Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Everything was great, we love the room, the staff and the pool
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in Egypt, hands down

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Beds were so comfy. We received a free upgrade to a Palace Nile View room. Incredible. Huge bathrooms, living area, dressing area, two televisions!
Cons: Quality of the meals we ordered for room service weren't the best. Best to eat at the restaurant.
Location: Philae Temple (20 kms) $120 taxi ride there and back, Elephantine Island, Nubia Museum, St. Michael the Archangel Copic Church
This hotel was a firm highlight in my two years living in this country. Exceptional atmosphere, incredible service, beautiful and stylish room design, unparalleled views and an incredible and fascinating history that is worthy of its' lip service. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone, on any budget. It is definitely worth every pound, which is one-fifth of its' in-room advertised prices before tourism took a sharp downward turn. The pool was well-staffed and kept, with perfect views of both Elephantine Island, the Mausoleum of Agha Khan III, feluccas sailing down the Nile, and beautiful Nubian villages. Easy access to taxis out front, helpful and quick receptionists who can help you with anything you wish to ask about, and more than pleasurable wait staff who are happy to regal you with stories of the glory days of Egypt and the Old Cataract Hotel. The only negative point I have is about the in-room dining service, which was not as inspiring as I had hoped. The service was excellent, however the food quality left something to be desired. All in all, I would definitely return to this hotel and enjoy its' peaceful surroundings and lush grounds.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Bedford

Lovely hotel

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel with excellent service. Nothing too much trouble. Friendly, yet professional. Free wifi was a reasonable speed, but not available by the pool. We would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceptional property at an exceptional location.

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Exceptional property at an exceptional location with spectacular views of the river Nile. Exquisite service and accommodations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traumhotel mit Geschichte

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: Gebäude, Zimmer, Atmosphäre, Service, Freundlichkeit aller Mitarbeiter
Cons: Nein
Location: Nähe Corniche, Bootsanlagestellen, Bazar
Das Hotel liegt wundervoll am und über dem Ufer des Nils. Von dem Restaurant auf der Terasse hatten wir beim Frühstück bereits den großartigen Blick auf den Nil, die auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite des Flusses gelegenen Sehenswürdigkeiten und die prächtige Gartenanlage des Hotels. Der Service ist hervorragend. Die Restaurants bieten exquisite Küche. Das Wellness Angebot ist sehr gut. Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt und werden mit Sicherheit bald zurückkommen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

Fantastic View

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: Location, rooms, and landscaping
Cons: Train the front desk and terrace restaurant staff on customer care and service in accelerated manar.
Location: Aswan is full of activities like: PHiala Temple High Dam Botanical Island Nubian Museum Nubian Village Nile Museum
The hotel location is marvelous. It is directly on the river Nile where natural beauty mixed with the flow of water. This hotel should be one of the best not in Aswan but in the world. Most of he staff do not answer your requests, They promise and never executed their promises. Terrace restaurant are too slow. I must admire the good response of the front desk morning lady, she was so active and I can say that she was the only member of staff that responded to our requests promptly. Breakfast is excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torino

Posto assolutamente magico

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: tutto
Cons: le toilette della piscina e della reception
Location: posizione sul Nilo, quindi comoda per la visita dei siti e vicino al mercato
sono ritornata in questo albergo dopo la ristrutturazione e l'ho trovato perfetto. piscina, spa, ristoranti in condizioni perfette. personale veramente ineccepibile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2016 by MoniaM, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, It was our pleasure having the chance to host you with us at the Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan. I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit and that you enjoyed the Legendary Experience of the Hotel after the renovation. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the Spa, Pool, Restaurants and service is a reward in itself. Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction. I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future. Sincerely, Monia MOURAD Guest Experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel légendaire

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
Repas médiocre à l'exception des petits déjeuners Pas d’étagère pour poser son savon dans les douches Bon service relation clients de la direction Obsession du bakchich par le petit personnel Boutique aux possibilités limitées Transport par véhicule de l'hôtel trop cher Jardins superbement entretenus Spa de la piscine de l'Old Cataract mal conçue
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incredible natural beauty

Posted Dec 22, 2015
I can't recommend this location and Aswan enough. The weather, the amenities, the food, the history. A spectacular place in a wonderful location.