Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern VA

Great Hotel right downtown

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Everything - they even gave us a goodie bag to go on departure. Very nice, responsive staff.
Cons: No
Location: You are right downtown in the middle of the action. We Uber'd to the Biltmore and drove to the Grove Park Inn - both worth seeing.
My wife and I stayed here for a 3-day getaway. This is a beautiful hotel. Very large room, king size bed, sofa, 2 TVs (1 large panel, 1 in bathroom), refrigerator, Keurig, very large bathroom and shower/jacuzzi tub. Very private, very quiet. Free breakfast and turndown candies. We could walk to many breweries, restaurants and shops. Free parking. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Nice hotel right in the middle of Asheville town.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Location in town
Great location near many breweries and shops. Free breakfast and free valet was a plus. Front desk very helpful. Would certainly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
DOWNTOWN LOCATION GREAT FOR NOT HAVING TO DRIVE TO RESTAURANTS, BARS, SHOPPING ETC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hickory nc

Perfect location

Posted Jan 30, 2017
This sits in the heart of Asheville. Great room, staff, and amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Durham NC

First Time in Asheville

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The staff greeted us personally and warmly and took care of certain details and requests that we had. The location is amazing.
Cons: The decor in general is a bit dated - could use an updated paint scheme but I am certain that it is difficult to run and pay for an independent hotel.
Location: The location is perfect. Walking distance to Pack's Tavern, Curate and French Broad Chocolates!
First time visiting Asheville and the Haywood was a great choice for us. The hotel is a bit dated but that didn't bother us. There were quaint touches throughout the hotel. The furnishing are clean and well-cared for and the beds are very comfortable. We loved the size of the room - large enough for a comfortable seating area to look out the window and watch the sunrise. We felt like it was important to support independent businesses in the area, starting with the hotel. It was personal, warm and inviting. We did not feel like we were shuttled in and out like you feel in some of the more modern, larger hotel chains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville

Fantastic hotel near NC Stage Company

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Comfortable room and awesome staff. Within easy walking distance of tons of stuff to see and do!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Will definitely stay here again in the future! The room was HUGE! Complimentary champagne and chocolates on arrival, and a cute little departure gift bag with waters and granola bars at check out. Great location right downtown so we could walk to everything. Great experience! Highly recommend staying here!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great location in downtown Asheville

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: location, size and comfort of room, small size.
Cons: speed up breakfast service.
Location: The hotel is well situated for dining, shopping, and pub visits. This is also a good base for visits to historic churches, the Thomas Wolfe house, etc
This is one of the few centrally located hotels in Asheville. This makes it easy to walk to restaurants, galleries, breweries, etc. The rooms are huge. The staff quickly and successfully addressed a minor plumbing problem that we identified in our bathroom. Valet parking worked well. The adjacent cafe offers a nice variety of breakfast options, although there was a bit of a wait for the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hope to return soon!

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: Shopping, restaurants, etc
Plenty of room very nice rooms, nice bathrooms with phone and TV in the bathroom. Turndown service at night with wonderful chocolates and ice is brought to the room. Front desk people were incredible. Valet parking is free and a real plus especially since you're in the middle of everything in downtown Asheville, Hotel is nice and quiet. Free breakfasts is not the run-of-the-mill cheap stuff but made to order with Starbucks coffee and quite delightful and that's included with the room right. Looking forward to many happy returns. Free champagne on registration check-in was also nice touch. Departing gift of granola bars and waters were nice for road trip home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant surprise

Posted Dec 23, 2016
In an old Ivey's department store building in downtown Asheville. Has free valet parking (which in really nice since parking spots are at a premium). Great champagne on registration by very nice and accommodating staff. Rooms were very large and really nice an comfortable. Mattress was a bit firm. TV in bathroom was a nice touch as was Jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was a made to order at a Starbucks type venue. Overall could not ask for a better experience. The old department store style was neat. Example, old mannequins on each floor with large sitting areas and when elevator arrived at our floor-"men"s wear second floor". Best part is that we got a great bargain price thru Expedia. Look forward to many happy returns.