Ratings based on 2,270 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Excellent location. Lovely rooftop restaurant.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Highly recommend this lovely hotel with helpful and knowledgeable staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Good hotel,friendly staff,great breakfasts and very central location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Athens Weekend

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Great staff, clean modern rooms, walking distance to historic sites, shopping, and restaurants. Excellent roof-top buffet breakfast with stunning view
Cons: The only negative was the small elevators.
Location: Walking distance to Acropolis, Acropolis Museum, great restaurants and shopping.
My twelve year old son and I went to Athens for President's Day long weekend. We stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel and were very pleased with the staff and facilities. Highly recommend hotel because of its great location (walking distance to all major historical sites, restaurants, and shopping), friendly staff, and excellent roof-top buffet breakfast with stunning views of the Acropolis. The only negative about the hotel is the tiny elevators. For those with limited time in Greece we also recommend the one day, three island cruise to Hydra, Poros, and Aegina. Great experience with hotel pick-up and drop-off, full lunch, and entertainment. We loved Greece. People were warm and friendly and they all spoke English!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and location amazing views

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Really enjoyed my stay there, the friendly staff and the fantastic views all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a sightseeing trip to Athens

Posted Feb 17, 2017
We spent 4 nights at this pleasant hotel, using it as a base for a typical sightseeing trip. The staff were friendly, attentive, but not overbearing. Our room, which we knew had no view, was nevertheless a good size, very clean with comfortable twin beds. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food. We didn't use the restaurant in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Visit to Athens

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: It is very ideally located
Cons: The hotel did not have any in house tea or coffee, rooms need to be improved.
Location: Just opposite to Temple of Zeus, walking distance to Museum, Acropolis, Agora and many other attractions, exceptional view from the restaurant
A very short but worthwhile trip, a must to have in your bucket list.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, Alabama

Location, Location, Location

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Athens Gate is a phenomenal hotel. We always stay there when in Greece. You cannot beat the incredible view of the Acropolis on one side and the Olympia Temple of Zeus in the other direction from the roof top Garden Restaurant. Nice rooms and the most helpful staff I have encountered at a hotel. When you walk out the door of the Athens Gate Hotel you are just a block from all the fun Greek shops and wonderful restaurants. You are also right there at the Acropoli Subway Station and the entrance to the Acropolis and Parthenon site. When you visit Athens, I recommend that you stay at Athens Gate Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Awesome hotel with a fantastic location

Posted Jan 31, 2017
The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Acropolis and that's the biggest incentive of staying there. Although the room was slightly smaller than I had anticipated, the view from the room more than made up for it. The staff was super friendly and really helpful. The location of the hotel is superb. The hotel is trendy and well furnished with all the basic amenities that you would expect from a top notch hotel. You can walk to Syntagma square and Monastiraki in like 10 mins and all the main monuments are nearby. I had a wonderful time at Athens Gate hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Rooftop bar view!!

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Nice hotel, clean, staff friendly, food fine, close to the sites of athens. Would say good value for money just for that, however throw in the stunning view from the rooftop bar (especially at night) and the hotel was an absolute bargain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Close Main Attractions

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and view
Cons: Room with view is a bit nosisy, but if you are out making the best of your days you will be very tired and will not have any trouble sleepi
Location: In the Old City so put your walking shoes on and explore its all there!
A very good experience no problems at all! Except the low season two of my tours were cancelled because of low participation.