Ratings based on 597 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Western Pythagorion Athens

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, hospitality of staff, location
Cons: N/a
Location: Acropolis, military museum, shops, museums
I stayed at the Best Western as a package trip from Expedia. I noticed many bad reviews about crime, junkies shooting heroin ect. ect. I never seen any of this. The hotel was very clean and the staff was absolutely amazing! The rooms are what you pay for but if you came to Athens to sit in your room all day, then you should just stay home. About a 5 minute walk to the Acropolis and all the museums at its base. Fantastic location and a very nice affordable hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Hotel is centrally located, near the Omonia metro stop. Easy to get anywhere you need to go. Some of the best food we had in Athens was just down the street. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
Hotel is far from tourist attractions And room is dark
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC Canada

Good value for the money

Posted May 29, 2017
PROS: * Good location, just a few blocks away from the subway/train. * Nice breakfast with plenty of variety and a good cappuccino machine. * Very friendly and helpful staff. * Clean room with enough blankets and pillows for the 3 of us. CONS: * Bad shower design! It is very small and tucked away in a corner with a wrap around curtain so water splashes everywhere when you shower. We literally had to ´mop up the floor each time with towels. * The hotel next door is under the construction. The crew was on site very early and started hammering and using power tools by 7.30am. Luckily, we were early risers but this could be annoying if you like to sleep in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Easy walking distance to transport

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Asia ove
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Close to hop on hop off bus, restaurants
We only stayed for one night but everything met our expectations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you can avoid

Posted May 6, 2017
+ nice staff + nice wifi - old refurbished - the water drains in a difficult way in the bathroom - uncomfortable bed, old style mattress - they are building the new hotel next to it, so is noisy, full of dust if you open the door, - no nice view
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON Canada

close to Metro station

Posted May 5, 2017
Hotel staff are very helpful, clearly gave us information about the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Nice location but can be noisy

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Walking distance to La Rambla and subway stop so you can easily move around the city.
Good location but be prepared to put up with noise due to acoustics of the building. People talking in the open courtyard magnifies to loud shouting and even the cleaners moving their equipment can be very disturbing when you are hoping for a rest. Otherwise, good for a quick stay in Barcelona, near to La Rambler
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not what was expected

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything starting with the showers
Location: sketchy neighborhood but not far from metro station
The pictures are misleading because they are stock photos. The staff member that greeted us was helpful, but the man that checked us out acted like doing his job was an inconvenience. The rooms are outdated and falling apart. The shower is small and cut in half further by the faucet sticking out. Water floods the floor because the shower curtain is not long enough to cover the shower area. The third bed was not a fold out couch but a couch with the cushions removed. Be careful and know your surroundings. We took a taxi from the Acropolis to the hotel because we were tired of walking. The driver decided to try and take us driving around Athens but not to the hotel so that he could increase his fare. We caught on to this quickly and made him stop and drop us off. We ended up walking back to the hotel from a graffiti ridden area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
pleasant stay, nice friendly staff. room was comfortable and clean.