Ratings based on 578 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Atlanta, GA

Right in the middle of it all

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
From the time I checked in the employees took very good care of me. They were always attentive asking about my room and my needs. Employees gave me tips and where to go and what to see. The breakfast served every morning was a fantastic way to start the day. This hotel is right in the middle of everything you want to see in Athens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Value for Money

Posted May 2, 2016
Location: easy walk to the Plaka
It's rare for me to write a review -- but I wanted to stay how much I appreciated my experience at the Hermes. The hotel is excellent value for money. It's very simple and comfortable while still being reasonably price. It was just what I hoped it would be. It has an excellent location, just a five-minute walk from Syntagma Square and the metro and bus direct to the airport. The public area in the lobby is quite large and very nicely maintained; the staff at reception and in the breakfast room were, without exception, helpful and friendly. The room was small but quiet, scrupulously clean, and very well maintained -- with excellent air conditioning. Breakfast had a good selection of traditional Greek and Continental food. Of course, as a two-star hotel, there are a few limitations, but none made the stay any less enjoyable: one morning, the breakfast room was quiet crowded; the other two mornings, we had the place to ourselves; there wasn't an armchair in the room, but there was a desk chair; Internet service did "dip in and out"; and the roof garden was quiet small with a limited view. There's one additional comment: I noticed an announcement in the elevator to "have a drink the Hotel Plaka", a "sister hotel" a few minutes walk away. I'd rarely think of dropping into another hotel for a drink, but I did this time. Believe me, you must go! The hotel is only a few minute's walk, and the roof deck has an extraordinary view of the Acropolis, especially in late afternoon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Good value for price.

Posted May 2, 2016
The staff was great. They even opened their breakfast room at 3:00 am for us when we were leaving because we had an early flight. The location in old town makes interesting things close and you can spend money on other things besides a fancy room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Great location good value

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, good location, good breakfast, very clean room, really pretty toiletries.
Cons: The roof top garden wasn't looking very good. Didn't bother us but would be a bit disappointing if you were staying longer.
Location: Great location. Restaurants and bars coming out of your ears, shops galore, markets galore, shopping heaven.
Great Location. Easy to get to Emo Street and the Plaka and the markets. Is in a quiet street off the main strip, would not recommend using your own car, parking in Athens is a bit of a headache. You can get around on foot really easy in any case. Really central for shopping and dining and to visit any of the tourist locations. Only stayed one night on our way home, was easy for the taxi to find from the airport and was quick to get a taxi to the airport. The room we stayed in was very clean and lots of light. Breakfast was very good and rated well with any that we were offered in packages during our stay all over Greece. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They have a security system on the door for you to use with your room key so that was a good feature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice boutique hotel. Close to everything in Athens

Posted Apr 25, 2016
We enjoyed our stay here. The ONLY thing was that the comforters were hot and there wasn't anything in the closet that was lighter. The staff were pleasant and knowledgeable. It is just a couple blocks from anywhere we wanted to go, Plaka, Ermou, Acropolis...perfect tourist hotel.
5 out of 5
by Lisa from Norman, OK

Friendly staff in a great location.

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived late and there was a mix up with the reservations but receptionist was able to give us the last room. Staff was able to help with the mix-up the next day and graciously gave us an upgrade on our room. They inquired about our stay and were very helpful on how to get to places of interest. The room was wonderful and the hotel lobby was beautiful. I especially liked their giant map of Greece on the lobby wall.
5 out of 5
by brenda from Avila Beach, Calif

Central & Safe Location

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
The balcony and view were a bit disappointing, but everything else more than made up for this. Very convenient location made walking to local attractions easy. The staff came to our breakfast table every morning to give directions, suggestions and info. It was a quiet neighborhood on a street without a lot of traffic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and helpful

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Staff and information posted in lobby helped us navigate Greece. Careful attention to types of assistance that a tourist would need. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Excellent breakfast setup. Hotel central to everything. We travel a lot worldwide - Hermes was a great experience. Room very comfortable and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable and covnvenient.

Posted Apr 17, 2016
A comfortable clean hotel with good breakfast, well located for Plaka and business district. Service fine. A bit noisy with bars and restaurants below the room I had, until late.
5 out of 5
by Endre

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels