Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by jana L.

A great location yet peaceful.

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Umbra is a perfect location just off the Piazza Commune under an arch across from the Information center where you can park briefly to unload. Despite it being on the piazza, it's very quiet and incredible views. They have a lovely panoramic terrace on level 1 which is private and lovely with a view of the valley and several lounge chairs. A great place for an afternoon glass of wine. The family that operate it are very helpful and seem to take great pride in their hotel. Several good restaurants very close by within a 1-2 min. walk. The only restaurant I wouldn't go back to is Trattorra Pallotta. It's a comfortable family run restaurant, but the staff didn't seem very happy My veal cannelloni dish was a generous portion but under seasoned. The veal scallopini was so tough I couldn't eat it. I heard someone else complain about it too. They did comp. me for the meat dish and offered me something else so I chose dessert (which was average) and they charged me for it. Ha! Otherwise, my stay in Assisi and Hotel Umbra It couldn't have been more perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
perfect location and the nicest people ever! We missed breakfast and they waited for us so that we would still eat without us even asking. We will stay here everytime. Great service, great Air condition, great views etc.
5 out of 5
by Barbara J

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Good stay, loved Assisi!
5 out of 5
by dennis

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
It was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

in love with Hotel Umbra

Posted Jun 23, 2017
The location is perfect. But what makes this hotel are 2 things... 1. It's off the Piazza, so it's quiet and really peaceful. 2. Family run hotel, you just fall in love with this place
5 out of 5
by Paul

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
The family that runs the hotel are so kind and helpful. Very accommodating. LOVED the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Charming! Friendly! Perfect location!

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is located in an ideal spot for exploring the wonderful charming town of Assisi. The staff, the room, the view out our window was all excellent. The front desk staff and breakfast server made us feel at home. It was the best American coffee we have had during our two week trip to Italy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Superb location, friendly welcome

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Friendly welcome, stunning views
On arrival our reaction was 'wow'. On leaving we could only think about returning to Hotel Umbra. Assisi is such a beautiful town with plenty of interest and the Hotel Umbra is perfectly situated near the centre so all the sights are easy to access on foot. It is also a short (downhill) walk from the bus stop is Piazza Matteoti. We were received with a warm welcome when we arrived and each time we returned to the hotel however, the real wow factor was the stunning view from our room. A really lovely place to stay and we hope to return soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very friendly, helpful staff

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly, helpful staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
Assisi is well worth a visit just to see the magnificent church of San Francisco with its frescoes by Giotto, Cimabue, Simone Martini and Lorenzetti. The town is a gem.