Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: It was clean. Close to slopes and shopping.
Cons: Needs to be remodeled and updated.
Location: Skiing, snowboarding, shopping. Aspen a short drive or bus ride away.
Four days in Snowmass. Hotel is older, but clean. I thought I had read it had undergone a recent remodel, but as of February 2017, it is still in need of one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Location

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location and that is about it
Cons: Lots of things can be improved.
Location: Location was great, it was the only redeeming quality about the hotel.
If it wasn't for the location I would blast this place. Ski in ski out and the ski valet was great. Room was outdated and dirty, the staff was so so. The day I was leaving I requested a ride on the shuttle to the airport, I arrived in the lobby 10 minutes prior to the shuttle leaving like I was instructed, but of course the shuttle left without me and I had to wait for the next one and worry about making it in time for my flight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Beautiful hotel very close to the slopes. The price was very reasonable for the location and the atmosphere. Four of us stayed comfortably in a double room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Location, location, location

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location is perfect. The free breakfast vouchers to be used at the Westin were great. The continental breakfast there is very good, and scenic.
Cons: Update the rooms, add more to breakfast at Wildwood, which was rather disappointing, heat the elevator, get a real deer head on lobby fireplace.
Location: Right by the slopes for skiing/snowboarding, shops and restaurants, gondola down to Base Village
An interesting ski hotel, probably built in the 70's, with an art deco motif. Best thing is the location, right in the mall, next to the Westin, a few steps to all the shops, restaurants and shuttles in Snowmass. Very convenient!!! The rooms are all outside entrances, so you take a very cold elevator from the lobby to your floor (3 floors). The rooms could use some new headboards and dressers to update them, the bathrooms were rather small, but a few nice things were in the room, such as a humidifier, a box fan, iron, ironing board. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, and overall, the rooms Ok, for the price. Noodles restaurant needs improvement for breakfast. The better option was to use the breakfast vouchers at the Westin. Westin also provides the shuttle from the airport. The bar has a good pizza/pitcher every night, and also live music some nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are excited to hear that our location was perfect for your vacation. We are so glad that you enjoyed breakfast at our sister property, the Westin Snowmass Resort, and that you had the chance to take advantage of our evening bar specials. Our continental breakfast is receiving a makeover as we have hired a new Chef; we look forward to rolling out these enhancements soon. Please know that we appreciate the opportunity you have given us to improve, and have shared your comments with our leadership team for further review and consideration. The Wildwood Snowmass Hotel is the original ski lodge in Snowmass and was renovated in 2012. The hotel appeals to those guests looking for a retro ski lodge experience at an affordable price. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Aspen/Snowmass area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Neads upgrade

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Staff is nice and rooms clean.
Location: Convenient location.
Rooms and hotel need an upgrade. Elevator does not work. Good staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that our staff, room cleanliness, and location met and surpassed your expectations. As the original ski lodge in Snowmass Village the hotel underwent a renovation in 2012 and appeals to the traveler who is looking for a retro ski lodge experience at an affordable price. We hope that you will consider us again for your future travels to the Aspen/Snowmass area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to ski lift.

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Went for the X games. Room worked out perfect. !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that our hotel worked out perfectly for your trip to visit the area and attend the X-Games. We look forward to seeing you again next year for the X-Games.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The customer service (or complete and utter lack thereof) is enough of a reason to NEVER stay at the Wildwood. They didn't come by to clean the room until my last day there (after five days). And, I asked her to come back later because I was working. She came back 15 minutes later. They overcharged me and completely ignored my calls, emails and messages. I am now going through my credit card company to dispute the charge. Also, the rooms are very basic (motel like).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We apologize that our customer service was not to our high standards during your stay. The hotel management is aware of your situation and has provided a full explanation of your charges. The Wildwood Hotel is a lifestyle hotel that caters to those travelers who are looking for a retro ski lodge experience at an affordable price. We hope that you will consider staying with us next time you are in the Aspen/Snowmass area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

On the main hill at Snowmass, close to lift/car.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: very convenient
Cons: It's old, but still going strong. Some infrastructure (door to outside) still functional but clunky.
Location: Perfect for getting to the ski hill, restaurants, and lifts
House staff demonstrated personal care of room, excellent cleaning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing about your recently completed stay with us. We are happy to hear that our housekeeping team did an exceptional job during your stay and that you found our on mountain location perfect for your needs. It is true that our building is the original ski lodge in Snowmass Village, and our engineering team does keep the infrastructure as up to date as possible. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Snowmass.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Walking distance to ski lifts, ski school

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Closeness to mall and ski area. Nice staff.
Cons: Staff was nice, but not all were very knowledgeable of the area.
Location: Great location, close to mall and ski area.
Nice clean room. Quiet and nice view. I had to stay an extra night because I had to airplane cancellations due to weather. They were able to accommodate me. The second room was a little noisy (close to cars, people stomping, heater was loud) but it was just for one night and I was thankful to even have a place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Cons: The front desk help was not very friendly and didn't seem to want to offer much information or answer questions.
Location: Location was excellent
I booked a deluxe room but was given a standard room. When I asked about it they told me there was no difference but I believe there was a price difference that should have been considered.