Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Bernice from Bethesda MD

Super hotel experience

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: Staff, Room, food, location.
Cons: It was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had and I've traveled and staying in very many hotels in the USA and abroad..
Location: Ashkelon is an interesting city with an archeological dig just outside the city. I loved the beach and marina
The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable, hot water was always available and the view of the Mediterranean was beautiful. They came to fix a phone with a soft ring right away. A huge, varied and delicious real Israeli breakfast was included in the price and they were happy to make eggs the way I liked them. After the first day, I just had to nod and the order was filled. The staff was caring and genuinely helpful. Staying at the Dan Gardens was a pleasure. And it was a short ride to the beach. I will definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: Fruehstuecksbuffet
Cons: Free Internet
Location: Nähe Strand Die Marina ist wohl das einzig lohnenswerte in Ashkelon
4 out of 5
by Kgng from Cleveland, OH. USA

Good location, needs attention

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels
Perfect location on the beach in Ashqelon. Nice building showing its age.
1 out of 5
by US Senior from US Southwest

Badly in need of a bottle of bleach

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels
First let me say that there are currently 2 hotels in Ashkelon, I can only speak for this one but this hotel is well beyond it's prime it's location is it's only saving grace. First because of new construction the rooms facing the beach no longer have a view. Second the photos supplied to hotels.com and are on the Dan's web site do not in any way shape or form resemble the ones at the hotel. Third, the hotel staff treated me as a second class citizen because I didn't book on their web site. They did move me to a room with the terrace that the room description said it would have on the 2nd day, but the room could not be called a family room or junior suite - it was the same as the standard room I got on the first night. Both bathrooms in both rooms had black mold, a good bottle of bleach would help. The hotel hallway carpets have stains on them and generally the hotel needs major repairs. The location on the south side of town is great, within walking distance to the marina and the national park and on a good bus line. The buffet leaves something to be desired too but since it was included I can't really complain. If you are there on the weekend expect lots of kids as the playground area is a magnet for families with kids.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from petach tikva

good for little children

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels
The vacation was quite good , I wish the hotel were recondition, but at general we enjoyed our vacation
2 out of 5
by Gary from New York

Outdated and overwhelming

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels
Not horrible, but really a 2 Star hotel.
3 out of 5
by Sava from RUS

так себе

Posted Apr 27, 2013 on Hotels
Старый отель.
3 out of 5
by Billsfan from Israel

Posted Apr 23, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel was clean and we had an ocean view. The breakfast was outstanding and the hotel staff couldn't do enough to make our stay as pleasant as possilble. While we didn't travel with our kids, the hotel was packed with kids. When this hotel says it caters to children they aren't joking! I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

regular old hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2013
The holtel is old. I reserve a familly room that suppose to be "bigger" than other - but we receive a regular room with 2 very small bed for my childeren . I ask for a replacement but they can only change the size of the bed! The buffet was excellent.
2 out of 5
by abbot

Posted Dec 24, 2012 on Hotels
le prix est trop chere pour cet etablissement qui pour moi n a pas plus que 2 etoiles.tout est vieux,le seul point positif est le petit dejeuner tres copieux et bon