Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo, Brazil

It's no more than OK.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Near subway station.
Cons: Cleanning.
Location: There is a fine pizzaria nearby and also a supermarket.
If the cost would be a little lower, I probable would not have any complain. But at this price, I expected a touch more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Kamran, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and we appreciate your comments and suggestions. We hope you will return to us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel at a good rate in Astoria

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: The staff were very nice.
Cons: Better breakfast selection; making drinking water available in the hotel.
Location: This hotel is very close to the hub of Astoria where there are lot of fun places to eat and bars to hang out at. Everything is open until very late.
For the price we paid, we could not have found a better hotel. It is close to many bus stops, but a bit far from the subway. If you learn to navigate the MTA system in New York, it's not a problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Kamran, Hotel Management
Thank you Renee for the good review. We try hard to achieve your complete satisfaction and I'm happy your stay was great. I hope you will return again and once again on behalf of our staff at Super 8, we thank you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fleichsmanns, NY

DOES NOT RESPECT RULES AND RESTRICTIONS POLICIES

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Tried to cancel my reservation on the day of my check in. Hotel denied my cancelation and charged me full price for the 7 days I booked and could not make the trip although policy says I would only be charged first night rates plus taxes and fees if I cancel after free cancelation date. I called the hotel, Expedia called the hotel and the desk person was rude and not willing to help. Had to go to my credit card and begin a dispute, that I lost because hotel supply "supporting documentation" I wonder what kind of supporting documentation is that!! Crooks! Bad business! Do not book there, because if you can't make the trip you'll have to pay full to this crappy hotel anyway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Kamran, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, I'm very sorry to hear that you were charged in full. Unfortunately, due to the cancellation policy of the Hotel and Expedia, any cancellation made after the deadline is charged. And the supporting documents in question are simply the Cancellation policy by the Expedia and the hotel. The pictures you posted did not include the full document disclosure. I hope you will give us another chance and we would like to welcome you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Nice experience Happy to book this place when I visited
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Kamran, Hotel Management
Amazing! Thank you so much!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but could be better

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Hotel is close to the "N" train (broadway stop) and had a lot of restaurants within walking distance. Self parking was great because NY charges everywhere to park (saved some $) Rooms were clean and comfortable however Hotel smelled like cigarette smoke in the hallways. Hotel staff told me they would charge me extra $ when I asked for fresh towels because my room was not cleaned during the day Continental breakfast was a joke (cereal, bread, juice and coffee)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Only thing good is location. Thin walls very noisy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greater Boston area

Old and smelly

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Smelly rooms, old air conditioning, uncomfortable neighbourhood
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greater Boston Area

Would not stay again

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: AC and smell in the rooms
Location: Far from Manhattan, uncomfortable neighbourhood
Accommodating staff but the rooms had a VERY bad smell from the air conditioning so, we turned it off - we were lucky that it was not hot so, we could survive the night. Location is in a neighborhood I didn't feel comfortable with.
4 out of 5
by Ann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No frills, served the purpose but needs renovation

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Arrived very late and staff was courteous and polite. Three Queen beds were fantastic, but the carpet and bedspreads seemed very dirty and the bathroom was in need of some cleaning and renovating. Lots of street noise in the morning and limited breakfast hours (6-9).