Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The location and the historic building
Cons: Have a hotel standard for each room. The room we were given was sorely lacking the basics.
Location: A short walk to the ski busses that take you to the resorts.
We have loved this hotel/condo in the past but unfortunately it has gone down hill. The hot tub was filthy, the hair dryer fell off the wall, there were only 4 hangers and one chair in the room and the wine social was discontinued. The location can not be beat and the historic building is awesome but I don't think that hot tub would pass anyone's health inspection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in downtown Aspen.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Hotel was perfect for our stay in aspen. Easy walking to aspen mountain, restaurants, shopping. The free bus is right outside the door for getting around to other ski resorts. We had a great time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Highly functional hotel.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Gets the job done with comfort. A little threadbare. But clean and wonderful location.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room mixup

Posted Feb 27, 2017
On my third and final night I returned to my room after dinner to find someone else was in my room!!! The hotel had given my room away!!! All of my stuff was still in the room, door was chained and no one was on duty at the front desk!! Finnaly got a hold of hotel management on the phone to come and fix the problem, a half hearted apology was given and 1 night reimbursed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Great place to stay, but skip the breakfast

Posted Feb 21, 2017
If you like historical hotels, this is a gem. The hotel is in an ideal location - in the middle of Aspen and across the street from restaurants, shops, and the transit center. The rooms are nice and clean, and it's quiet at night, partly because no car traffic is allowed in front of the hotel. However, the hotel seems to be running somewhat on auto pilot. Specifically, the front desk is not staffed beyond 7:00pm, so you need a code to enter the building. Also, the breakfast is not commensurate with the price of the rooms. Skip it and walk across the street to the famous and highly rated Paradise Bakery, or around the corner to Victoria's coffee shop. BTW, the hotel is pet friendly, and the walls are thick, so there is noise from adjacent rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice hotel close to Aspen Mtn. Gondola and more

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Room was quiet, clean, and hotel is centrally located in town, very close to Aspen Mtn. gondola and shopping
Cons: Wall had a crack in it, not big, but should be patched repainted.
Location: Great central location to Aspen Mtn. gondola, food, shopping, and grocery store is nearby too.
Nice hotel, clean room, really quiet during my stay, travertine tiled bathroom (no tub), refridgerator. The bed in my room was comfortable, but was angled to the back slightly. Had chair with ottoman and a loveseat in room. Common areas to sit, with books available. Ok view from my room on the 3rd floor. Can't store skis in room, but they have ski holders with locks and large lockers downstairs, must see staff for key to lock. Good continental breakfast in the lobby including breakfast burritos from Paradise Bakery(around corner). Central location, quick walk to Silver Queen Gondola at Aspen Mtn., Ajax Tavern, and shopping. Victoria Espresso & Wine Bar around corner...great breakfast and espresso drinks before skiing. It's easy to miss the entrance to the hotel (take stairs down from street level between businesses). The hotel is lined by retail shops. You can't drive up to the entrance, and there's no hotel parking. You can probably pull into the alley next to the building or the main bus stop to quickly unload. Door access after hours by code. I arrived late and they had left an envelope with room key and other details in box next to door. There is nearby public parking on the street during the day(may be limited in time allowed). Overnight parking is allowed in the neighborhoods a block away, but not in public parking or you will get a ticket. Free bus rides to all mountains from bus stop right across from hotel entrance. I would definitely stay there again
5 out of 5
by Ryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoided theft of personal items. Laxed security

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
We left two shirts and two painted greeting cards in room. Called about cards immediately no return call after check with housekeeping. Then notice two shirts missing. Called second and third day. Then the appeared. Hotel had my cell and email. Had I not asked twice I would be out $300 in shirts. Scary practice. When asked if they ever would have called clerk said no. Their policy not to call on left items. Crazy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reston, VA

Nice Hotel in the heart of Aspen

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown & the rustic charm
Cons: The bed and the ability to lock out the outside world (Better window covering and noise abatement)...
Location: Ski and shop
The hotel is a few minutes walk to the ski slopes. It had a rustic charm about it with old show shoes and skis on the wall for decoration. The bed was overly soft and turned out to be uncomfortable. Also the shutters (which were the only window coverings did not shut properly nor did they block out the light from outside. I was on the street side and the windows were not sound deadening as I heard people chatting outside into the wee hours of the morning.