Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Very enjoyable stay. Clean room and comfortable. Staff was very friendly. Need a free breakfast though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Dear Toad, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Athens! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly team members. As a full service Holiday Inn, we do not offer a complimentary breakfast. However, we have a full service restaurant on property, the Redfearn Grille, that serves a delicious, cooked to order breakfast. We hope you will choose to stay with us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice

Posted Nov 18, 2016
The stay was nice. Perfect location for downtown Athens. Clean and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2016 by Amber K, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our awesome downtown location, our clean rooms, and our friendly team members. We hope to have you as our guest again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Great location and great experience! Would definitely recommend to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Athens! I am delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and hope to have you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rome, GA

Great location

Posted Sep 27, 2016
This hotel has been updated since the last time I visited. We had a pleasing stay, and I enjoyed being right on Broad Street across from campus and a block from The Arch. CVS stays open late and is mere steps away in case you forget something, and all the cool local eateries are within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Dear S, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Athens! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our downtown location. We hope to have you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice hotel close to downtown and UGA

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Reasonable rates, great location, excellent service and very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Dear Anne, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Athens! I am glad that you enjoyed our awesome downtown location, our amazing service, and our clean rooms. We hope to have you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Columbus, GA

The receptionist was nice

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Close to the University of Georgia
Location: Your in the middle of downtown Athens, with a CVS across the street and the University of Georgia next to it.
Went there to stay during my freshman orientation. The receptionist was a student from UGA and he was very nice with service and even answered a few questions about UGA. One late night I wanted to eat ice cream but realized I had no spoon. I went downstairs and found the restaurant where they promptly gave me a spoon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2016 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Dear Freshie Nation, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our awesome downtown location. Our hotel is perfect for those visiting the University and downtown activities. We hope to have you as our guest again in the future! SIncerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Breakfast Hostess

Posted Apr 30, 2016
I travel extensively and in 50 years I've never had a better hostess greet me for the start of my day as well as her. Peppy sincere,and good at her job. If all my employees were like her.......my main reason for coming back. Rest of employees were helpful too, good location, beds, clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for your kind review of Holiday Inn Athens-University Area! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and received exceptional service. Our team members work very hard to exceed the expectations of our guests. We hope you have you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved being a five minute walk from downtown and T

Posted Apr 24, 2016
the Georgia Theater only a five minute walk away! Loved loved loved the location
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Dear Dana, I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of our awesome location in downtown Athens! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area and hope to have you as our guest again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from knoxville, tn

Affordable stay - great location

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Great location. Decent facilities. Tv didn't work, but a quick call and it was fixed within five minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Dear matt, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our amazing downtown location. We hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Overnight stay at reasonable rate

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Quick check-in and location was good.
Cons: Breakfast included would have been nice. We thought it was but were told at check-in that it was not.
Location: University of Georgia...double barrel canon.
Hotel was clean and great for an overnight stay. Close to the University of Georgia and the old historic areas of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Amber K, Hotel Management
Dear Trisha, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast. The Holiday Inn is a full service hotel, so breakfast is not complimentary, but we do offer a very reasonably priced breakfast buffet and kids eat free! We apologize that this was not clear at the time of booking. Sincerely, Amber K Guest Services Manager