Ratings based on 732 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Disappointing

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Price and close proximity to my reason for being there.
Cons: New carpet, fixtures, appliances and paint would be nice.
Location: In Smokey Mountains. Has a great Hardware/General Store with old time toys. Hiking trails. Close to Billy Graham school & Community of the Cross.
Dated, older building. Coffee pot didn't work and office personnel did not volunteer to fix it or replace it. Fixtures older, but worked. Flat screen TV. Nice dresser. Afraid to use hair dryer. It got so hot that I could see the coils, and it smelled like it was over heating when I tried to use it. Very weak air stream on any level. Shower ok. Towels ok. Iron and board in room, as well as microwave and fridge. Both worked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

absolutely terrible

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: i hated every single thing
Cons: literally everything
Location: there is nothing to do here
this hotel is the absolute worst. and so is expedia. I show up at 11 am and am told my room is not ready and to come back at 1 pm. ok fine. i was in town for an event, and knew i wouldn't be checking in until much later at this point. the hotel calls me once at 5pm to tell me my credit card isn't working. funny - i did not give them any credit card information NOR did i give expedia any credit card information as i chose the pay at the hotel option. From what the extremely incompetent expedia customer service told me was that they pulled a card i used last time. nope, they didn't tell me, or ask me or anything. so of course the card is expired, hence why i chose the pay at the hotel option. the hotel called me one time at 5 pm, in the middle of my event and left me a voicemail. expedia made no effort to contact me whatsoever. I finally arrive at the hotel at 3 am to be told by an extremely rude front desk attendant that they gave my room away. "we called you once and you didn't answer" and we have no rooms left for you. so expedia and super 8 left me stranded in the middle of the night, 4 hours from home. I called expedia and the customer service rep told me there was nothing she can do for me, and its too late. what great service, there is nothing i can do for you. i can't believe no one in this whole situation apologized or explained the process to me of why they pulled an expired credit card after i chose pay at the hotel and did not provide my information.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The TV went out the last night we were there but they gave us $20 toward our next stay. I was pleased with that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Cons: Cleaner rooms
Was upset about mold in shower. Was disappointed that breakfast was very limited
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Dated and run down but not bad for price

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Location, price, pleasant staff
Cons: Drastically needs updating, wifi didn't work in room, stained furniture and ceiling needs attention, shower very slow to drain
Location: Neat little downtown a short drive or long walk away.
Hotel overall was run down. Alot of stains on ceiling and furniture but otherwise clean for what it was. I was there for a guys mountain bike trip so condition was acceptable considering reasonable price. Not really a place I would want to bring a wife or family but it is in a neat little town with not many hotel options.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Convenient for Biltmore tour

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The room was spacious.
Cons: Rug needs to be cleaned. Bathroom needs to be repaired and updated. The walls are paper thin and we could hear conversations taking place in two rooms
Location: Black Mountain is a very cute town with unique restaurants. It is convenient for touring the Biltmore.
The room was spacious, updated and lovely. The bathroom sink was cracked. The bathroom curtain was falling down. Our feet had dirt when we got in the shower. The shower floor had sharp items. The air conditioning was not working properly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor value for the money

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Breakfast seating. Attention to room condition. Lower price.
Location: Near Asheville and the blue ridge mountains.
Looked like the wi fi which was promised was in bad shape. It was weak and at time I could not connect. In the middle of the night when most folks were asleep it was fine. It had a broken electric plug that would not hold a plug in. Seating at breakfast was very limited. Staff was friendly and helpful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Dump

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Poorly attentive college aged kids on admission, gentleman that couldn't understand me when I held my key out and said I wanted to check out the next morning (I said it three times). Room was ratty looking; stained and broken ceiling tiles, crusted stains on ALL table tops (I was able to clean with a washcloth). Old beer bottles in the mini frige, paper cups had no plastic covers, no plastic liner for ice bin, bugs (dead, three) in the rest room and dirty footprints in the rest room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and run down

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff but the place is run down and needs improvement in many ways (rooms, lobby, grounds, etc.). It is also incredibly overpriced for what you get. I regret booking a room here.
3 out of 5
by Brian from Raleigh, NC

Pit stop from NC to TN

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
It was a quick pit stop from Raleigh, NC to Nashville, TN....Hotel was good, only issues would be other guests as some ran by door to room multiple times pre-6am and yelling in the parking lot.