Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean and warm hotel.

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
The couple who ran the place were very friendly and kind and gave a good service.
5 out of 5
by Gregory from Bath

Bed and breakfast in the garden of England.

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
We had a very comfortable, spacious and attractive room. The hosts were warm, welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts were delicious and served in an unhurried, but efficient manner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murray Bridge , South Australia

Lovely hosts, good breakfast

Posted May 14, 2016
Enjoyed our stay, gave us good advice on where to visit.
5 out of 5
by Allan

Very comfortable, very friendly. Great find.

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Needed a place to regroup and catch up plus be convenient to Eurotunnel for a very early train and discovered The Old Barn. I opted for the larger room even though I was alone. Super comfortable double bed plus sitting room plus good sized and fully equipped kitchen plus large bathroom. I could live there. Really comfortable. Met mein hostess who is lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was served - full English! (well no beans). Very tasty and well set up for the day. Shower is excellent but super hot and takes time to tune. The only (quite minor) thing is wifi which is a bit hit and miss. Another review says walking to the pub at night is a death wish. It is. High viz jacket required. Maybe the landlord could supply a couple of high viz diagonal belts things. For my future early channel crossings I will definitely go here again. Top value. Finally: the nearby pub stops dinner at 9. Promptly. So I drove on spec to Ashford and parked in the centre and by luck found India House on Bank St. Excellent and well worth the drive. Will happily return there too.
5 out of 5
by Tim from Swindon

Huge room

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
Really lovely place, not a double room, my room was an apartment! Lounge, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. Bed was very comfortable. This is probably the cleanest place I've stayed in, absolutely spotless. On the down side, I'm 6ft 4 and my head was just short of the ceiling, have said that I did not bang my head once. Breakfast was great. Getting in and out of the property was very difficult. In fact getting out was completely blind had to wind windows down and listen before pulling out, mirrors would help.
5 out of 5
by Chris from Bedford

Splendid food, lovely converted barn.

Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
Booked it late as a job ran over. Not easy to find at night - there are two gates and the sign is over the wrong, unused gate. Beautiful place though, easy parking. Wifi upstairs was poor, but I had 4g off my BT Mobile, so no bother. Splendidly helpful and affable hosts, they got up an hour early to do us breakfast and what a breakfast. We'll go there again.
5 out of 5
by Earl from Market Bosworth

A great stay in Kent.

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
The guest house was very clean and tidy. It is a beautiful property very close to Tenterden and all required facilities. Service was very good without being overbearing. The area is typical Kent, so there is much to explore with many nationally renowned public properties on tap. Overall, a very good stay in a lovely guest house in a lovely part of England.
4 out of 5
by Terrance from RUGBY

NICE PROPERTY

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
NICE PLACE FOR SHORT STAY. BATHROOM NEXT DOOR TO BEDROOM SO HAD TO LEAVE ROOM TO USE, THIS WAS NOT IDEAL WITH A DISABLED WIFE , GOOD BREAKFAST,VERY PLEASANT HOSTESS, SITUATED ON VERY FAST ROAD WITH AWKWARD EXIT,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Superb!

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The Old Barn is immaculate throughout in terms of cleanliness, decor, space and professional management. I enjoyed a 1st class breakfast each morning.
Cons: -
Location: The location is ideal for visiting wonderful villages, towns, gardens, shops, museums, churches and the coastal areas in Kent and East Sussex.
I thoroughly enjoyed a 4-day break at the Old Barn and received a warm welcome upon arrival.
5 out of 5
by dianne from Risborough

Old Barn Bethersden

Posted May 7, 2015 on Hotels
A good central position in Kent. Friendly owners, excellent spacious accommodation - a home from home