Ratings based on 688 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newnan,GA

Close to UGA

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location~~staff.
Cons: A whole make over inside!
Location: Within walking distance to downtown and UGA. Pretty quiet after the ambulance went by
The bed in my room needs to be replace. SOON. The A/C unit needs to be repaired/replaced. SOON. Staff was GREAT. Curtains need cleaning and a better closure. Windows really need to have a heat resistant coating/film or something from morning sun heating. I do appreciate the staff's offer for the discomfort and A/C problem. Thanks As for another stay? Only if the room is better situated and a little updated. I think updating would solve a the problems. I do enjoy the HI's.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Duncan S, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad to see that you were pleased with our location, and with our team members in the hotel. I do want to note your observations about the room, and we do really appreciate the feedback. We'll be sure to pass along the info to the appropriate people, and we hope you decide to stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend Getaway

Posted May 17, 2017
My husband and I stayed during a weekend getaway and had a positive experience. Hotel is laid out a bit funky, but service was friendly and prompt, room was clean and comfortable, and the location is super close to the downtown area. We'd definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Duncan S, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of the Holiday Inn of Athens! I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite a little confusion with the layout. We certainly hope you decide to stay with us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Great location for downtown Athens

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: My only issue was the bathtub. The tub was very slick, and when the water hit the tub, it was dangerously slippery. I don't know if it was the cleaner
Location: Downtown Athens - a vibrant area is across the street. The hotel is next to the University of Georgia campus.
The location is great... the room was what one would expect, pleasant and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Duncan S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback on the Holiday Inn of Athens! I'm very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, with our location being a particular highlight. Thank you for letting us know about the situation with your tub, I'll ask our housekeeping if there's anything to be done about that and we'll see what we can do in the future. We hope to see you here again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Dawn

Clean, Comfy Down Town Location Hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
First time in Athens...so very fun! After spending 2 days, we have decided that we will definitely be back! Loved the area, food, and great live music!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Sub-average hotel with great location

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Even by Holiday Inn standards, this place is old and dated. The rooms smell musty. The bathroom design is really disgusting.....the spare towels are stored below toilet level less than 12" from the toilet.....thus fully accessible to any bacterial spray. Even though the location is great for access to UGA and surrounding restaurants, I'd look elsewhere for lodging.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Duncan S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel! I do see that you have several pieces of advice for us to improve on, specifically I have never heard that note about the bathroom design, and you have a good point and I'll be sure to pass on that info to our housekeeping to see if there isn't somewhere better we can store them. Your feedback is greatly appreciate, and we hope you visit us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens, GA

Great getaway for a couple.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: The service and the soft bed!
Cons: Nothing. It was perfect!
Location: Go downtown and drink!
Our time at the holiday inn was a great one. We decided to stay at the hotel just to get away for a night. The staff was so friendly and the room service was amazing. This hotel is definitely worth your money.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Duncan S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of the Holiday Inn of Athens! I'm so very glad to see that you and your guest were able to enjoy our location, and that downtown Athens, Georgia ended up being a great spot for you. We hope that you find your way back here very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017
If you want me to spend more time on this review I will delete the whole thing and not respond.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Duncan S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn of Athens! We hope to see you here again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mostly good.

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was a breeze. Overall, the hotel is good. My bed, however, is past retirement age. It needs replacing.
1 out of 5
by Muhammad

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Room was not ready, missing iron, missing trash can, broken smoke detector, overall not comfortable and clean exper