Ratings based on 1,266 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

A nice hotel close to all atraction

Posted May 16, 2017
Nice and clean hotel,nice people close to every where good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amalia - Great Location

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Room wifi
Excellent place, close to Syntagma Square and all transport links. Within 10 minutes walk of many sites and museums. Staff very helpful and price of food in small bar similar to outside places. Only gripe was poor room wifi. Had to be in reception for reliable connection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Twickenham, London, England

Excellent location, comfortable, clean hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
The Amalia is a spotlessly clean hotel in a superb location, just off the Syntagma Square, opposite the National Gardens, with a Metro station and the Airport Express Bus stop a few yards away. The Plaka district and Acropolis are easily walkable from the hotel. An ideal central location. Staff are pleasant and efficient. My hotel room was modern, clean and the bed comfortable. The Breakfast Buffet had a very good selection, was well stocked and replenished; and there was always table space. My only negative aspect was the size of the room. I'd booked a single room, described on my Expedia confirmation as a 'Classic Single Room'. In fact it had a double bed, with two sets of towels etc. Yet the room was very small, with barely enough space for any second occupant to get round to their side of the bed. The bathroom was so small that the door wouldn't open fully without hitting the washbasin - so entry was between the angled door and the toilet basin. There was also no chair to relax in, just a pouffe type stool. Also, no tea/coffee making facility, although there was a 'welcome' bowl of fruit. I reiterate however, that the room was modern, clean and well maintained. If I was to visit Athens again I would certainly stay at the Amalia, but I would ensure I booked a larger room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Great central location

Posted May 13, 2017
Great location and chat tours operates from this hotel. You can walk to shops restaurants and the acropolis from here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Palatial hotel friendly staff great for touring

Posted May 9, 2017
Very restful hotel and spacious immaculate recommend great pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great location for visiting Athens.

Posted May 7, 2017
The hotel is in a perfect location for visiting Athens. The airport transfer bus stops in Syntagma Square, five minutes walk from the hotel. It is only approx. 15/20 minutes from the Acropolis. Staff were friendly, we had a good room, and had an excellent choice at breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canterbury UK

Convenient hotel for all public transport

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast buffet. Reasonably priced food in the bar. Helpful staff. Proximity to transport links especially +95 airport bus.
Cons: Tripled glazed windows at front of hotel?
Location: Benaki Museum is excellent. Changing the Guard at Parliament building on Sunday at 11am (need to get there early)
We were allocated a room at the front of the hotel which was extremely noisy due to heavy traffic all day and night. When we asked to be moved to a quieter room at the back of the hotel this was done quickly and without fuss and we later found a complimentary plate of fruit had been left for us in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Very central to every tourist attraction

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The check in was perfect. The staff were helpful. Hotel is right in the middle of the city. Very well managed, clean and customer oriented. Will recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting this friendly city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

hotel location and facilities

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: wifi speed
Location: Shop and eat within 5 min from hotel. Parliament across the road, Attica duty free shopping mall only a short walk away.
Excellent location, short walk to shopping streets Plaka and Ermou. Reception staff and hotel staff pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California

Nice hotel close to Syntagma (Athens city center)

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Nice hotel near Syntagma (Athens city center). Many tours start near hotel as well as bus and tram stop. Safe area and many things to do nearby.
Location: Great location, nearby tour stops, tram and bus stop as well as many things to do nearby.
Amalia is a nice hotel near Syntagma (Athens city center). Many tours start near the hotel as well as bus and tram stop. Greece Parliament house is across the street, so it is very safe area. Many restaurants and things to do around the hotel. Hotel rooms are clean and comfortable. Hotel staff is helpful. Great view of Acropolis from the hotel balcony.