Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Highly functional hotel.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Gets the job done with comfort. A little threadbare. But clean and wonderful location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room mixup

Posted Feb 27, 2017
On my third and final night I returned to my room after dinner to find someone else was in my room!!! The hotel had given my room away!!! All of my stuff was still in the room, door was chained and no one was on duty at the front desk!! Finnaly got a hold of hotel management on the phone to come and fix the problem, a half hearted apology was given and 1 night reimbursed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Great place to stay, but skip the breakfast

Posted Feb 21, 2017
If you like historical hotels, this is a gem. The hotel is in an ideal location - in the middle of Aspen and across the street from restaurants, shops, and the transit center. The rooms are nice and clean, and it's quiet at night, partly because no car traffic is allowed in front of the hotel. However, the hotel seems to be running somewhat on auto pilot. Specifically, the front desk is not staffed beyond 7:00pm, so you need a code to enter the building. Also, the breakfast is not commensurate with the price of the rooms. Skip it and walk across the street to the famous and highly rated Paradise Bakery, or around the corner to Victoria's coffee shop. BTW, the hotel is pet friendly, and the walls are thick, so there is noise from adjacent rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice hotel close to Aspen Mtn. Gondola and more

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Room was quiet, clean, and hotel is centrally located in town, very close to Aspen Mtn. gondola and shopping
Cons: Wall had a crack in it, not big, but should be patched repainted.
Location: Great central location to Aspen Mtn. gondola, food, shopping, and grocery store is nearby too.
Nice hotel, clean room, really quiet during my stay, travertine tiled bathroom (no tub), refridgerator. The bed in my room was comfortable, but was angled to the back slightly. Had chair with ottoman and a loveseat in room. Common areas to sit, with books available. Ok view from my room on the 3rd floor. Can't store skis in room, but they have ski holders with locks and large lockers downstairs, must see staff for key to lock. Good continental breakfast in the lobby including breakfast burritos from Paradise Bakery(around corner). Central location, quick walk to Silver Queen Gondola at Aspen Mtn., Ajax Tavern, and shopping. Victoria Espresso & Wine Bar around corner...great breakfast and espresso drinks before skiing. It's easy to miss the entrance to the hotel (take stairs down from street level between businesses). The hotel is lined by retail shops. You can't drive up to the entrance, and there's no hotel parking. You can probably pull into the alley next to the building or the main bus stop to quickly unload. Door access after hours by code. I arrived late and they had left an envelope with room key and other details in box next to door. There is nearby public parking on the street during the day(may be limited in time allowed). Overnight parking is allowed in the neighborhoods a block away, but not in public parking or you will get a ticket. Free bus rides to all mountains from bus stop right across from hotel entrance. I would definitely stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reston, VA

Nice Hotel in the heart of Aspen

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown & the rustic charm
Cons: The bed and the ability to lock out the outside world (Better window covering and noise abatement)...
Location: Ski and shop
The hotel is a few minutes walk to the ski slopes. It had a rustic charm about it with old show shoes and skis on the wall for decoration. The bed was overly soft and turned out to be uncomfortable. Also the shutters (which were the only window coverings did not shut properly nor did they block out the light from outside. I was on the street side and the windows were not sound deadening as I heard people chatting outside into the wee hours of the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Simple hotel in the middle of Aspen

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Aspen, near the bus terminal. Room was clean and spacious. There is a rooftop hot tub with panoramic views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anacortes, WA

Small Hotel Great Staff

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Location. Hot tub on roof!
Cons: A bit of a challenge getting into the hotel as you have to go down stairs to a basement level to get in, no elevator so its knda of tough to get bags
Location: All of downtown easly walked to.
We received a 3rd floor room that was really great. Kind of like a studio, great bathroom, great kitchen with frig, hot plate and microwave. Our only gripe was no closet to put clothes. There was a small locker but with two people and all our ski clothes required our stuff to be everywhere. Parking is off site on the street at least two blocks away with a special pass and is a bit challenging os plan ahead if you have a car. The staff, Gus specifically was awesome and very helpful. Overall rating a 4.5 out of 5.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly. The location was 1 block or closer walking distance to shops, restaurants, a sporting event, a concert and the local bus. The breakfast burritos were much better than the toast and frozen omelette options usually provided by hotels. We will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Center of town

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Orbitz
The only drawback was our room overlooked an alley where there was a bar . There were frequent outbursts of noise throughout the night i.e. Loud rowdy conversations, empty beer bottles being dumped, early trash morning trash removal, etc. Since we were there only one night we decided to overlook it but if it were a longer stay I would have requested a room change.