Ratings based on 2,290 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Wonderful location

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The staff, the views, the location...
Cons: We weren't able to adjust the air conditioner and it was very warm in our rooms. The elevators are small and slow, but that's typical for Europe.
Location: The location is excellent. Within walking distance to all the ruins.
We stayed for six nights with our 18 year old twins. The "family room" was perfect! (it's two separate hotel rooms that connect with a private door) The views and location are amazing. We had a view of the Temple of Zeus from our rooms and the rooftop restaurant/bar has 360 views of the city, including a spectacular view of the Partheon. We were able to walk everywhere and Plaka was right around the corner with lots of dining and shopping options. The hotel staff was very friendly and we spent several evenings enjoying the views at the rooftop bar. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a large variety. I suggest you go to the Partheon Museum BEFORE you visit the sight! We did it the other way and felt like we missed a lot by not visiting the museum first.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea, UK

Ideally situated for main sites

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Lovely room, scrupulously clean, lovely breakfast, helpful and friendly staff. Easy strollable distance to main historic sites. Close to everything we wanted to see. Lovely restaurant in hotel with stunning views - a little pricey but view was great (only tried it for one of our 5 nights). Buffet breakfast - good selection and plentiful, cereals, fruit, cold meats, boiled eggs, breads, hot bacon, potatoes, scrambled egg, fried eggs, pastries, coffee, tea, fruit juices etc. Everything was great, only minor criticism was that the air conditioning not fully available at this time of year in mid March - we just found rooms a tad hot, particularly at night. Helpfully reception staff arranged for the air conditioning fan to be switched on in our room - this did help. Weather was surprisingly sunny and warm for mid March - even had to buy sunscreen. We opted for room not overlooking Temple of Zeus - gorgeous views but also overlooks a busy road. Our room was at back of hotel with no view but that didn't detract from our 6 days as we were out and about every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Everything literally on the doorstep.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Lovely hotels, views and staff, although are room 610 seemed to be next to cleaning cupboard and you could hear the staff from quite early in the morning onwards. Only real criticism however would be the hotels restaurant the food was bland and tasteless which was very disappointing considering the over inflated prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Mar 16, 2017
We stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel for 4 nights and would highly recommend it. The location is excellent, very close to the Acropolis and other sites. The rooms are modern and comfortable, we had a view of the Temple of Zeus from our room which was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel - Excellent Location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Quality of Hotel, Location, and Staff.
Super great staff, super great hotel. Located next to the Acropolis and Temple of Zeus. Subway and buses out the front door. Shopping and dining a few minutes away. Excellent roof top restaurant and bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The view of the acropolis at night at the top roof restaurant
Location: It's a 5 minutes away from the acropolis & about a 15 min walk to the parliament, where is the tomb of the unknown soldier and changIng of the guard.
Great place to stay. It's about 5 minutes away from the acropolis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to everything!

Posted Mar 12, 2017
This was the ideal location! The acropolis was a 5 min walk, we had an amazing view of Zeus's temple they offered us a complimentary breakfast every morning located upstairs and the most beautiful view of the Parthenon! Located at the back of the hotel were endless restaurants/cafes the museum was right there, the metro subway station and further down were endless shops! A 10 min walk from the hotel leads you to parliament square another 20 mins walk leads you to the flea market which has a lot more and cheaper things! The hotel was cleaned everyday we got new/ fresh towels everyday washroom was modern and lovely room was cozy not a lot of channels on the tv to choose from but who needs tv when you have a lot to see. Amazing hotel we were offered a taxi right away when leaving. They made us feel comfortable and welcomed. This was the first time my husband and I traveled to europe and they made us feel welcomed. We definitely want to go back and of we do we will be staying at Athens Gate!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales

city break in Athens

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff; it is clean and well appointed.The food is good and the location great.
Location: Walking distance to the parliament , the Olympic stadium, the Temple of Zeus ruins and the whole Acropolis site including the Agora.
The hotel is in an excellent location for the main tourist sites and in easy walking distance of nice places to eat al fresco, some with live Greek music .The staff were friendly and unobtrusive. The view from the room balcony was great ,though there is a busy road . The view from the roof restaurant/bar is stunning and the breakfast was excellent .We stayed 4 nights and we don't usually use hotels but could have stayed longer.The Athens Gate is a great base for exploring the city.The hotel was also reasonably priced for Feb/March.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Right in the heart of Athens. Best views from every window!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from UK

Right in the middle of the city.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Overall very clean and stylish. Good location.
Cons: Air conditioning a bit fiddly to use.
Location: Acropolis. Museums etc.
Handy for airport bus. Right in the middle of the city. Great view from rooftop bar. Comfy room.