Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, England

Hotel went bust on second day of stay

Posted Jun 4, 2016
On first day, all the bars and restaurants were closed, due to a "dispute with staff". On the second day, we returned to the room to find a letter informing us the hotel was closing the following day, so we would need to leave. Staff we spoke to suggested it would reopen under a new name, but same owner, in a few weeks. Would recommend avoiding the hotel at 115 Syngrou Ave like the plague. Expedia were useless when we contacted them for help, so can't recommend them either.
4 out of 5
by Anita

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Location was close to family in the area
Cons: carpet need to be replaced
There was a strike on Saturday and we did not get our room cleaned. I understand this can happen ,but the hotel should have made some adjustment on the few charges that we had.Management tried very hard to keep breakfasts running smooth and they worked very hard.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
I travel a lot for both business and pleasure. This hotel is about $200 a night with Internet only. Breakfast is not included which I didn't mind but the staff are not so friendly. So I do not think I'll be going back to this hotel anytime soon.
4 out of 5
by Olivier from Oakham

Acceptable, but a little dated

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Short stay due to conference held in the hotel. Staff very friendly and overall a good experience although the rooms need an upgrade in order to keep up with current standards expected from 5* hotels in capital cities in Europe. The mattresses are in dire need of replacing, they must be 15 years old! In fact, all the furniture as well as the television set is rather dated - however, very clean and functional - rooms very spacious, so I would still recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Nice hotel but the area is very questionable .

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Business floor accommodations and restaurants also ability to view ancient sites from balcony
Cons: No strikes
Location: Graffiti and abandoned office buildings Take hotel bus to syntagma park and to Acropolis
This hotel was very nice with an excellent staff. The surrounding area was very questionable . I Would not walk alone. It was awesome to see the Parthenon and Acropolis from my balcony but the abandoned And graffiti writing on the buildings in front of the Hotel was very disturbing. The area is a 0 but the Athena Ledra rates a 4.5. Great breakfast !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

Nice hotel, not 5-star

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: The extremely helpful and polite staff, location between the inner city and the southern neighborhoods.
Cons: Gym is ok but in an underground closed-in room, equipment requires better maintenance; separate male/female saunas are annoying...
Location: Konstantinidis (Siggrou 98), the best bakery by far; Smyrny is a pleasant area; and there are several nice restaurants in walking distance.
Stayed in the hotel for 8 days with two children. We arrived late at night and received a room with two double beds, which were too small for us. The next morning we asked for a room change, and were then accompanied by the very pleasant and helpful staff to several rooms until a more suitable one was chosen with a king-sized bed and two (folding) beds were put in. The room was large and comfortable. All in all, the feeling we had was of a 3-4 star hotel with a few additions made (small fitness room, small roof pool, etc.) to allow a 5-star rating. The stay was pleasant, the facilities clean, and most importantly the staff were extremely helpful and polite, so all in all our experience is a good one. A word on the area - Siggrou is a main highway, and the hotel faces it. If noise (and car pollution...) bother you a lot, not open windows if facing towards it. The area is a mixture of seedy establishments (e.g. the "Kinky Opera" across the street), office buildings which some look empty, and surprises such as the Onassis Culture center, the Odeon cinema next door or some small restaurants in the neighboring streets (Mr. Dim, a very good not cheap dim sum). The area south-east of the hotel towards Smyrny and Dafni is worth a look. There are two close-by bus stations taking you quickly to Syntagma square, and you can always walk 10-15 minutes and make it to the lower part of the Plaka
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2016 by Gianni Riatsch, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nadav Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am very glad to know you that your experience overall was pleasant. In particular, we have noted your satisfaction with the cleanliness of our facilities, the “location between the inner city and the southern neighborhoods” and the extremely helpful and polite staff. However, I have read your comments regarding your original room allocation and it is regrettable that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations and for that please accept our apologies. However, I am pleased to read that our staff did their best in order to provide you with your desired type of room and make your stay more comfortable. In addition, your comments regarding the fitness area have been taken into consideration and will be discussed with the relevant Head of Departments. We thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Gianni Riatsch General Manager Athens Ledra Hotel
4 out of 5
by Mahbuba from NY

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
It was a pleasure staying at Athens Ledra. The rooms are spacious compared to any European hotel size and is clean. The customer service is exceptional. However, the beds are a little uncomfortable as they are softer. The hotel area is about 5-8 minute taxi ride from Plaka (City center) but there are plenty of taxis which costs about 5 euro. The view from the rooftop was also nice but they close the access early. I would recommend Athens Ledra for a family that needs bigger room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, but poor location.

Posted Apr 30, 2016
No cafes, restaurants, or shops close by. About 30 minute walk to Acropolis area where everything seems to be.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us. We regret that the location of our hotel did not meet your expectations. However, may we take the opportunity to inform you that since the hotel is located in a residential area with increased business activity, there is a number of cafes and restaurants (5 minutes walking distance) with Greek and International cuisine which can satisfy all tastes. On your next visit our Front of House staff will be more than pleased to recommend and assist you with the restaurants in our vicinity. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we sincerely hope you to welcoming you back soon. Yours Sincerely, Gianni Riatsch General Manager Athens Ledra Hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

LOVE this hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
For what you get the price is extremely affordable. This hotel was perfect for a weekend getaway. I do not usually leave reviews but felt the need for this hotel. Everyone was very helpful and really made our stay enjoyable.