Ratings based on 590 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Cute and quaint, close to downtown

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The staff, the comfortable bed, the old charm and quaint feel
Cons: Shower liner was starting to mold and bed did not have a fitted sheet on it, just a loose sheet tucked in.
Location: Conveniently located near downtown Asheville (5-6 min drive or Uber ride). Lots of great restaurants and grocery store within walking distance.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. It is definitely a no-frills kinda place but it has a certain charm to it. It felt like I was staying at my grandmother's house. The price was excellent and it was a short drive or Uber ride to downtown Asheville. The staff was so welcoming and friendly too! If you are looking for a fancy hotel room, this isn't the place for you. If you're one of those people who nit-picks every little detail of a hotel room, I also wouldn't recommend this place for you. But if you're looking for a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced room close to downtown then I highly recommend The Mountaineer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fair and encouraging review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampton Roads, Virginia

Old style, friendly Asheville!

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown and hiking areas, safe. Friendly accommodating front desk and cleaning staff.
Location: located on Tunnel road, easy access to downtown and Biltmore.
The Mountaineer was as advertised. It is a throw-back in terms of the motel-style of the 1960's-1970's. The room was clean,and had adequate HVAC which was quiet. Non-smoking room was truly non smoking-did not smell of cover-up deodorizer. Amenities included friendly staff, breakfast and microwave and refrigerator in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We really appreciate your fair and friendly review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bayonet Point FL

Stay

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Notbad for a motel that is over 50 years old. My son had always wanted to stay there as'a kis, so wben we were in town on business we did stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Thanks a lot for your nice comments. Glad we got to fulfill a lifelong dream for your son! LOL. Please return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Rooms smelled of smoke. Carpet falling apart. Heater not working. Florscent lights Sink and shower need attention We had two rooms. One was a little better Staff very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Sorry for your issues, we definitely still have some rooms in need of upgrading. We appreciate your nice words about our staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful ambiance

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Stayed here 6 or more times and the owner and staff are terrific. If you're looking for modern, this is not your place but if you're looking for clean and comfortable then the Mountaineer will suit you perfectly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much ! We are working very hard to give our guests a nice experience here. Happy holidays ! We hope you will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

surprising nice

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Nice rooms. extremely clean. very nice staff. we would definitely recommend this place especially due to the price
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by manager, Hotel Management
Awesome. We are so grateful to you for your lovely review of us. I am thrilled you had a good stay! Happy Holidays!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Funky, friendly and affordable.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
I loved the Beverly Hillbillies style of this place, and what it lacks in luxury it makes up for in friendliness. If you like glass and marble tower hotels this isn't for you, but you will get a comfortable bed and a quiet room, plus the feeling you're staying with friends. Elisha and her staff are quick to handle problems or requests, and the location is great if you're there to take in Asheville in a few days (close to restaurants, the mall, the Biltmore, the fabulous Grove Park Inn and more).
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Elisha, Hotel Management
Thank you, Mark! And if we weren't friends when you arrived, we will be by the time you leave! Looking forward to your return visit sir.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord, NC

Christmas Tradition

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Close to everything, the mall too
Cons: Fix the fridge
Location: The mall, Biltmore, other shopping and walking distance as well!!
This hotel I stay at every time I'm in Asheville. It is close to all good places to eat, downtown, and 8 minutes to the Biltmore House. I take my Daughter & Granddaughter every year there so it's a cozy, comfy place to stay with a pretty good view of the mountains. The staff are very friendly too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Elisha, Hotel Management
Thank you for being one of The Mountaineer Inn family.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rated totally wrong

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Curtains falling down. Holes in the walls. Smelly Terrible experience![
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
So sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We would have tried to move you or fix your issues if you had let us know.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

not confortable

Posted Nov 29, 2016
i dont like it, to old place ! No AC at room, i think the level of this hotel is 1/2 start.dont recomende this place, the cost is over the reality
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry you feel this way, we have ac units in some rooms, and central ac in our front building. Folks just need to speak up, ask questions and voice complaints when they are not comfortable and we will do what we can to make things right.