Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Newly opened section of hotel resort. Excellent location,convenient for sightseeing ecursions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sanctuary away from the hustle of Aswan

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Peace and quiet, great pool next to the Nile, great views, terrific staff.
Cons: I didn't think the dinner buffet was great. I went to the Panorama restaurant, which is in the old Movenpick, about a 10 minute walk away.
Location: You can explore the island or take a motorboat to Kitchen Island, which has a nice botanical garden. You will have to deal with the hawkers, as usual.
Stopped here on my way to Abu Simbel. I liked that the hotel was on an island, away from the hustle of the city. You have to take a ferry to get to the mainland, which might sound inconvenient, but it wasn't really. There are ferries every 15 minutes, and they are free. Views at night are terrific. This is a great time to visit Egypt because there are so few tourists. Prices are low, there are no lines for major sites. In fact, you might be the only person at certain times. I was the only person at the Luxor Museum, for example. I'm hoping that will change soon because people working in the tourist sector are really hurting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Worst hotel experience in Egypt - by far

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Cons: - Cleanliness - Training of staff - Hiring of staff who speak English - Service
Not sure where to start on this one - I don't generally leave hotel reviews unless the experience was extremely positive or negative. This was the latter. A brief summary of our experience: - mess in the hallways and corridors (unclean, especially behind the scenes) - there was no running water in our room! (that's right - could not shower!) - there were pins for sewing all over one of our hotel room chairs - booked a room with an upgraded non-smoking room with a Nile view, management initially gave a smoking room with no view (took over an hour in the evening to change) - hotel could not book taxi to the airport for early morning departure (despite this listed as an option on expedia and the hotel being on an island!) - untrained security staff who let our bags drop off on the other side of the x-ray (breaking handmade glass items - luckily WE caught the bag with ipad/laptop/camera) - front desk staff don't speak much English, and some speak none at all - fire alarm (BLARING over loudspeakers) went off at 1 AM due to someone smoking in a non-smoking room, NONE of the hotel staff responded/guided hotel guests in case of a real fire and when we finally found a security staff member he laughed and said it happens all the time The list goes on, but you get the idea. This hotel is terribly managed, and I was shocked that it is part of the Movenpick brand. We stayed in hotels for less than half the price, that were outstanding. Highly recommend you stay away from this one!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear our Guest, I would like to thank you for posting your valuable review about your recent stay at Moevenpick resort Aswan. We took note of your sent comment and it will be discussed with the operational team concern as our aim is “To always offer the highest standard of service in friendly & professional way” With best regards Wael Allam General Manager
5 out of 5
by george

Great place to stay in Aswan

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed on the newly built hotel . The view ambiance and the staff were amazing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017
Dear our valued guest Please let us thank you for posting your precious review for Moevenpick Resort Aswan on positive feedback base. We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay and we are extremely happy to know that our team succeeded to reflect our aim to offer you with "Dedicated friendly service and true Values ". Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain With best regards Wael Allam General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

Great location

Posted May 22, 2017
Loved the island location and 24 hour boat shuttle. Super convenient and central to all sites.
5 out of 5
by Bruce

Luxor

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
An oasis in an otherwise depressing, chaotic area. You go to Luxor to see the historical sites. After that this is the perfect place to relax and be taken care of.
5 out of 5
by Lorraine

Peaceful and lovely stay

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
A thoroughly enjoyable stay - staff and service was excellent. The location of the hotel is beautiful on an island in the Nile River
5 out of 5
by rolando

5 star hotel

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
the new section was fantastic/balcony room overlooking Nile river and Noble tombs was outstanding beautiful manicured lawns flowers everywhere/great staff/had laundry done and paid next to nothing meals in hotel were delicious and inexpensive but watch out for alcohol/don't order by name etc vodka/gin/rumwhisky order cocktail by name take a wad of 1USD for tipping
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wonderful place to rest

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
This was an fantastic hotel. We really enjoyed our stay, the food was good - lots of variety. The room was very quiet and nice. We had a Nile and Tombs of the Nobles view, and had a nice balcony to watch the sun set. the little ferry runs 24hrs to take you back and forth to the mainland and was very convenient, as it runs every 10 minutes. there is quick access to all kinds of fun stuff like souqs once you are on the mainland. we also tried to go to the Aswan museum and nubian village at the end of the island. I don't suggest walking over from the hotel... though it was an adventure. The people are very friendly and helpful. unfortunately the museum was closed by the time we wandered over (4pm) so we took another ferry back over to the mainland(best way back and forth to the museum) and did other site seeing.
5 out of 5
by Ann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels