Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riyadh

Old small hotel.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Location in the old town was close to shopping and sites.
Cons: Renovate.
Location: In the old city near many sites and shopping areas.
Hotel is old and small with very small rooms and no frills. I didn't realize it was only a 2 star hotel. We booked for two weeks but checked out after one week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Clean and comfortable hotel,with a kind staff,in a perfect location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Nikos Gotsis , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing ATHOS Hotel for your stay , as well as for your comments! We are Always at your disposition.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay here again, a waste of my money

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: Hotel was right across from a parking lot which helps if you have a rental car, and was very close to Plaka/ shopping/restaurants
Cons: The décor, the breakfast, the lighting and customer service
Location: Plaka and monastiraki, are near. So is Ermou which is great for shopping.
I would not recommend or stay at this hotel again. It was totally outdated and the rooms were tiny. My first impression made everything...Walking out of the elevator to get to our room and the hall way is dark with no lights on. I had to turn the light switch on to see where we were going. Not a very warm welcome, and kind of scary if you ask me. Room was tiny as well. I did not like the fact that we had to leave our key at the front desk everytime we left the hotel, and then someone would go in our room to clean up without asking us for approval. Breakfast has a charge, and I would say don't waste your money on it either. Its over priced just for some corn flakes and coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2015 by Nikos Gotsis, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, We consider that the amount of 6 euros for breakfast is fair enough considering that it consists of bread, butter, home made jam and Honey,scrambled eggs, mini sausages, greek salad, olives, ham and cheese, yogurt,peach fruit salad,orange/ apple juice,serials,corn flakes milk and coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Top floor area has a terrific view and was never crowded. Wifi was spotty. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 28, 2015
It was close to Plaka and Syntagma Square. Able to walk to most destinations - Acropolis and Acropolis Museum. The staff was very friendly and helped us in any way they could. The best part of the hotel is the rooftop garden with a great view of the Acropolis. On the down side - the wifi was inconsistent and didn't work for log stretches of time. The location is hard to find, down a little side street that doesn't look very inviting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex uk

Good central location

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The friendly reception staff and the location
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Central location close to tourist attractions. Don't miss the adventure rooms!
Room was clean but basic. Reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. One hint is don't have breakfast here. We came down at 9.30 and there was little left, the fare wasn't replenished and the waitress made us feel very uncomfortable by clearing away around us - breakfast didn't finish until 10!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very close to city centre

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pleasant helpful staff. Location near Syntagma square makes it easily accessible from the airport using the metro or bus, and within easy walking distance of the main visitor attractions eg the Plaka, Acropolis, Agora, museums etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Excellent location, close to the Acropolis, 300m from Syntagma square, can't go wrong with this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joe and Cathy from Vermont, USA

A good value, near Syntagma station.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: The location and the price for the most part. Also the staff was wonderful. The optional breakfast at 8 euro looked decent although we did not partake
Cons: My only real complaint would be the size of the rooms but his is an older inner city hotel so we expected that.
Location: It's located right in the heart of Athens.
The hotel is on a fairly quiet side street a short walk fromm Syntagma square. The lift and the rooms are very small but if you are ok with that this is a good location for a short stay in Athens at a good price. The staff was extremely helpful and gracious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LuAnn from Plano, TX

Great Location!

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Spacious room, friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Breakfast was not included, but a coffee pot in the room would have been very welcome.
Location: Plaka is the touristy neighborhood for the Acropolis, shopping and dining. Since our time in Athens was limited, this hotel was very convenient.
We stayed at Athos hotel for three nights in a triple room. The room was spacious and very clean. We chose this hotel for its location being close to shopping, dining, and of course, the Acropolis (walking distance). Also, Monastiraki metro stop is a short walk. The staff were so courteous and helpful! They arranged for an early morning taxi to go to Piraeus, and even called that morning to say there had been a bit of rain so be prepared! We would definitely stay again!