Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 東京

全く非のうちどころがないホテルです

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: すべて。
Location: 切りかけのオベリスクはすぐ。クヌム神殿は川の反対側。 イシス神殿も近いがこのホテルから乗ると、どうしても金持ちとみなされぼられます。 カラブシャ神殿、アスワンハイダムも街の中では一番近い立地だが カラブシャ神殿は世界遺産なのに、タクシーのドライバーでも、そもそも知っている人がほとんどいません。
まず悪い点が全く見当たらない。 エントランスの警備員からフロント、清掃員すべてが完璧に素晴らしかったです。 格式、雰囲気、サービスすべてが最高でした。 有名なフレンチ1902は子供連れは不可、セミフォーマルが必要ですが頼めばテラス席なら対応してくれます。 部屋にはベッドサイド、ソファー前にテレビ、DVDを持ち込めばホームシアター付。 部屋のWiFi無料。 この値段でこれ以上望めないほどの素晴らしい設備でした。 ホテルだけでなく部屋からの景色も最高、このホテル滞在のためにだけアスワンを訪問する価値があるくらいのホテルです。 正直エジプトはもういいと思っていますがこのホテルだけは例外です。 初めてホテルでゆっくり滞在したい、そう思わせてくれたホテルでした。 最初にこちらに泊まったので以降のホテルのハードルが上がってしまいました。 エントランスのおじさんに教えてもらった徒歩で行けるローカルのケバブ屋さん「サラヤ」さんも最高でした。 ただし、プールは深め(160㎝)なのでお子様連れは気をつけてください。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel with beautiful views of the Nile

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Great hotel to stay in while in Aswan. The old building has so much charm, well worth the premium. Our suite faced the Nile river with an outdoor patio to take in the view. The AC never got quite as cool as we desired (first-world problems; over-priviledged Americans, lol) but it was comfortable enough to have a good night sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tolles Hotel zum relaxen.

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Der unglaubliche Nilblick vom Balkon und auch von der Restaurantterrasse.
Cons: Die Servicekräfte während des Frühstücks sind etwas schnarchig.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich direkt am Nil. Der Besuch des nubischen Museums in der direkten Nachbarschaft ist empfehlenswert.
Das Hotel ist für einen Kurzurlaub zu empfehlen. Die Gastronomie und auch die Freizeiteinrichtungen des Hotels befinden sich auf hohem Niveau.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luxurious hotel with great service

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at the Old Cataract for three nights in April 2015. The hotel was wonderfully equipped with the Sofitel touch while maintaining the heritage feel of the place. Staff were always helpful and nice, and the food was really nice. One tip: If you're planning to visit the hotel to dine at 1902 (the famous heritage restaurant), make sure you have smart trousers and smart shoes, as they have a dress code. PRO: - Great rooms: Our room was enormous and incredibly comfortable. The bed was massive, the bathroom was huge, and everything was sparkling clean and well-equipped. - Breakfast: Rather than a buffet breakfast, staff bring a selection of items to your table. They taste great, and are more than enough. - Grounds: The Old Cataract is a historic hotel in Aswan with really nice grounds to walk through and a great view of the Nile. - Location: The hotel is a short walk from the Souq and the Corniche, while still be a little bit away so everything in the hotel area is very quiet. CON: - Wifi: The wifi was terrible, and borderline unusable throughout our stay and on all parts of the hotel grounds. It was free, but took forever to load basic webpages. It's a small quibble, but at a high-end hotel like this, it's frustrating that the free wifi is so poor. All in all, our stay at the hotel was excellent and we really enjoyed it. I am happy to recommend this hotel for people visiting Aswan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Adrian from Mexico

Outstanding!!

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
Without doubt the best option for Aswan. The hotel facilities are beautiful and the rooms are amazing with breathtaking views from the Nile. The restaurant at the porch serves good buffet breakfast and excellent dinners. I would not hesitate to stay again in his hotel the next time I'm in Aswan. Easily the best hotel I stayed in in my entire trip to Egypt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mountain View, CA

The best view of the Nile

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Above all, the way I was treated by the hotel staff.
Cons: I can hardly think of anything.
Location: Felucca ride on the Nile, Unfinished Obelisk, Abu Simbel
I had a wonderful time in OC hotel. I received a very warm welcome at my arrival, I had a spotless and comfortable room to stay and enjoy the best view of the Nile, and I got all the help I needed from the staff as I had lost my wallet in Cairo and had to sort a lot of things out. I strongly recommend staying in this hotel to anyone travelling to Aswan. There is a small problem though: after OC, staying in other hotels can never be quite satisfying again :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by Rafic KHAIRALLAH, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for this nice review; I am happy to see that you had a wonderful time on OC and glad to see that you liked the service and the room. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon Sincerely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fatma from Egypt

Fantastic hotel with great history,a DREAM!

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
I had booked a suite which to my knowledge is a room plus sitting room,we got room1128 I see it as a deluxe room not a suite,during the day it was so noisy I had to ask Peter reception twice to change it as the purpose of my trip was to relax but to no avail,next afternoon I asked Mohamed reception same thing but nothing was done,it's only Monica that changed us to1124 a perfect SUITE with no noise!!!the hotel and surroundings are something out of this world!i loved breakfast,shall visit again soon!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Rome

An Enchanting Experience

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent visit over Valentine's Day. The staff accommodated our 2:30 AM transfer from our cruise and our 4:30 AM departure for the airport the next day. The gardens and veranda are gorgeous. We wished we could stay a week! We had an excellent meal in the 1902 Restaurant and highly recommend booking a table.The only negative was a wedding party that played music too loud during lunch and disrupted sleep in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

aswan

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels
excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by matthew from Washington DC

A good place to relax after a trip up the Nile.

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
Went to the Old Cataract after a few weeks to relax and as a base to go to Abu Simbel. The food here was awesome and the stay was very relaxing. I stayed in the 'palace' section of the hotel (older building). Was very well appointed and all the of staff was very helpful