Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Decent place to stay in the area.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Close to the village of Black Mountain.
Cons: It was just very basic.
Location: Lots of hiking and sightseeing in the area. Black Mountain is nice little village with some great eats.
I did not hang out at the Inn. Was hiking and sight seeing. The Innkeeper did not show me the house. Just pointed to the dining area and showed me to my room. She was nice and gave directions to Chimney Rock which is the reason I was in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful retreat in beautiful Black Mountain!

Posted Nov 2, 2015
This B & B is historic and lovely, with many unique touches. The innkeeper is very welcoming and goes out of her way to ensure the comfort of her guests. It is a short walk or drive to all kinds of local attractions, yet in a quiet setting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely B&B with hospitable innkeeper

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: Nearly everything. See above.
Cons: Nothing. It's great.
Location: There is a beautiful little downtown with cute shops and great restaurants. There's also a lake with a path in town.
The inn is located off the main road in a lovely setting. The owner met me at the door, and was both welcoming and helpful. She accommodated my need for gluten free food in her delicious breakfast. There were nice touches, such as a desk with a lamp and maps, tea, and cold water. The other guests were interesting and funny, and I really enjoyed my visit. The only negative was a nearby train, which was noisy. The last time it passed by for the night was around 11:30. Breakfast is at 8:30, so no need to get up too early.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Not what I had hoped. More run down than charming, yet it suited our needs just fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Dirty windows obstructed beautiful fall colors.

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Very appropriate for a Halloween event: Squeeqy floors, the scent of mold throughout the house. It is an old house! If you like one that needs L&C it might just be right for you. 💖
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cookeville TN

Quaint, charming and accommodating

Posted Aug 31, 2015
This wonderful 180 year old inn is a former artists' colony. The setting was incredibly charming with chestnut paneling and antique furnishings. The innkeeper was lovely, charming and profoundly accommodating, preparing breakfast early for the guests on request and allowing late check ins as needed. The only downside was the train blowing nearby several times as I tried to sleep which took away from the overall joy of this experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Great place, wish we could have stayed longer. Staff was warm, welcoming and quite wonderful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed and Breakfast

Posted Aug 17, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and the interaction with the other guest during breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Very nice mountain inn!

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Quiet and comfortable bed. Delicious baked french toast with peaches.
Cons: Breakfast could be enhanced to includes some meats (bacon, etc.), juice, muffins or toast. But otherwise it was quite delicious.
Location: Asheville River Arts District, local breweries such as Pisgah Brewing and Sierra Nevada. The town of Black Mountain is also very nice.
Enjoyed a three-night stay recently and this old, but charming inn. Very comfortable bed and quiet surroundings. Convenient to Asheville NC, downtown Black Mountain, The Blue Ridge Parkway, and more!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Adequate for One Night

Posted Jun 21, 2015
This is a small country inn, bed and breakfast style place. The room was adequate and generally clean. The house was built in the 1880s, and it is interesting from an historical perspective. It doesn't have air conditioning in the rooms, and it's was warm the night we staywd there, so it wasn't as comfortable as we had hoped. The staff was available by phone, but they relied on written instructions for checking in after hours, and we didn't see anyone until we left the next morning. In this regard, it didn't seem as welcoming or warm as we've come to expect with B&Bs. For this reason, we won't stay there again nor would we recommend it to friends.