & beautiful hotel. The only reason I wouldn't give 5 stars is due to the fact I find it a little ridiculous to ask your guests to pay an extra $10 just to park in the hotel lot. There really is no other option so you are stuck paying that additional fee on top of the cost to stay at the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Mike T , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Parking is very tight in Asbury. We are sorry that we disappointed you on that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel by the beach, but needs updating

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Checked in early (3pm instead of 4pm), but we were told that all hotel parking was reserved - for "other" guests. Had to park two blocks away. Got to the room, and saw how outdated, and shabby the furnishings looked. The carpet was ripped, the night stands had multiple cigarette burns, the TV was an old desktop model and the window must have leaked since the sill was damaged. Being ocean view does not make up for this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Mike T, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are currently adding many new upgrades to our hotel. We hope you will return to see them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Oct 12, 2016
This was my second stay at the Berkeley and I plan upon having more more. The staff is very accommodating and professional, and the location is perfect! Right across the street from the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Mike T, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parlin, NJ

Nice stay

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Beautiful ambiance and great location right next to the ocean.
Cons: No mini fridge to store drinks.
Location: Concerts, boardwalk, great bar scene and restaurants nearby.
The hotel staff were awesome. The room itself was nice.The only thing that would have made it better would be if it came with a mini fridge. There was no place to store beverages.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Mike T, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you took the time to recognize our wonderful team!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Clean, comfortable room with a nice view. Valet parking took longer than expected.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from asbury park, nj

disappointing stay

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: total make over!!!! rm decor is totally ugly & backdated.
Location: no comment.
hotel smelly, even as you entered. no fridge in rm, as promised. had to ask for blanket, which arrived w/a hole in it. droopy, lumpy sofa. NOT a deluxe - or even good looking room! hallways too dark. no ntly entertainment in hotel: billiard room closed, as was pool. when fridge arrived, it didn't wk, so 2ND FRIDGE had to be delivered! only 1 clerk at front desk during wkly 'check in' times..........long lines.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Posted Sep 19, 2016
There was no room service. We came back to the room at 5pm and we needed to shower but there were not towels and our beds wwre not made.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Dismal

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything. It need serious investment and refurbishment.
Location: The location is great, close to the boardwalk, the beach, restaurants and bars, which is great but the hotel experience itself is dismal.
I have never been so disappointed with a hotel in my life. This hotel is in dire need of investment and refurbishment. The corridors are dimly lit and drab, doors barely fit the frames, the bed linen and pillows barely fit and the whole place is tired. The staff were less than helpful and didn't seem to actually know much about the hotel, it would appear that there is a total lack of training. I don't blame them, I blame the owners/management. It is certainly not value for money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, dingy and dark.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Awful. Old hotel terribly maintained. One bath towel per room. Stained furniture covered by a magazine so you would not see the stain.Chair upholstery torn, Hall door could be opened by just pushing against the door, sink drain stopper broken and left on side of sink.Shower did not work.Individually these are not huge items, collectively it sets the atmosphere that you are in a motel six paying 4 star prices. Had it not been 10:00pm when we checked in we would have left that night. We were scheduled to stay two nights but checked out the next day and went home. I retread your ratings which were accurate but very incomplete.over the past year I have been using your service and have been very happy with correlation of value of hotel and price. This was not the case. Under no circumstances will I pay for a second night. The hotel informed me that payment goes directly to Expedia. If you value me and all my contacts as customers you will waive the second night.