Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel with such a price is not recommended.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Very poor bed hardware, and even bath water with rusted steel color. Think third times before stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel overlooking the Nile River

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: The view, quiet neighborhood and spacious rooms.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: There numerous archaeological sites in the Aswan area, including Elephantine and Sehel Islands, the Philae Temple, and the Unfinished Obelisk Quarry.
I spent five nights at this hotel in November 2016 and I enjoyed the experience. The hotel is perched atop one of the highest hills in Aswan and provides a dramatic view of the Nile cataract with its many islands and channels. Even the 'city view' rooms have interesting views. The rooms are large, quiet and comfortable, and the hotel's restaurant serves an excellent breakfast and is also a good place to take dinner. The Basma is a grand old hotel that has seen better days and a lot more tourists, but it's still a very nice and affordable place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Comfortable stay in Aswan

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable & centrally located
Cons: Wi-Fi was available only in the lobby & not in my room.
Location: The Nubian Museum, which is very popular, is just across the street. Also, the Corniche is about a 15-minute walk from the hotel for a felucca ride.
I recently stayed at the Basma Hotel in Aswan. It was a very nice & comfortable complex that included a restaurant, a pool area & easy access to the city of Aswan. If you're going to Aswan, I recommend this hotel. It's very nice, but won't break the bank.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Amherst, MA

Nice hotel with excellent facilities

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Lounge and pool is nice
Cons: Staff training in checkin, billing process to international standards, service needs improvement
Location: Good location
Check In time is long. Service by staff could be improved. Staff are not familiar with Expedia billing process; waste of your vacation time to sort this out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego,ca

disappointing

Posted Jan 7, 2016
The hotel is old, our room has nice view facing to the west on 5th floor, but 4 star is over rated. The hotel is dying because of poor tourism. Staff are nice, but won't help a lot. its close the Nubian museum though. not worth the money we paid, more than $100/day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quito

I don't recommend this hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2010
The hotel is too far from city center. They have a shuttle but the reception personnel will not mention it to you. We were forced to buy breakfast which wasn't good. They simply charge that to you. Restaurant is good. Aswan has no good places to eat. General condition of hotel is dated. They need to renovate to survive. There is no concierge and people at the reception gave us wrong/conflicting information.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from northern ireland

very good hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2007
I enjoyed my stay in this hotel and would use it again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Levallois, France

Besoin de renovation

Posted Sep 2, 2008
Médiocre hôtel qui a besoin d'être rénové. J'étais assuré que la réception était ouverte 24 heures sur 24, pourtant il fallait que j'attende 20 minutes pour mon check-out à 06h00, le temps que le receptionniste se réveille. Hôtel effectifs pas très sérieux.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hervorragendes Hotel in bester Lage

Posted Aug 12, 2008
Das Basma-Hotel beeindruckt vor allem durch seine Lage am Hang und damit verbundenen Blick auf eine traumhafte Nil-Katarakt-Landschaft (Zimmer mit Nilblick zum gleichen Preis erhalten, obwohl günstigeren Stadtblick gebucht). Die Ausstattung der Zimmer als auch des Hotels allgemein entsprechen höchstem Standard, es ist ruhig, auch die Klimaanlage arbeitet geräuscharm. Einschränkend ist nur zu bemerken, dass Informationen zu Hotelleistungen (Uhrzeit Frühstück, kostenloser Shuttle-Bus) nur auf explizite Nachfrage genannt werden. Vorsicht außerdem vor den deutlichst überhöhten Preisen in der hoteleigenen Shopping-Mall. Trotzdem insgesamt unbedingt empfehlenswert!