Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A

Disappointing for the price

Posted Sep 9, 2012 on Hotels
Breakfast was generous. The staff were helpful but not professional. The decor was shabby. The internet connection was only available in the bar and very slow.
2 out of 5
by Alan B

tired

Posted Aug 3, 2012 on Hotels
tired decor, tired staff. small local pub had no customers on a Saturday night. I wonder why
2 out of 5
by Mark

Tired and in need of a refurbishment

Posted Jul 23, 2012 on Hotels
The good; Very pleasant welcome, efficient and friendly. Peaceful location, well kept beers in the pub and the food was good; large portions and all very tasty. The bad; the "hotel" is a pub with an annex that has some rooms. Very tired and dated decor and thin walls (you could hear the room next door!). Poor shower in the bathroom; low water pressure and a shower head that looked about 20 years old. Tiny TV/video player on the wall and very poor quality reception via the freeview box. Would I stay again? No, but I could not fault the service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MSR from Cambridge, UK

Comfortable place with a charming pub great food

Posted May 29, 2012
Pros: Specially prepared hot breakfast with individual attention
Cons: two single beds in a double room for couples is not convinient. The beds too were a bit on the harder side
Location: Great location next to an old railway station adding character to the pub with a great collection of railway memoralbia
The beds were a bit hard. But the staff were very helpful and very good. Will recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ange from Welling, Greater London DA16, UK

Butlins style room

Posted May 8, 2012
Pros: The breakfast excellent
Cons: Cold when we arrived
Location: In the middle of no where
Excellent food, a really well cooked breakfast served by a friendly lady. The room was a bit shabby, a little like a Butlins challet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ROCHDALE

A FRIENLDLY HOTEL ONE WHICH I WOULD RECOMMEND

Posted Jan 30, 2012 on Hotels
A VERY FRIENDLY AND WELCOMING HOTEL PLEASANT ACCOMODATION AND GOOD FOOD IN A PLEASANT RURAL LOCATION ONE WHICH I WILL CERTAINLY RETURN TO
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Railway Hotel, Appledore, Kent

Posted Sep 5, 2011 on Hotels
Typical of railway hotels the building was from the 19th century but the bedrooms were not part of the original struture but was at the back under a covered walk way and dated from the 1960's. Service was excellent and the cooked breakfast gave us a good start for the holiday
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester UK

a good place to stay for a night

Posted Aug 9, 2011 on Hotels
Accommodation and evening meal were good. We were there on a Friday and there was a Quiz night which was very enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The Railway Appledore

Posted Jul 27, 2011 on Hotels
People at the hotel very friendly. Pub nice. Room horid. mileage from hotel to where we were going was wrongly stated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2011 on Hotels