Ratings based on 745 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, California

Walking distance to all of Ashland's highlights!

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Welcoming staff. Beautiful rooms. Wonderful breakfast, teatime, and evening snacktime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Historic hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness.
Cons: Elevator, breakfast
Location: Centrally located on main local street. Lots of shops and restaurants near by. Shakespeare Festival . Day trip to Crater Lake.
Well maintained older hotel, very central, adjacent to OSF. Staff called 2 days prior to stay re: elevator out of order. Offered lower level room; 2 flights of stairs, staff to assist with luggage. Some mention of alternate properties. Opted to go with the 2 flights from the rear parking lot. Lobby actually 4 flights down, included breakfast 3 down. This was slightly inconvenient for us, but not a deal killer. Room itself nice but on the small side. Bed comfortable, but in the room change, request for no feather bedding forgotten. Issue had come up during previously mentioned phone call. Bedding replaced promptly after call to desk while we were out to dinner. Observed less agile guests struggling with the stairs. Breakfast was basic buffet, eggs or peanut butter only protein offered. Nice fresh fruit. All in all, nice stay, pleasant staff. Would have appreciated an adjustment on the rate. Adjacent restaurant prices a little too dear even with the hotel's 10% off coupon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Charming. Excellent location. Delightful small town. Proximity to Shakespeare Festival theatres.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Always a wonderful stay

Posted Aug 26, 2017
The rooms are always lovely and comfortable! I visit annually and this year was another great stay. Great view from my room--even facing the main streets, it was quiet. It's perfectly located in relation to the theatres.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Gorgeous old hotel! Elevator out of service... Staff not on their A game. Afternoon tea with no cookies, breakfast was horrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Scott Brandstetter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are working diligently to restore service to the elevator and apologize for the inconvenience. We have shared your comments regarding breakfast and tea with the staff and will ensure everything is exceptional moving forward.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Elevator

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Mom working elevator was annoying. We were lucky to have a lower floor. Feel for those who had lots of stairs to climb
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Scott Brandstetter, Hotel Management
We are working daily to restore service to the elevator. We apologize for any convenience this may have caused you during your stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Mixed review

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: 1) The staff was great. 2) The free breakfast was very good. 3) Free parking was convenient. 4) My wife enjoyed the afternoon tes.
Cons:
Location: The location was perfect for the Shakespeare festival.
I would have to give this hotel a very mixed review. The negatives (I was unable to put these into the "could be improved" window below: 1) None of the elevators worked. This is a 9 story hotel. Bags had to be carried up and down by the bell staff. Very elderly seniors were climbing several flights of stairs. 2) The rooms were very small but clean. 3) The in-hotel restaurant was very expensive (and over priced in my opinion).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Scott Brandstetter, Hotel Management
We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the elevator being out of service. I can assure you we are working diligently to get service restored. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

A wonderful historical hotel!

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable, great location...
Cons: Toss dying flowers even if fresh not available. Continental breakfast might be refreshed more & little sign reminders to close warmer lids perhaps.
Location: Amazing location to all downtown, park and theaters. Unbeatably the best in my opinion!
Wonderfully comfortable beds with heavenly pillows and lavender sachets. Breakfast and flowers could use daily updating but food is always best if you arrive early upon opening of course, and there is a also lovely Starbucks a few steps away. Desk staff is amazing, and afternoon/evening Tea are delightful. A wonderful place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Scott Brandstetter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Ashland Springs hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed your visit. Thank you also for your thoughts on flower refresh. We do change them out twice weekly but will keep a close eye on them. We hope to have you return to Ashland Springs hotel in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs work.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable and the downtown location was convenient.
Cons: The lobby and hallways need to be redone. They look old and dingy.
Our room was the size of a postage stamp, not surprising given the age of the hotel. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had been upgraded. However, the lobby is looking tired and worn. The air conditioner in the room was so loud we had to turn it off so we could sleep. Hotel staff were very pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Scott Brandstetter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Ashland Springs Hotel. We have a variety of room types and sizes and would be happy to work with you in the future to find a more amenable room for you to stay in. Our staff is constantly at work keeping the beauty of the hotel intact inside and out. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Cons: Beige carpeting in room should shows stains.
Location: Theater and food offerings
Excellent, customer service, location close to theater. Breakfast, snacks and afternoon tea very good. Private parking included.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Scott Brandstetter, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay with us at Ashland Springs Hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to have you back in the near future