Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Very friendly receptionist and hotel located near the attraction place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

For the price and location, pretty good.

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: It's a 4 minute walk to Monastiraki Square and right next to the market. No need for a rental car. Subways are located very close to the hotel.
Excellent location, price and staff. The bed and pillows were ok, the room was clean and the staff was beyond amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Nice hotel overall

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Overall it's a pretty good hotel. I had no problems. The room was clean and the hotel was within walking distance to very good restaurants. It's about 6 blocks from the subway so expect a little walk to get to the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Close to city center

Posted May 24, 2016
Perfectly fine for being in city center. I travel cheap and would rather spend money on food than lodging and this fit the bill. Wifi worked great in room to plan the day with.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

U get what u r paying for.

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Awesome location close to plaza, psirri and the farmers market as well as the meat and seafood market
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and cheap

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: Wifi, location
Cons: Bathroom, and breakfast option
Location: Cafe's and shopping
This hotel is in the heart of the market. It is small clean, safe and cheap. The wifi was excellent. Do not expect a separate shower from the toilet, and the rooms are tiny. Bed is ok but stiff. Overall ok, but you get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean Hotel Very Rude Old Lady

Posted Dec 9, 2015
It was clean hotel but disappointing Old lady if you asked question the answer is I dont know, even a location he dont know. If you ask for a tour desk answer is I dont know again and saying with a angry face "i have to call the agency". If you asked if you can use the phone in the room using outside call she will answer you with a rude voice "come down" so what is the use of the phone in the room?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Awful hotel in bad location

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: Clean sheets and towels
Cons: Terrible location full of petty crime and pick pocketing, someone tried to break into my locked bag of valuables, no separate shower
Location: Dodgy location full of petty crime
Almost everything about this hotel is awful. The location is convenient but as I approached the hotel to check in at 4pm in the afternoon, someone tried to mug me. I asked many locals who I met and they said the area around the hotel is very dodgy and full of petty crime. Even with this, I had already paid for the room, so I stayed at the hotel for the second night. I locked all of my valuables into my backpack with a travel lock during the day while I was out sightseeing. When I came back in the late afternoon and checked it, I could tell someone had been fiddling with the lock. The room itself was very sparse which was fine. The bed was comfortable enough for a couple of nights and the air conditioning works well. They provided me with a set of fresh towels and sheets for each night. The bathroom leaves much to be desired. There is only a drain and shower head right next to the toilet in the bathroom. When I showered, the toilet was soaked and the whole bathroom filled with water. Also they only provide you with a small bar of soap and a small packet of shampoo. The staff were courteous, but I felt that they had lied to me when I asked about the safety of the surrounding area. If you’re really a seasoned budget traveler and you think you can put up with all of this for the cheap hotel price, I would suggest you only stay here if you are with someone else. I am a seasoned female traveler traveling alone and I would absolutely not recommend staying here or anywhere in th
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami beach fl

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: good location nice staff
Cons: lower first step
Location: good location lots or things to do & see nearby in the middle of a lot of activity
very good experience, friendly staff, gave helpful information
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great Central Location in Athens.

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. You can walk to all the central attractions such as the Central Market, Acropolis, Metro etc.
Cons: We were happy with the std of the room and hotel. I could always go on about the creaky bathroom door but I won't.
Location: Central Market, across the road. Karamanlidika restaurant on Evripidou, great sausages,
The Athinaikon Hotel was perfect for us. A family of 4 with two daughters aged 13 & 15. It's a 10 minute walk from the Monastiraki Station north along Athinas road. Turn left along Evripidou (street) and the hotel doorway is 50m (ish) on the right. The abundance of graffiti along the street does make you think twice at first as it gives a sense of sleaze to the road, unfortunately. (Athens does have a problem with graffiti that they don't appear to be trying to tackle, even on the walk up to the Acropolis walls are covered but that's another issue). The older lady running the hotel speaks good english and is friendly. The room we had was 2 double beds with air con and a bathroom with toilet, basin and a shower. No view to speak of as it faced the back of other buildings but that did mean no road noise which is good. The hotel felt safe and secure and the room was cleaned daily. I handed my passports in to be held in the hotel safe during our stay.