Ratings based on 303 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Cecil Hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
My wife and I stayed at the Cecil Hotel at the beginning and end of our trip to Greece. We loved the location, the staff were very helpful, and the old Otis elevator was like a time machine! The Wi-fi could have been better, but who cares! The Falafal house down the street was awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2017
We loved our stay here! Great location, helpful staff, charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all main sights and transportation

Posted May 6, 2017
A nice hotel conveniently located on Athenas Street making many sights within easy walking distance . Nice classic building and adequate breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, homely and well located

Posted May 2, 2017
Great location just north of the main crush at Monastiraki, about 10 minutes walk from Syntagma Square. A quiet, family-run hotel with a cosy atmosphere and characterful architecture, this was a welcome surprise. Would be happy to return to use as a base for exploring Athens.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Price.
Location: 15 minute walk to Syntagma square
The hotel is good if you're looking for a quick place to sleep for a night and are not expecting much. It's a little run down. We didn't stay for breakfast as we had a flight to catch at 7am. A 15 minute walk to Syntagma square. Location was alright.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
great location! value great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming Budget Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
A charming budget hotel in the heart of Athens. Great location and good value in a budget hotel with old world charm. It also has a beautiful cage lift. Bathrooms are basic and the rooms need a fridge with the Athenian summer heat. I would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

A wonderful surprise

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Simple but very clean, with wooden floors and high ceilings. Great value for money.
Location: The surrounding neighbourhood looks very rundown and there are a few beggars, but it is safe.
We had stayed in Athens earlier in the Plaka area in an expensive, incredibly small hotel. On retuning to Athens we wanted to try something different and were pleasantly surprised by this little gem in the Monastraki area. Bigger rooms, high ceilings, incredibly clean and very helpful for half the price! The area is somewhat rundown but it's not far to walk anywhere; the Acropolis, Syntagma square and metros are all close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from egypt

very good location

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: location and cleanliness
Cons: the breakfast
Location: Walking distance to many important locations in Athens
George and Dimitry are wonderful and very helpful in every aspect they can do. The location is ideal for families and shopping as well as sightseeing.
5 out of 5
by Alysaa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels