Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Avalon, CA

Way overpriced!

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: The houses across the street in back and the fact that at least I could get coffee across the street.
Cons: cleanliness, lower price, breakfast or at least decent coffee.
Way overpriced! 200 per night, mold in the shower, partying and noise all night in parking lot, breakfast is a pre-wrapped pastry.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We decided to stay one more night and this location was close to the freeway. Room was clean. It was the last room with one queen and even though it was a smoking room it was not bad. Staff was fast and efficient.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unclean and impolite staff

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Cons: Cleaneliness and staff needs to be more polite
We checked into the hotel only to find that the room was not clean at all. There were cigarette butts in many places in the room. The room had a very bad smell of cigarette smoke and we literally had to open the door and stay out for some time to let some fresh air get in. The staff was impolite and lack the basic courtesy that every client expects. On the same trip, we stayed at another American Best value motel in San Luis Obisco and we were very satisfied with that. However, this one was terrible and gave a bad experience. I will never go stay there again and willl not recommend to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Sean, Hotel Management
We are sorry for your recent stay with us thank you for informing us with the issues you incurred with your stay. We strive to do better on your next trip To Atascadero.
4 out of 5
by Daniel

Bueno

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
The gentleman at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Check in was easy. The hotel room was fairly clean except for the bathroom. The tub had a bit of mold on the edges. When I turned the shower on the water was brown for about 20 seconds. Over all it was a great value and was definitely great for a one night stay while out on business. I will definitely be staying here with my family on our next central coast trip
1 out of 5
by Bryan

Dirty

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was dirty, bed spread had blood stains, mold in tub, front door broken. Carpet was dirty. The whole room was dirty. I will never stay there again. Bryan
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glendora, CA

Close to freeway, but quiet

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Close to freeway
Cons: Improve on e breakfast selection
Location: McDonald's across the street, A&W next door and a gas station on the corner.
Hotel was freeway close, but quiet. Staff was friendly. Older building, no pool and continental breakfast was a joke. It was located inside the small office in a corner. We walked across the street to McDonald's for breakfast. Will not return to this hotel in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Sean, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We will try to fix your concerns for your future stay with us. Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Wouldn't give us a extra pillow because in their country they only use 2 pillows. Not very friendly. Room smelled and bathtub tile was black
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Sean, Hotel Management
I believe you had mistaken the reason why the pillows were not available at that time. We don't appreciate you Saying racist remarks such as our country. We are American for your knowledge thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: they could be friendlier.
Location: beaches. grocery store. the 101
asked for a couple things and was turned down. the rooms need to be updated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Sean, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We will try to fix your concerns for your future stay with us. Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't do it

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Mildew on curtains, bad smells in the room and office, blanket stained, breakfast and wifi both subpar. Service fine but indifferent. At half the price, I would consider this acceptable, but at $110/night, it was not. This has confirmed my decision to never again stay at America's "Best Value" Inns.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
No Comment
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Sean, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us we hope to see you back