Ratings based on 592 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Perfect Location

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Its central location and the facilities.
Location: The Hermes is in the Plaka area and so there is easy access to the main sights. There are plenty of restaurants in the area.
We stayed two nights at the Hermes on our way back to the UK. Our choice was based on its location rather than anything else but we soon discovered that the hotel was an excellent base for exploring central Athens. We soon regretted that we had not arranged a longer stay. The hotel is located in the Plaka district with easy access by foot to the Acropolis and the Agora etc. Being in the Plaka there are plenty of restaurants nearby. There is a roof terrace with nice views but guests are allowed to use the roof terrace of the Hotel Plaka (a couple of minutes away) which has a breath-taking panoramic view of the whole of Athens. Our room (408) was adequate in size for a stay of a few days. There was plenty of space for our clothes and other stuff. There was also a usable balcony but the view was mainly of other buildings' balconies. The bathroom was a good size with plenty of shelf space and good lighting. The buffet breakfast was excellent. There was a good selection of hot and cold things to choose from. All the staff that we came across, at the front desk and elsewhere, were friendly and helpful. Our visit to Athens was forced on us because of our flight arrangements but our stay at the Hermes made it a real pleasure. The next time we have to go to Athens because of flight requirements we will arrange it so that we can enjoy a longer stay at the Hermes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia.

Excellent location.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Location: Near major tourist attractions.
We stayed for 2 nights. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast, which was included, was excellent, even having it available early for those needing it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Close to Everything

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Really, I like everything, but the location is excellent. It is close to Syntagma and Plaka, with many restaurant options.
Cons: I really can't think of anything. For the size and price point, this hotel is terrific.
Location: This is a close walk to all attractions. It is under five minutes to Syntagma and the Roman Forum. Under ten minutes to Agora and Temple of Zeus.
I have stayed here several times and I really like this hotel. Rooms are clean with all necessary comforts: good WIFI, excellent climate control, in-room refrigerator, etc.The staff is very helpful, and concerned that guests are satisfied with the stay. After traveling in Europe for a week, it was a nice perk that the hotel provides inexpensive and very fast laundry service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location, very comfortable hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Central location, walking distance to all major attraction in Plaka. Clean room and firm bed.
Location: Acropolis and shopping streets.
We arrived early, we were checked into room within 1 hour, earlier than allowed time. Buffet breakfast time scheduled to start at 7:00 am. Due to jet lag, we woke up very early. We were invited to take breakfast at 5:30 am, while staff were preparing for food. We appreciate they brought out whatever was ready. Room was big, clean and quiet. Bed was firm and nice. We managed to sleep very well. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good for the price

Posted May 14, 2017
Stayed one night in May. Comfortable bed, clean hot shower, great range of breakfast options including fresh fruit and staff exceptionally helpful. Close to the centre of Athens but down a less nice side street - as you would expect for the price. Would definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northfield, IL

Charming Athens Hotel on Edge of Plaka

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: I have no recommendations
Location: Please see above. I'm still on my trip and can't write more
Hermes Hotel has it all: excellent staff, clean and bright facilities, comfortable beds, excellent breakfasts. A great choice for all you want to do in central Athens. We never took a cab except to and from the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Great experience. Highly recommended. I will get back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Plaka area.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Great front desk staff, very helpful about the area and what to do in Athens Hotel is very tidy, and some rooms have small balconies to stand out on.
Location: In the centre of the Plaka area, so walking around is easy.
Enjoyed our stay very much. Although rooms are small, they are tidy. Breakfast buffet is very good, should keep most folks happy until lunch.
4 out of 5
by David

wavey davey

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Delighted with the Hermes. It really matched up to the images on the internet and the staff were all exceptional.
3 out of 5
by MoJo from Athen

nice and easy

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
nice small hotel. good for sole short staying