Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Don't even consider

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Requested a rollaway bed prior to check in, confirmed at check in, and it wasn't there. The bathroom had hair on the floor from a previous guest, there were cobwebs in the room, one wall outlet did not work, and the bed was extremely hard. The springs in the rollaway bed were sticking out. Parking was a challenge to say the least. Do not waste your time or money on this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Historic hotel within walking distance to downtown

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Nicely renovated historic hotel
Cons: Service and parking
Location: Downtown Athens and all of the cafes, music venues, and shops
This hotel is a nicely renovated historic hotel that is within walking distance to downtown. The only problem is that the parking is limited to only one car per room (others have to park the car down the street which is a problem if it is raining since all of the rooms are outside access). The staff and service are not as friendly as one would expect for its location in downtown Athens, however. We (two women) checked in the hotel in a rainstorm and no one offered to help us with the luggage in the rain. It was pouring outside and there were three male employees in the lobby. To make matters worse, they told us that we would have to park one of the cars down the street because they were expected full occupancy that night. Not the kind of service one would expect for a 4-star hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Devin, Hotel Management
Dear Robin, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. While we’re pleased you enjoyed our central location, we apologize if our service didn’t meet your expectations. Unfortunately, in choosing our historic location for our hotel, we have a limited number of parking spaces to offer. That being said, our staff should be at the ready to assist with luggage handling, and we will be sure to correct this issue going forward. We do hope that your stay improved after check-in and that you had a good time in Athens overall. If you plan on returning to the area someday, we are confident we can provide you with a much-improved experience. Sincerely, Devin Heath General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfort, clean, close to,many places

Posted Sep 1, 2016
It was very pleasant been at the graduate hotel , the front desk was very nice at us , the place is very clean, and comfortable, close to downtown
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Devin Heath , Hotel Management
Dear Aggi, Thank you for your wonderful review. It sounds like you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from the friendliness of our staff to our clean rooms to our convenient location. Please know that it would be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back for any future visits you have in store. Sincerely, Devin Heath General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Nice hotel in downtown Athens

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Room looks just like the photos, clean, staff excellent. Only problem air conditioner didn't seem like it cooled as much as it should & parking wasn't as easy if you have a bigger suv or truck if only tight spots are available you park behind hotel. We would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Devin Heath , Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our excellent staff and our clean rooms. Thank you for your feedback on our air conditioning and parking. We will be sure to pass along your notes to the appropriate teams. We look forward to your next stay with us! Sincerely, Devin Heath General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool decor in rooms

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Had great drinks and appetizers in The Foundry and listened to the band warm up - would love to see a show there next time! Loved the decor in the room!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Devin Heath , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We’re pleased you had time to stop by The Foundry for drinks and appetizers. Should you have more time during your next visit, we highly recommend sticking around for one of our famous live shows. Hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Devin Heath General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Funky retro

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Place was great. Good location. Close to UGA. Would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Devin Heath , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We’re happy you enjoyed our location. Thanks for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Devin Heath General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Nice comfortable stay

Posted Aug 14, 2016
It was very clean and the bed was comfortable! Loved the way the room was decorated! Will definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Devin Heath , Hotel Management
Dear Jordan, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It’s wonderful that our rooms met your expectations in both cleanliness and décor. We look forward to your next visit! Sincerely, Devin Heath General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Great location

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Within walking distance of food and shopping. Great coffee shop. Wish the restaurant was open daily.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Devin Heath, Hotel Management
Dear Helena, We appreciate your review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed Iron Works Coffee and our proximity to local dining and shopping. While The Foundry is not open on Mondays, please know that Iron Works Coffee is open every day, and that our staff is always happy to recommend local eateries around town. Should your travels bring you back to Athens in the future, it would be our pleasure to host you once again. Sincerely, Devin Heath General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Hotel close to campus

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Cons: Maid service Front desk assistance would have been great
Maid service was not done upon arrival. Not the only room that had issues that day. Arrived at 4pm - had to wait another hour at least. Second day maid service was not done even though we were gone from 10 a,m to 4:30 pm On top of all the waiting we had to do - I got charged an extra $50 on top of the bill printed out. Great place to stay if you want to lose your money
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Devin Heath , Hotel Management
Dear Glenn, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we've passed your comments along to the appropriate teams who will work to ensure issues like the ones you've communicated do not happen again. Please know that a stay like the one you have described is not representative of the standard visit to Graduate Athens. Should your travels bring you back to Athens in the future, we would appreciate the opportunity to host you again and show you how wonderful a stay with us can truly be.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too groovy for its own good?

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Was looking forward to our stay here - but the experience was cramped overall. It's the little thing that allows you rest after a long day driving: there were no blackout curtains so I was left with the light from the outside pouring in all night. Also, the A/C unit was loud. I battled a roach in the bathroom (ew!). The neato rum body wash dispenser in the shower does little good if you can't get but a tiny bit out each time you pump it, etc. The decor really is great. A fun place that is different from the norm. Just know the rooms are small. It is "pet friendly" which is nice until your wife get snapped at by one of the pack of dogs staying next door! Location is convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Devin Heath , Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for your review. While we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our unique décor, the other issues you've listed seem quite out of character for our hotel. Next time you're in the Athens area, we would appreciate the chance to host you once again and show you what a true Graduate Athens experience is all about. Sincerely, Devin Heath General Manager