Ratings based on 310 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Loved location BUT

Posted May 20, 2017
Location is fantastic. Hotel staff is great, could not ask for better staff. The cottage was very dark inside. Only a couple of lamps around for light. I could see spider webs in the bathroom, where there was good lighting. Couldn't see in the room well enough to see webs. Unfortunately we could only get 1 channel on the TV, the history channel. With all of this being said, these cabins are older and you should not expect the holiday inn. You are at a national park therefore things are going to be rustic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Perfect location, nice cabins appointed with firewood, and very friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olympia

Close to mountain, but terrible.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Cute cabin, but was dirty, out-dated, and cold. Fire helped, except wood was wet, no paper to start fire. Went to bed early to stay warm. Don't recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

CUTE

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: QUAINT, STAFF, LOCATION
Cons: FIREPLACES IN ALL CABINS.
Location: MT RAINIER - HIKING, SNOW SHOEING, DINING, ESCAPE INTO THE MOUNTAINS
PERFECT TIME, FUN SNOW PLAY AREA, SWEETEST GAL AT CHECKIN, HOUSEKEEPING, OWNER/MANAGER VERY NICE. REALLY CUTE CABIN. I WISH I HAD A FIREPLACE, I TRIED TO GET ONE BUT ALL SOLD OUT. IT WAS CHRISTMAS.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Good beds. Otherwise not cleaned of food and stains of food on walls and furniture. Old old carpets. Ceilings falling in, don't look up!
2 out of 5
by Jeremy

HORRABLE EXPERIENCE

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
I would like everyone that is interested in staying in the Gateway INN to be very carful. When we first walked it to our Cabin #1 I thought what a cute cabin. My husband and 3 kids loved the ways it looked inside. Once it was time for bed we moved the futon closer to our bed since we have little kids and they wanted to sleep close to us. When we moved the futon, it was a mess in that corner. garbage all over where the futon stood plus a dirty towel in the corner. That wasn't the only problem. When we got home and the next day my oldested daughter that slept by herself on one of the queen size beds, stated to complain that her head iched. So she ended up having 3 lice larvas and they within 1 day lade over 100 eggs in her head. Lukly she is sensitive so she started icheing before all the eggs hatched. I called TWICE to tell them that my daughter got lice from their cabin and both times the man that I tried to explain what happened kept saying that I shouldn't be complaining about the cabin, that it was a nice cabin. He then told me that he did not understand me so when I asked to talk with his boss he refused to help with that. So the end result is that they didnt wash their sheets, my daughter ended up with lice and they don't care not one bit. I asked him if I could talk with a housekeeper to tell them that they really need to clean that room out and he refused to help in any way. So I WILL NOT BE COMING BACK AND ILL BE MAKING SURE THAT ANYONE I KNOW DONT NOT GO THERE!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

set expectations as rustic, and you LOVE this

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Character exceeded my expectations. we had firewood looking forward to that fireplace, but some with starters were supplied, HOMEY!:loved the recliner
Cons: We had to borrow an outdoor coffee table, but didn't need it for the board games. Five of us could cuddle by the big fire and TALK.
Location: It is right before a gateway of Mt Ranier National Park.
This was one of the best family getaway places I have ever been to. My teens were awed. You must consider this a prime alternative to the tent camping...and go from there to magic: First, two double beds flanking a real solid river rock fireplace. We were glad we always bring our own humidifier. An icicle forest along all eaves. It WAS the Goodnight Moon storybook's great green room, but with real log construction with decades of "I was here carvings." Of course the notice its a crime to add more love notes in the logs was legit. I think these could have been WPA workers cabins, right by the beautiful National Park Gate. Beds were comfy (two full and one single) and indoor plumbing worked just fine. Looked like it could be cute in the summer, but we felt it was boss as our snow chasing destination. The icicles were amazing. (as was just how those roofs worked) Charmy AND authentic, rustic AND comfy, we all slept by the same firelight. Magic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Snow at your door step!

Posted Jan 15, 2017
It was great that kids can have fun in the snow right out of the door! Fireplace was great for family time at night. This is the hotel closest to park entrance (so close that you can walk into). An unique experience!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Snow at the cabin!

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Right next to park entrance. Nice area around cabins suitable for toddlers to toddle around in.
Cons: The refrigerator is actually a cooler and not capable of keeping milk from spoiling overnight. Many hotels list coolers as refrigerators - be warned!
Location: Obviously the Mt. Rainier park is nearby, and the cabin has a small field next to the cabins that is large enough to build a snowman in.
The kids loved it so that counts for a lot. Location is great, and with the snowfall we didn't even have to go into the park to get the kids time rolling around in some snow. We left a bag of food on the floor and a tiny mouse got into in the middle of the night. It's a log cabin so that's probably more on us than the cabin. Great place for a snow trip!