Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Laid back manor

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: Relaxing approach from staff and location was fantastic.
Location: On site wine tasting delightful and informative went back for more wine the next morning!
Perfect start to holiday after short drive from the airport. Well worth booking the dinner option for a great evening with James attentive to every details, excellent food and wine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by Kirstin, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!! We hope to welcome you back one day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Tranquil setting amongst the vines and mountains. James and Kirsten were wonderful and so accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Kirstin, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It was an absolute pleasure hosting you here and hope to welcome you back one day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit of a disappointment

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
The evening meal was really good and the hotel grounds were nicely kept but otherwise this hotel was a bit of a disappointment. Nobody seemed to be managing it. We would have liked to relax by the pool, but with just 12 recliners for 18 guests that was not possible. Air con in the room was ineffective. Breakfast service was under-manned, uncleared tables, and flies feasting on the cold buffet.
5 out of 5
by Lesley from Warrington

A real gem, would stay longer next time

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very welcoming, lovely room nice deli for lunch and free wine tasting . Biggest pool we've seen on our travels and very nice pool area but still not huge. Not much choice for dinner but it was beautifully cooked and one of The best meals we had all holiday,( and free wine from the estate).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
A very enjoyable stay with nice staff especially James. The pool deck was a most attractive feature with such wonderful views - as was the garden and the lovely old house was a pleasure he lovely old house was a pleasure was a
5 out of 5
by Moira from Scotland

Fantastic place to stay-highly recommended

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
Everything about Excelsior Manor Guesthouse was wonderful: the staff are efficient, friendly and helpful, the setting is glorious and the house is beautiful and full of character
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Wine farm tranquility

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Kursten, the manager, is friendly, poised and professional. Staff provided a quick, tasty hot breakfast accompanied by a wide selection of cold treats. Old world charm and decor with a toasty fireplace in the dining room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend Getaway

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
This was my second visit to Excelsior, because it is just that wonderful. I wanted a nice relaxing, romantic, wine drinking getaway with my Husband... that is exactly what we got.. I can't thank you enough for a perfect visit for the two of us..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellsior Mannor

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was on a wine estate. The meals and accompanying wine were excellent. The staff could not do enough to make our stay outstanding. Very relaxing and the sourrounding area in the wine valley was stunning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Great friendly place to stay