Ratings based on 2,375 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but too noisy and not a great view

Posted May 22, 2017
Late checked in successfully. not a fancy hotel, very unconfi elevator, not a great breakfast that you can expect in Greece.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Cruced,NM

Nice hotel with a view

Posted May 22, 2017
Stayed at Athens Gate and was not disappointed. Hotel is very convenient to Plaka district, the Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, the new Acropolis museum, restaurants and shopping. Check in was fast and easy, staff were helpful and buffet breakfast has lots of variety.The view from the rooftop is awesome. Rooms are spacious with nice wood floors and bathroom has a deep tub great for soaking. The elevators are small and a tight squeeze for 4 people.The walls are thin that you can literally hear people's conversation.Other than that we really enjoyed our stay in Athens Gate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greeley, Co.

great views, great service, best breakfast coffee

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: It was very clean and the roof top restaurant
Cons: I cant think of anything.
Location: There are plenty of historical artifacts all around the city. There were many shops and places to eat down the quiet streets.
The Parthenon view from bedroom was spectacular at night and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast from the roof top garden made our last day on our trip special and the coffee was some of the best I have ever tasted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!

Posted May 20, 2017
Spent a couple of nights after a cruise and couldn't have picked a better location. The hotel staff were gracious and helpful. Truly enjoyable stay! The view was spectacular!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to everything, great staff

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness and the view from the rooftop restaurant is fantastic.
Location: Everything is nearby, we loved it.
I wish there was an ironing board that stayed in the room. They bring you one but then take it away when housekeeping next comes. We definitely noticed a difference from the weekday breakfast and the weekend, maybe the head chef was off but Sat/Sun the eggs were hard and the bacon cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, Italy

Hotel with a view of the Acropolis

Posted May 20, 2017
We stayed here in May 2017 and had a room with a view of the Acropolis. Most of the sites are within walking distance and is also a couple blocks from a metro. The restaurant at the top has a great view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Great hotel close to everything!!

Posted May 20, 2017
The Athens gate hotel is a find! We were under 1.5 km to the Acropolis museum, entrance to the Acropolis, the Panathenaic stadium, temple of Zeus, Plaka, and Monasteriki. We walked everywhere and we popped back to the hotel whenever we wanted a rest. The food was outstanding, as was the restaurant where it was served. The breakfast was comprehensive and dinners were big portions. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the views were amazing. Many thanks to all!! Finally (and this has nothing to do with the hotel!) Note that the taxis should be a flat rate (including tolls- $38e during the day) from the airport. Confirm the price before departing, and ask for a receipt if they try to charge more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 19, 2017
brilliant hotel excellent view from the roof terrace. staff is more than welcoming everybody greets you with a smile. would definitely recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Great location

Posted May 17, 2017
Great hotel right next to the major sights all in walkable distance. Hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The rooftop restaurant is a must
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio. TX

Close to Parthenon and many other ancient site.

Posted May 17, 2017
Excellent restaurant with outstanding 360 view of Athens. Great service at restaurant. Breakfast is included.