Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Moldy

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Wonder decoration and helpful staff. On site coffe shop was delicious.
Cons: Clean and dry out the rooms, they are old and moldy.
The Graduate is a charming and extremely well decorated hotel that would have been very enjoyable other than the smell. Upon first entry I thought my room was just old but after returning later in the evening I realized that it smelled like a house that experienced a flood and wasn't properly cleaned. I was exhausted so I went to bed and tried to ignore it but I woke up in the middle of the night with a sore throat, stuffy nose and horrible headache. AKA my worst allergy symptoms AFTER taking meds that evening. Many of my symptoms immediately disappeared when I left my room confirming the mold present in the room. I was extremely disappointed in what should have been a wonderful stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Unclean

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Room was dirty, shower had mold along the edge, carpet was so old I didn't want to walk with bare feet on it. Felt like a cheap motel. Not worth the money AT ALL.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Michele Uhaze, Hotel Management
Dear Kate, We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. Your experience sounds very uncharacteristic for our hotel, and we will be sure to pass along your feedback to the appropriate teams so that we may remedy the issues you have listed. Should you choose to stay with us again in the future, we are confident we can improve upon this experience for you. Sincerely, Michele Uhaze General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Kitsch getaway in charming college town

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Location and Charming decor and I loved the spa and Foundry!
Cons: There was a musty smell in the room when we first arrived.The inroom coffee station was lacking. I'd like a few options there for sure.
Location: Great location, many charming little restaurants and cafes near by. The art museum is great.
The Graduate is a super cute, kitschy hotel that is super affordable with benefits. The Foundry is located within the hotel and as a guest, you get free access. It's a pull up to your room kinda place, so when you open the door you are in the outdoor elements, but again, for the charming decor and price, no complaints. Staff was super friendly. Will stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Devin Heath , Hotel Management
Dear marniebella, Thank you for taking the time to let us know all about your stay. It sounds like you really enjoyed out hotel and found it to be a great value. We’re pleased that you liked our kitschy décor, our spa, and The Foundry. Please know that we’re excited to host you again during your next stay. Sincerely, Devin Heath General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vintage decor made it a unique stay

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Loved all the little touches in the room. Like the wallpaper in the bathrooms with illustrations of college graduates. Great location, a mere skip to downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Devin Heath , Hotel Management
Dear The Hashims, We are so glad you took the time to tell us about your stay. It’s always so wonderful when guests like yourselves appreciate all the details that have gone into our design. Should you return to Athens in the future, we hope to host you again. Sincerely, Devin Heath General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great Location

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Linens!
Cons: Parking
Location: Great location
Room size was good, bed linens were awesome! Parking was an issue due to the motel being full and a special event being held on site. Otherwise, it was a great stay. Will stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Devin Heath , Hotel Management
Dear Kim, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We’re happy to hear that you’re a fan of our bed linens! For future reference, please know that we are happy to offer guests a complimentary shuttle to take downtown so that they can avoid the hassle that comes along with parking during the busy season. Thanks again and we hope you’ll visit soon. Sincerely, Devin Heath General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotels staff incompetent and arrogant

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Worst stay at a "luxury hotel" in many years. Will never stay there again...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun, unique hotel with great location in town

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed here many times. Rooms are large, they always provide a roll-away bed. Decor is vintage colleagiate funky.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you found our décor so enjoyable. We would love to have you back anytime you find yourself in Athens! Sincerely, Devin Heath General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensoro, United States of America

Charming Decor

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Decor
Cons: More working outlets.
Location: Convenient to downtown restaurants.
Decorated in 1960's retro modern decor. Attractive alternative to run of the mill chain hotels. Room had some maintenance issue. One light bulb burn't out. Front desk didn't have access to replacement till after I was out for the night so switched bulbs around instead. Electrical outlets on both bedside lamp bases were inoperative. Since there were no outlets in walls near bed I wasn't able to use my laptop for long while in bed. AC unit cabinet was not secured to unit body and made seeing adjustment range difficult. No free coffee in lobby just in room two cups which is ok. Staff was fine recomending a downtown sandwich spot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by D, Hotel Management
Dear Eric, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location and unique décor. We apologize if our services did not meet your expectations, and for any inconveniences that may have occurred. We will try to rectify these issues moving forward. Your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a more satisfying stay next time. Sincerely, Devin Heath General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Came for work, had family come for fun
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your rating. We’re happy to hear that we could host you during your business trip and also host your family for a fun vacation. Should your travels bring you back to Athens, it would be our pleasure to accommodate you again. Sincerely, Devin Heath General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels