Ratings based on 621 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Breakfast Hostess

Posted Apr 30, 2016
I travel extensively and in 50 years I've never had a better hostess greet me for the start of my day as well as her. Peppy sincere,and good at her job. If all my employees were like her.......my main reason for coming back. Rest of employees were helpful too, good location, beds, clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for your kind review of Holiday Inn Athens-University Area! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and received exceptional service. Our team members work very hard to exceed the expectations of our guests. We hope you have you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Sam

Average stay

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
nothing special
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by AmberK, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, I apologize that we failed to exceed your expectations during your recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback to us so that we can improve the service that we offer to future guests. We welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest again. Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved being a five minute walk from downtown and T

Posted Apr 24, 2016
the Georgia Theater only a five minute walk away! Loved loved loved the location
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Dear Dana, I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of our awesome location in downtown Athens! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area and hope to have you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from knoxville, tn

Affordable stay - great location

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Great location. Decent facilities. Tv didn't work, but a quick call and it was fixed within five minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Dear matt, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our amazing downtown location. We hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Overnight stay at reasonable rate

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Quick check-in and location was good.
Cons: Breakfast included would have been nice. We thought it was but were told at check-in that it was not.
Location: University of Georgia...double barrel canon.
Hotel was clean and great for an overnight stay. Close to the University of Georgia and the old historic areas of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Dear Trisha, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast. The Holiday Inn is a full service hotel, so breakfast is not complimentary, but we do offer a very reasonably priced breakfast buffet and kids eat free! We apologize that this was not clear at the time of booking. Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Location: UGA and downtown
The staff there are very friendly and helpful. My friends and I enjoy the stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Dear Yanpeng, Thank you for your positive review of Holiday Inn Athens-University Area! I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay with us and were able to take advantage of our amazing downtown location and proximity to the University of Georgia! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Nice room. Clean. And very convenient to all things Athens. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area! I am delighted that you were able to take advantage of our awesome downtown location and hope to have you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
by David from Saratoga, CA

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
A nice hotel that is perfect when visiting the University of Georgia. Location is nestled right between the university and the town of Athens. The people there were all very nice and the room was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by AmberK, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for your positive review of your stay at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area! I am so happy to hear that our team members were kind and accommodating and that you enjoyed your clean room. We hope to have you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unpleasant College Town Stay

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
According to the hotel, rooms booked through their website have first priority over on-line bookings. Therefore, since the hotel was full, and even though I booked months ahead, we were relegated to a Queen handicapped room on the first floor adjacent to an outside entry with the window looking out over a parking lot. It was noisy all day and all night. Caveat: it is a college town. We complained the first night, we complained the next morning....they "sympathized" with our displeasure and offered free breakfast (which we did not accept).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by AmberK, Hotel Management
I apologize that we were not able to meet your request for a specific room type. Unfortunately, your room was booked as a standard room and was not guaranteed as a specific room type. We always do our best to accommodate room requests but were not able to do so for you since our hotel was completely full. I apologize if this was not communicated clearly at the time of booking. Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager