Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Very nice hotel, the beds should be double not two pushed together, found it quite tough having shower in bath as the shower head not quite long enough, other than that everything was very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Chillax !!!

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, food & views.
Cons: Rooms could be spruced up a bit.
Location: Isolated in bad weather but taxis & buses available for town. Coach to Athens is good value. Lovely walk to the temple.
Beautiful hotel, lovely holiday but we did have a few 'Fawlty Towers' moments. My white dress went to the laundry with the sheets and a bracelet I bought as a gift for a friend disappeared, we were told it must have been by the bin and it was assumed to be rubbish. I was a bit upset because it was actually in a jewellers wallet and didn't look like rubbish at all. Also the guy on reception when we reported didn't seem bothered even though I was visibly upset. He was the only member of staff we found to be stand offish though, everyone else was fantastic, very welcoming and attentive. I was served pork instead of prawns one night in the Oriental restaurant and the lady couldn't have been more apologetic, she even organised a fruit platter to be sent to our room. The beach and the pool area were both lovely. The views of Posiedon's Temple were amazing. Everything we ate was beautiful, we really enjoyed the choice at breakfast and the lunches at the pool bar were first class. If you get the weather this really is a beautiful place to chill out and spoil yourself. If the weather is bad it is a bit isolated but you can always jump a bus / taxi into town or take a walk to the temple. We also did Athens, the buses don't run very late coming back but you still have time to see all the main sights. Rooms are a little bit dated but very comfy & clean. We had a lovely time in a beautiful place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Resort hotel but far away

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Public spaces, pool area, Breakfast buffet and the staff.
Cons: Bungalows need to be remodeled asap. Housekeeping needs better training.
Location: Remote location with not much nearby. Temple of Poseidon 10 minutes away. Nearest town is Lavrio but only a few cafes and restaurants there.
This hotel has wonderful public spaces, outdoor facilities and great staff. The breakfast buffet was huge and could feed an army. Pool and grounds were lovely. Cons were many unfortunately.Resort is about 1.5 hours out of Athens. Not much nearby. Expensive food and not enough restaurant options and for every restaurant you need "a reservation" Biggest disappointment was the room. We arrived about 8.30 pm - almost dark, we were told we had been upgraded from a twin bedded sea view deluxe bungalow to a 2 room bungalow with a pool. The bungalow was a big let down. There were hardly any lights inside - we could not see to unpack and certainly not to read. Then the front door lock would not work, we had to repeatedly ask reception to send someone over to let us in. We ended up leaving the sliding door open so we could get back in. The A/C did not work properly - in one room it would work for a bit with the cooling and then blow hot air. There was a bad sewer smell coming from the bathroom which permeated into the whole bungalow. The furniture layout in both rooms was strange and none of it made sense. You could not see the TV from the bed as the TV was placed at an angle from the bed. There was a desk right in front of the second bedroom's A/C unit. No bedside lights in the second bedroom, and the bed was squeezed into a wall nook. No shower enclosure in the tub, so water from the shower leaked onto the floor. Housekeeping did not replenish toiletries. Room was 2 stars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2015
The room was big (family suite) with a nice balcony but the furniture looked old and the bathroom was not nice. The room needs a make over! The hotel was very nice, with a lot of space. The pool was fantastic with very nice sun beds. Beautiful beach also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Luxurious relaxation

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Lovely hotel. Staff were great (with the notable exception of one poor and surly waiter in the So Oriental restaurant). The hotel is not very close to a village or town so you either need to be prepared to stay on the resort almost exclusively or hire a car to explore the surrounding area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

True relaxation

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Beautiful hotel - views to die for. Breakfast buffet more like a wedding buffet which has everything you can wish for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen UK

A temple to gracious service

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Everything but the location was extraordinary and the staff the most courteous and gracious ever.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Temple of Poseidon is an extraordinary feat of ancient architecture and absolutely worth a hot climb to see it and the views from it are breathtaking.
From transfer from the airport to our reluctant return home, the gracious, courteous staff at Grecotel simply couldn't do enough for us. Even though Greece is imploding, these lovely, generous hearted people made us feel not just welcome but pampered. The hotel itself is such a lovely set up, village like, the bungalows, villas with paths and steps between them are built into an immaculately planted hillside. We had a fabulous ever changing sea view past the twist of beach to the yacht filled bay and beyond to the Temple of Poseidon that seemed to watch over us. Moonlight on the water, sunlight on our skin but with a cooling breeze. The food was the most healthy, the most indulgent, the most delicious depending on your desires. I haven't felt this looked after for a very long time and a standard of service that is unparalleled and like nothing we have in the UK. I can't recommend Grecotel Cape Sounio highly enough. Just GO! :> xxx
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could be great

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Beautiful hotel and setting, and service from Xenia in So Oriental was fantastic. I would not stay longer than a couple of nights if u was to return as the menus are limited (pretty much the same in each place), the service could be vastly improved and not a lot of entertainment at night. Pool was great but other areas needed done up but as pre summer season this may be forthcoming. View and beach also good. Temple of Poseidon is within walking distance and a short taxi ride away is Lavrion which has a few shops, bars and restaurants. Room was lovely and comfortable, products provided in the room were fantastic!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but nothing else outside the hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2015
The restaurants in the hotel are too expensive. It was away from everything else. Also although the website says the bungalow is for 3 people, the 3rd bed is a sofabed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica, CA

Best of both worlds in Greece

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: I loved the layout and location of the hotel. The grounds were immaculate and staff was very helpful. The breakfast was impressive.
Cons: The beds are not Tempur-pedic as advertised, which was an important selling point in this hotel. Decor in the rooms is a bit dark/heavy.Hot tub broken
Location: Temple of Poseidon at sunset. Lavrio, quaint fishing town nearby with many great restaurants/bars, hotel beach day, obviously Athens/Santorini/Mykonos
This was our first trip to Greece, so we wanted to spend some time doing "touristy activities" in Athens. However, we both feel that being on or near a beach contributes to making a trip a "vacation". Sounio is a beautiful coast full of breathtaking views of the Mediterranean blue sea, rock cliffs, and sandy beaches. The sunsets here are magnificent. We were about 45 minutes southeast of Athens, but it felt worlds away.