Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Lorna

Great little hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
This was a very basic hotel but we were very comfortable. The room were spotless. The host was welcoming and friendly. She even provided breakfast a little early for us on our last as our departure was early. All in all, an excellent economy hotel. I would definitely stay her again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty place

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Orbitz
No heat at night, 32 degrees, Wi-Fi was poor, staff was rarely available, walls in room were dirty, only a mattress, no box spring, just slated of boards. I could feel the springs of the mattress. Don't book here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel centrally located

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Quiet and centrally located.
Location: All major attractions within walking distance.
Delightful stay at this very comfortable hotel. Staff was very accommodating. I will definitely return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient reasonably priced hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, reasonably priced and accessible to the town restaurants and shops as well as the historical sights. A little bit noisy but I was close to the front entrance and gate. The shower was completely open and flooded the floors so that was weird.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Assisi

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Cannot drive a car near the hotel. Parking a distance away, so if you have driven there, there are many steps on which you have to carry your luggage.Definite a pain. Would not stay there again. Walked around Assisi and found several hotels with parking. And limited front desk coverage. Yes, they do have a terrace for morning breakfast,BUT ony 3 tables, so you have to be lucky to get one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Ideal town-centre venue

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, ans those cakes!
Cons: Very little, if anything.
Location: Sights, restaurants, bars, shops - all minutes away on foot!
La Fortezza is a delightful little hotel in the centre of Assisi, a few steps from the main piazza. Staff are friendly and helpful: though little English is spoken and I'd left my Italian phrase-book at home, we managed well. Rooms are clean and comfortable with excellent bathrooms. Breakfast is a varied continental buffet and includes a wonderful selection of cakes and pastries made by the proprietress, Jenny, all served on a balcony with panoramic views over the city and surrounding countryside; tea, coffee and soft drinks are also available free of charge in the late afternoon. The only possible negative is that the hotel is located on a "vicola" - a street with steps! These, however, have low treads and would probably be usable for a powered wheelchair: three of the bedrooms are on the ground floor. In all other respects, excellent value for money - I intend to return!
1 out of 5
by Ben

Shoebox

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very small room no view
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jay from El Sobrante, California

central location, bargain price

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
Even though this hotel is just a couple of blocks off Assisi's central square, it's tucked away and difficult to find unless you know exactly where to look. The tourist info office guided us. We had a difficult time checking in, with no response after ringing the bell, even though we waited two or three minutes. We returned to the tourist office, and the agent there phoned the hotel to see what the problem was. We were assured that someone would be there if we returned, and indeed there was. The manager seemed annoyed that we "hadn't waited long enough." But the rest of our stay was very happy and comfortable. The room is not large, but quite adequate for our one-night stay. Breakfast the next morning offered a good variety, with friendly service. A good choice for just €55 per night.