Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great location for skiers

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location and things to do nearby.
Cons: It took me 10 minutes of walking and taking elevators to get to my room. There was no easy way. Also, the staff didn't appear to like Expedia
Location: LOTS of stuff to do nearby.
Was visiting my daughter who lives in Aspen. I was able to get a room for a decent price during a difficult time to get rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Great location awesome lobby

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Staff were amazing. Very helpful with local information. Once they heard it was our 1 yr anniversary they were eager to help make us feel special. We love Westin hotels especially because they're so pup friendly!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
I did not get the room requested. The ski valet gave my sons ski boots to someone else twice causing us to have to go rent new ski boots.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weston, CT

Lovely hotel right on the mountain

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Convenient location for skiing and shopping - right in the center of the Village. Very accommodating staff. Included airport shuttle
Cons: Lower the darned price of the breakfast!
This hotel is beautifully renovated and clean. There is a ski valet service that will store your equipment overnight. You can ski right up to the door, leave your gear and step right onto the elevator to your room. Many of the rooms have a great view of the slope. The lounge is spacious with the same nice view of the slope and the chairlift. The only issue I had was that we ate breakfast one morning in the restaurant which had a nice buffet (no a la carte service) for which we were charged $90 for two of us (with included gratuity). We could have had the American breakfast delivered by room service for $50. It seemed a bit excessive for a serve yourself buffet. Other than this, the staff and service were very good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Randolph, NJ

Excellent Location but Very Disappointing Hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The location on the mountain. Very convenient and a true ski in/ski out.
Cons: The rooms should be larger and more updated. Very dated inside.
Location: Excellent ski in- ski out location. Definitely use Four Mountain Sports to rent your skis since they do an excellent job shuttling your equipment.
From the moment you walk in you are greeted by a very long line at the check in desk. There is always a line! The staff are extremely nice people as they are making you wait 40 minutes to check in. The hotel is so large that you have to take TWO elevators and walk down very long hallways to get to your room. The rooms are very small and we faced the back decks of condominiums. It looked like garbage on their decks. (broken umbrella's, bikes, recycling, etc) We had no privacy, no terrace, and no room in the room. There is also nothing to do after skiing. No night life in Snowmass. So we went to Aspen and moved over to a hotel there. Great town! When we checked out early at the Snowmass they did not offer a credit and they were grateful we left since they overbooked by one room. Lucky for them they didn't have to have someone wait to check in 40 minutes to then be told they would not even have a room! I found this whole experience so unprofessional and could not wait to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Sales and Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we’re so sorry to hear that you weren’t fully satisfied with your accommodations. Our hotel does possess a unique design due to being built into the mountain, and the original architects did have to think outside the box in exchange for securing our prime location. In attempt to reach the needs of all of our guests, we do offer a number of room sizes and views. We are sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your room assignment and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again with both the room and hospitality you anticipated upon your previous stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff as well as our location. We are sorry to hear you had difficulty finding night life around Snowmass. Along with suggestions of night life in Snowmass, many of our guests often choose to take the free BRT Shuttle into Aspen, which departs and returns frequently! We thank you again for your valuable feedback, and we hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide a more positive experience in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from quito

Excellent location but terrible room service

Posted Mar 10, 2017
The hotel overall is good and its location superb. However, room service takes forever and the staff needs more training. Service at breakfast was usually slow and once nonexistent. Front desk staff was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jackson MS

Great location bad rooms

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pretty hotel in a great place for skiing but room was noisy and could not keep temp regulated. Had to sleep burg door to outside cracked. Hotels response was "it's been like that".
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Sales and Marketing Coordinator , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we’re so sorry to hear that you weren’t fully satisfied with your accommodations. We are happy to learn you enjoyed the Westin Standard of service provided by our bell team. We are pleased to employe J-1 students and while they do speak English, it is often their second language. We are disappointed to hear you were dissatisfied by the service provided by our wait staff and our management will be sure to follow up with these concerns. We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back in the future and show you the true Westin experience that we unfortunately failed to provide to you this time around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Ski in ski out Westin Snowmass

Posted Mar 5, 2017
foreign staff not all conversant In English. Furniture in room spartan and not up to standard for what they are charging. Bell staff is friendly and accommodating. Wait staff not that attentive Temperature control in our room(handicapped) did not function even after the maintenance came up to try and fix it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Sales and Marketing Coordinator , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we’re so sorry to hear that you weren’t fully satisfied with your accommodations. We are happy to learn you enjoyed the Westin Standard of service provided by our bell team. We are pleased to employe J-1 students and while they do speak English, it is often their second language. We are disappointed to hear you were dissatisfied by the service provided by our wait staff and our management will be sure to follow up with these concerns. We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back in the future and show you the true Westin experience that we unfortunately failed to provide to you this time around.
4 out of 5
by Steven

Awesome Location right on the slopes of Snowmass

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable bed and awesome location right on Snowmass mountain. The hot tub could have been warmer but overall a great stay. There's a free shuttle (40 min) to Aspen in case you want any nightlife.
4 out of 5
by Joshua

Overall good experience

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Room was clean and comfortable. Parking was in a parking lot a bit of a walk away. Service at the bar/grill was a bit slow. Bartender had to leave multiple times to get various items. Make sure to check the resort fee as I had to expand and really look for it on the website in the fine print. I was not made aware of it upon check-in, got that lovely surprise at check-out. TV service has way to many channels in annalog, however offer on demand movies. Business center is not free and seems rather pricy to utilize. Overall is a great hotel if coming out to go ski or see the town.