Ratings based on 664 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Booked us into room that someone was already in. Other than that, room is average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Ideal location for visiting the ancient sites

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Fantastic hotel with lovely helpful staff. The jacuzzis on the roof with a view of the Acropolis are the ideal place to relax after a day of exploring Athens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Extremely helpful staff; great advice on touring.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Great touring advice; polite staff. Renovations were a bit noisy during the day, but that's temporary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2017
I really liked the hotel and it's location. I would recommend it. Lovely room and the price was right. A good place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart, Germany

Best Value in Athens

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Location, Location, Location Super attentive staff, comfortable lobby
Cons: Soundproof individual rooms
Location: Great location 5 minute walk to the Acropolis
Super location, outstanding value, superb staff Great staff that takes care of and values the customer service. Special mention to the two young ladies at the bar. Restaurant was first class, the evening menu was varied and the food exceptional the pork dish was excellent. The bedroom were very comfortable, we heard absolutely no street noise despite being facing onto a busy road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Comfortable Hotel with Excellent Staff

Posted Jan 1, 2017
We have stayed at the Herodion before and decided it would make an ideal venue for an Athens Winter break between Christmas and the New Year. The Herodion is conveniently located just minutes from the Acropolis Museum (a must-see), more of the ancient monuments, the Acropolis Metro line station (an all- day all-transport ticket is just €4.50 at the time of writing), Plaka with its numerous lanes to wander around and a good selection of restaurants within easy distance. Also, for those planning a longer visit there is a handy little shop to get milk, teabags etc. just two minutes from the Hotel on Kariatidon Street (up the hill, turn left onto Kariatidon, down the hill and it’s on the corner) Other reasons we decided upon the Herodion was the excellent breakfasts (home-made loukoumades and cakes) and the friendly staff – oh, and the roof garden where there is a cracking view of the Acropolis. The rooms appear to have been done up since we last visited and we had selected one with a balcony, a King size bed and an Acropolis view which looks down onto the dining room (more of that later) and also onto a school at the back (always a source of entertainment). The beds are certainly king size and are very comfortable. There was plenty of storage which is good because there is a trend for hotels to go minimalist and reduce the amount of storage space (I guess because most people tend to stay at similar hotels in Athens and other cities for only a day or two). The bathroom space ha
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Exactly what we wanted

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The hotel has the perfect location for seeing the sights of Athens. You can see the beautifully lit Acropolis from the rooms, from the hot-tub, or the rooftop bar. We visited in the winter, so the bar was closed, but as a plus it was deserted and we had an entire hottub area to ourselves. The rooms are not very big, but still very comfortable and clean. The first room we were in had a door to the next room, and unfortunately the neighbors were very loud (the rooms aren't very soundproof unfortunately). But the staff was excellent finding us an alternative room that was perfect. Breakfast has convenient hours (longer even on weekends), and it was yummy (good mix of local and international taste). Overall we can only recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything, great front desk staff

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The Herodian was super close to all the sights, and had a great front desk that was very helpful.
Cons: Room was smaller than I expected, and you need to get a card for the Jacuzzi's on roof - but they have a great view of Acropolis
Smaller rooms than I expected, but when in Athens you aren't spending much time in your hotel room. The sights were very easy to walk to, the new museum was super close, and just two streets away was a great street with a whole bunch of restaurants. Perfect location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlottetown pei canada

Herodion - very good hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Saff very friendly and helpful,great breakfast,great location,great view
Cons: small elevators
Location: Close to Athens best
Everthing as described-loved view of acropolis,enjoyed outside jacuzzi on top floor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel Walking distance to all !

Posted Nov 21, 2016
This hotel is absolutely what one would need when in Athens . The staff are friendly and very accommodating ..we were only there for two nights after a week in Crete . Our day was full on the second day , Parthenon on top of the list . Unfortunately the heavens opened when we were up the top and needless to say we were soaked to our eyeballs . The staff were so kind to dry our clothes , shoes etc.. without a charge ! Our suite is on the 3rd floor and has a beautiful view of the Parthenon .it was superb! We walked everywhere and with good food and friendly people we had a great time , and we would like to go back to Greece and most likely to stay At the Herodion.