Ratings based on 1,243 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Great boutique hotel for families

Posted Nov 13, 2017
The Carlton is an historic hotel that was recently renovated, quite tastefully. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The second floor patio rooms have French doors opening onto a shared elevated patio, making it great for families that would like easy access to relatives while maintaining separate quarters. Within the same building is a great bakery/coffee shop. It appears that a ground floor restaurant is also in the works. We dined at an excellent Mediterranean restaurant, Byblos (just around the corner) and a very popular pub two doors down, called Streetside Alehouse. Byblos delivered to the hotel lobby for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

4 out of 5; 8.5 out of 10

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Nice, old, historic, clean, comfortable, downtown, upscale, reasonable price, lots of pros Stayed in room 310 Cons: Vent/Filter above toilet disgusting, absolutely filthy. Probably isolated incident - otherwise impeccable Stairwell littered with trash and debris Restaurant/lounge not in operation yet Have to unplug lamp or radio and move night stand to access outlet for CPAP machine and/or other electronics. Older Hotel Iron smelled like pee. Few outlets - had to use the one in the corner where there is little lighting No breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Lovely hotel in Atascadero

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: The room was really beautiful, self parking was easy, and the hotel was located downtown and walking distance to restaurants.
Cons: The hotel is in the process of getting licensing for a restaurant, which will be a nice addition.
Location: The Carlton is located in downtown Atascadero - you can walk in town, visit wineries, enjoy the outdoors
I stayed two nights at the Carlton Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout my stay - especially with recommendation on where to eat. I was a little worried when I saw my room was next to the elevator and facing the highway, but it was not a problem at all - the room was very quiet. The room itself was lovely, spacious and very clean. During my visit, I saw that the hotel was applying for a license to open their restaurant - when this happens it will be a very nice addition to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Nice hotel - close to everything in Atascadero

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Close to my work
Cons: Bed a bit too soft
Location: Central coast
Friendly staff - clean - and elegant hotel. Enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful bathrooms

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Awesome. Quaint hotel, great area, fabulous rooms. The bathroom shower and tub were fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

More than expected

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Room size and comfort
Cons: A restaurant and room service would be nice but not that important.
Location: There were plenty of restaurants nearby as well as an excellent bakery for breakfast. I think there were shops etc. but didn't check.
We found this hotel on Trivago, it look very nice and was close to family. The price was excellent. We couldn't have been more pleased. It was very elegant, newly remodeled but retained a bit of old fashioned elegance. Our room was very large and the mattress super comfortable. We had a very comfortable upholstered chair and foot stool/hassock which I much preferred to a straight back chair for relaxing and watching tv. The other guests were very quiet - no kids playing soccer in the hall, no slamming doors or screaming parents. The restaurant wasn't open yet but there was a cafe bakery adjacent that was wonderful. breakfasted there 2 mornings and the quiche and steel cuts oats were excellent. Our family - whom we were visiting, wanted to see the rooms as it was a newly remodeled residence hotel and they were very impressed, especially with the huge bathroom, jet tub, marble and tile throughout. Friendly and very capable staff. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The Carlton was very comfortable and a nice haven at the end of the day. The bathroom was luxurious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Classy, comfy and had a hot tub!

Posted Aug 29, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised to find a jacuzzi in our bathroom! Also, I thought the value overall was great for the price. Very nice room, spacious, shower & tub, ROBES (love it when they provide robes) and easy (and plenty) parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Good , could be better lalalala Good , could be better lalalala Good , could be better lalalala Good , could be better lalalala
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Good staff, clean remodeling was done beautifully. I will stay there again and recommend to friends.