Ratings based on 922 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florence, S. C.

Inside Grand Canyon National Park

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Loved the large open area in the lodge waiting area with a big fireplace and a nice warm fire.
Cons: One room was ready early, but two rooms were not ready until past the check in time. May have been because we updated. More lighting outside walkway.
Location: Location was perfect for us to get to all the sights we were interested in seeing.
This was a delightful experience. There were 3 couples traveling together. The staff was helpful in getting us rooms beside each other. The offered up the chance to upgrade to a larger room on check in. This was a good opportunity. We had a great view of the mountains. The restaurant offered exceptional food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Smatlock, Hotel Management
Dear Peggy, Thank you for your wonderful review and your observations of the customer service that given also, to your fellow traveler. For you online fellow travelers this guest is speaking of Sequoia National Park. It sounds like she is on a vacation that at least 2 National Parks are her destinations. Thanks again Peggy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was just OK

Posted Oct 6, 2017
You don't have many options in this part of the park, but overall we were a disappointed. The hotel staff was great, but the lodge itself seemed a little dated. The same for the restaurant; the staff was courteous a and kind but the menu and food quality were "eh."
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by smatlock, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review. I apologize for your disappointment in the overall look as rustic is not everyone's forte. We appreciate that you stayed with us and hope that you arrived to your next destination safely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middlesex, Uk

Comfortable lodge in Sequioa National Park

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Plenty of hot water. Wi-Fi was ok but a bit slow. Beautiful, relaxing surroundings, we wished we had booked a longer stay, and we were sorry to.leave
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by smatlock, Hotel Management
“Comfortable lodge in Sequioa National Park” Review Site: Expedia Posted: 2017-09-24 Reviewed by: Sharon Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Plenty of hot water. Wi-Fi was ok but a bit slow. Beautiful, relaxing surroundings, we wished we had booked a longer stay, and we were sorry to.leave
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.J.

Beautiful and breathtaking.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Loved our stay . A few things would have made our stay nicer. Driving to door of lodge to drop off luggage, being able to sit by window in dining at least once in 6 meals, moving 2nd night to lodge in canyon area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by Smatlock, Hotel Management
Dear Fran, Thank you for staying with us and I apologize that it was not all that you had hoped for . I hope that you arrived to your next destination safely and that someday you will return to give us another opportunity to do better for you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Absolutely beautiful setting. Sequoia national Park is an amazing American treasure. Unfortunately, Compared to many other national Park hotels we've stayed in, this one was a huge disappointment. The rooms were shabby, and food was mediocre at best. A perfect example of what a hospitality contractor can get away with when there's no competition. The website said there would be Wi-Fi, but it did not work, and the staff are quite blasé about it. As expected, no cell phone service. My advice is to visit Sequoia for a day and skip this overnight experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Smatlock, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, I apologize for your less than expected experience. We due publicize limited wifi and add that its the park experience that should be your drive to visit a National Park and get disconnected. I hope that you arrived at your destination safely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derry, NH

First class lodge in Sequoia National Park.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Rustic decor, and comfortable, spacious rooms.
Cons: Access from the guest parking lots to the guest room buildings. WiFi access in the guest rooms is sketchy.
Location: Close to many park facilities and attractions, such as many hiking trails, the General Sherman Tree, the Giant Forest Museum, and Moro Rock.
Great views, comfortable rooms, and good food. At the end of the day, it's all about location, location, location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Exec Admin Assistant, Hotel Management
Thank you Dave for the 4 stars as we are so pleased that we met your expectations for a remote lodge location. To your fellow travelers I will add that we disclose on our website and at check in that the wifi is is not like that of the city due to our remote location; but most travelers are not here to stay connected but to rather, disconnect and enjoy nature. Thanks again for staying with us and I hope that you can return again someday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Egg Harbor Township

Vacation

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: The proximity to King's Canyon and Sequoia Parks.
Cons: The front desk employees should pay more attention to the guests and their requests. The same goes for the servers in the lodge.
We were on a 2 week vacation and stayed here so we could visit King's Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. They were remodeling the rooms but did not get to ours yet. It did need to be updated and a top to bottom deep cleaning should be added to the list of things they should do. The shower liner absolutely needs a new one. Ours was dirty. Our one bathroom light was out and told a couple of front desk associates twice and needless to say it was not taken care of. Housekeeping did not refill our Kleenex when it was out. While dining at the lodge, we had to ask for a clean napkin and knife. Also, when we ordered something to drink it did not show up and had to ask once again for it. This was at dinnertime. My husband and I feel that customer service classes would benefit all parties.
3 out of 5
by Debbie

Road tripping

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
The area the lodge is located in is gorgeous and perfect for visiting Sequoia and kings canyon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017
Thank you Debbie for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed that park.
3 out of 5
by Alan

Just OK

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
It was OK. Pricey for what you got. It was a little inconvenient having to go from our room to another building for meals. Service at dinner was very slow. Rooms had been updated, but smelled of paint. I received an extra booking charge after returning home that I wasn't told about. I had prepaid through Hotels.com and was surprised to get this extra charge. Trying to investigate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017
Thank you for your review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McLean VA

Location and food are the onky good things here.

Posted May 19, 2017
The rooms are terrible, baseboards ripped out, no bedspread or duvet, basically a motel room. The location is excellent-just a few mintes from the Giant Forest. The restaurant is also good bit requires reservations for dinner so book in advance. Not good value for money but you have no other choices in the park.