Ratings based on 2,379 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 19, 2017
brilliant hotel excellent view from the roof terrace. staff is more than welcoming everybody greets you with a smile. would definitely recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Great location

Posted May 17, 2017
Great hotel right next to the major sights all in walkable distance. Hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The rooftop restaurant is a must
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio. TX

Close to Parthenon and many other ancient site.

Posted May 17, 2017
Excellent restaurant with outstanding 360 view of Athens. Great service at restaurant. Breakfast is included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect location, great staff!

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, restaurant, views, staff
Cons: Perhaps extended dining options/room service, although there are certainly many restaurants in Plaka within easy walking distance.
Location: Hotel is in the heart of the main tourist draws in Athens. Easy walk to the Acropolis Museum, the Parthenon, and the temple of Zeus. Lots of shopping!
Spent a night at Athens Gate upon our arrival in Greece before embarking on a cruise. Rooms are smallish by American standards, but well-appointed and spotless. Bathrooms and shower were lovely. Elevators are more residential than commercial. Hotel reception desk personnel were extremely friendly and helpful in coordinating a VERY late dinner. The breakfast buffet is served in their rooftop restaurant with absolutely stunning views of the Parthenon. Would definitely book another stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great modern hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Excellent location. Walkable to all Athens attractions. Hotel was clean, modern, excellent free breakfast and the view from restaurant was outstanding. Even had a scale to weigh the baggage which saved us $$$$$
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not clean, not comfortable

Posted May 14, 2017
It is not far from the main street but uncomfortable facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

The best views of the Acropolis and Temple of Zeus

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: The buffet breakfast, the views, the drinks at sunset, the friendly staff, the clean room and bathroom.
Location: This hotel is extremely close to anything and everything you would want to do in Athens (shopping, monuments, museums, etc).
We stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel our last day in Athens after stay a day in the Hilton our first day of our trip. The Athens Gate outdid the Hilton with the most spectacular views from the rooftop bar and friendly service from the second we walked in the door. When on the rooftop, you have a 360 view of Athens including the Acropolis to one side and the Temple of Zeus. The drinks are reasonably priced and the buffet breakfast is included and FANTASTIC (by far the best breakfast we ate on the whole trip). Also very close to the shopping district, great restaurants, the Acropolis museum, and walking distance to all major historical sites. I would highly recommend this as the number once place to stay in Athens!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton, UK

Brilliant hotel in the nicer part of town

Posted May 13, 2017
Brilliant hotel in the nicer part of town close to everything .. great service and fantastic views
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

TERRIFIC for seeing central Athens!

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, location, staff, THE RESTAURANT!!!
Cons: The 'Family Room' is really 2 rooms on a common-door hallway. Not quite as 'family' as we hoped. The noise from traffic when on the balcony.
Location: Centrally located. EVERYTHING really important in downtown Athens is only a few minutes' walk away.
I booked this hotel as part of an Expedia package. I had reviewed several options and decided this was the best place to take my family for our first visit to this historic capital. From the second we arrived, we knew that we had made a good choice. The staff were friendly and welcoming and exceptionally professional, the facilities were 'older' in style than some, but superbly maintained and CLEAN. The rooms were exceptionally well-cleaned and appointed and fully-kitted out with robes and slippers and toiletries. The hotel's description was exceptionally accurate. The first afternoon, we walked and saw the Temple of Zeus and the First Modern Olympic Stadium, and had a snack 10 minutes away at the Congress Hall in the park. A short 5 minute walk, and we were back in the hotel. That night, we ate in the hotel's Rooftop Garden restaurant. It truly was a delight and the views were awe-inspiring. We went back several times in the evenings. Prices were superb for the quality and amount received. The included breakfasts in the Rooftop Garden were the best and had the best variety I've ever had. Assistance, room service, housekeeping...it was all perfect! Bravo, Athens Gate Hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Excellent location.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Old hotel, second visit - last one 27 years ago! Across the road from Olympic Temple of Zeus, near Hadrian's Arch, short walk to Plaka and Acropolis. 360 degree view of Athens from roof top restaurant. Limited menu items, however. Old, small elevator, but functional. No pool.