Ratings based on 514 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gutes Preis Leistungsverhältnis

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Etwas abgewohnt, jedoch in Ordnung für den Preis. Überraschend gutes Frühstück
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ottimo e originale

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Finalmente un motel diverso dagli altri, non parte di una catena, ma a conduzione familiare. Buona colazione, camere tranquille a spaziose, disponibilità della piscina. Interessante look anni '50 - '60 con insegne al neon
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Worst experience ever

Posted Aug 24, 2016
We used this hotel as a stopover during a road trip. We couldnt sleep at all. The detergent used to wash the sheets smell terrible and we spent the night scartching our skin. Never happened in all the hotels i visited.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anderson, S.C.

Worse place I have ever stayed.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Tear it down
Location: On Tunnel Rd, close to downtown, which is why I booked it in first place.
This hotel, if you can call it that, was the worse place I have ever stayed. If you like mold and filth this is your place. Mold was on floor, ceiling and lap shade. It is impossible to describe how dirty the room felt If N.C. inspects hotels it is beyond me how they could be allowed to operate. I have stayed in some bad places around the world but nothing to compare to this. W were literally afraid to touch anything. The first thing we did when w got home was to take a shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

typisch amerikanisches Motel für Durchreisende

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Das Frühstück war überragend und das beste, was wir auf unserer 3-wöchigen Rundreise bekamen. Viele Bagel-und Brotsorten, frisches Obst, etc.
Cons: Der Zustand der Zimmer, des Bades und der Einrichtung ist sehr, sehr abgwohnt und schon gewöhnungsbedürftig
Location: Ausflug nach "Biltmore Estate", dem ehemals größten Privatanwesen der Vanderbilts
Wir nutzten das Motel als Ausgangspunkt für den Besuch von Biltmore. Es ist ein typischs Motel für die Durchreise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Nice, friendly place.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Bed was quite comfortable. Huge room! Clean.
The proprietor is in his nineties and he and the entire staff were friendly and welcoming We enjoyed great conversations. We brought our own hair dryer and shampoo but that seems a small price to pay for such a friendly place. It was clean, too with peach trees, cable, wi-fi and a swimming pool. Price was exceptional..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Ozark charm

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Guests are family here. It's an old motel, but the price is right. Rooms have an Ozarks cabin charm. Breakfast is simple and more of a social experience than the glutton fest at most hotel chains. The pool is showing its age, but it is very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Elisha-Office manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fair and nice assessment of our place! We are so glad you felt at home, since that is our #1 goal!! Please return!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value, Non-Corporate Charm

Posted Jul 7, 2016
I am with the people who liked this place. The place was clean, friendly and the breakfast was nice considering it is complimentary, and includes a variety of fresh fruit (melon, apples, bananas and fresh strawberries one morning in addition to bagels, creme cheese, donuts, etc). I liked the wood finish in my room. I also appreciate the friendly, non-corporate feel, for example, the woman in her late 70s cutting up fresh strawberries as part of our breakfast, and sharing stories about older times in Asheville. I found both staff and guests to be warm, but not overbearing, offering conversation if wanted, but never intruding. To those who complained that rooms are bit worn, this place was $35 to $40 cheaper than the next available option during the time I was there. When you are paying budget prices, don't expect the Ritz... And keep in mind I have been to 50 countries and stayed at all sorts of places, budget but also more expensive options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2016 by Elisha, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your positive review! We are striving to bring the motel back to it's former glory. Thanks for the support! Please come back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

for the budget minded

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
friendly reception upon arrival. Staff made a photocopy of my drivers license. I protested for privacy reason and data protection. It was explained that Expedia requires all guests to submit drivers license for photocopy at check-in. There was no guaranty of identity data protection. The assigned room stank to heavens, but I was offered an alternative, quickly. Room looked clean - if you don't look too close. Room has fridge, old-timey CRT television, not too noisy in regards to traffic, but chatting neighbors having a mid-night smoke outside will keep you up. A/C is central, no individual controls. A continental breakfast with fresh fruit and weak coffee is available. On the low scale of quality and value, but an efficient and sufficient overnight-er during my ride through the NC mountains. Nothing under $100 to be found in Asheville during Memorial Day weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Office manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give a review. We are happy to shred your info at check out if you request. Sorry about your initial check in to a smoking room, which indeed smell strong if you aren't used to it. We are continuing to upgrade our motel with new furnishings, new mattresses, new linens, new paint, new tvs and new toilets. Please give us another chance if you are ever in town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service that was above and beyond!

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
I highly recommend this motel. It's very cute and quirky and just a short drive into Asheville. The beds are comfy and the shower was hot with good water pressure. What makes this motel stand out though are the people working here. Specifically Andrew at the front desk. He went above and beyond to help our group out after we left an important garment bag in Asheville. He went in early to the office and literally walked our bag to the nearest FedEx and arranged getting it to us. It's the kind of service you expect from a five star hotel. We were blown away by his kindness and will most certainly be using this hotel any time we are in the area. Thank you again Andrew! The Mountaineer Inn is lucky to have you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2016 by Office manager, Hotel Management
We do so appreciate your kind words about us and our staff! I hope you will return to Asheville and stay with us.