Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, walking distance to Applebees

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Location: Walking distance to Applebees, and very short drive to other shopping
The room was ok. I was disappointed that the bathroom did not have an exhaust fan and thus there was mold growing on the ceiling and walls.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't stay thee on a football game day!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Once we got into the roomful everything was okay.
Cons: Better organization on game days.
We arrived around 3:00[m to check in to our room. The front desk person was very nice and helpful, however, he said that the Ohio University football team had checked out a 2:00 and all of the rooms with two queen beds were still being cleaned. We waited two hours to get into our room. Totally unacceptable. The team should have left much earlier. I hope OU kicked in its of over-time pay for the staff. The rooms were still being clean when we left for dinner. they were a very hard working crew.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc.

Nicest hotel in Athens

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Staff is friendly. Hotel is clean. Beds and pillows are very comfortable. Plus u get breakfast included with ur stay. Can't be better than that.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens, Ohio

Room was damp! Needed a dehumidifier sheets damp.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Close to Ohio University and several restaurants
I like the location but will try another hotel in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kicked out

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: I had to rate the facilities, room cleanliness, and room comfort to proceed with my review. I am basing those values off of previous stays at hotels
Cons: Customer curtesy. If the hotel is over booked, notify the customer prior to arrival. Move to a comparable location if needed.
We booked our hotel through Expedia the day prior to our trip. We booked a Holiday Inn Express and paid good money to stay at this location. Upon arrival, we attempted to check in as normal, but were told that the hotel was over booked. The only explanation that we were told was that Expedia had over booked them and we should have not been able to reserve a room. We were then relocated, mind you this is 11 o clock at night after traveling 5+ hours, to another location down the road. The hotel we were moved to was no where near comparable to what we had booked. The hotel was 1 star at best. Smelt like alcohol, staff was impolite, utilities in room did not work, and had very loud guest staying. This is not the service/quality I expect when I am traveling with my wife and 2 year old daughter. I was appalled that we were not able to stay at our original hotel! The only explanation I can think of is that the hotel staff had to pick who had to leave due to over booking and they picked us because we utilized a third party dealer (Expedia) and therefore paid less than the other guest. We were not notified until arrival that the hotel had been overbooked. Had we been made aware of this error prior to arrival, we would have made other arrangements. This is not the service I was expecting from Expedia and Holiday Inn Express.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Nice modern and clean hotel. Unfortunately the bed gave both my husband and me backaches and the fire alarm went off both days at 6 am.
5 out of 5
by Chris

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
Older hotel than the previous one stayed at but overall nice. Stayed at three different Holiday Inn Express during our trip. Two of which where older than the first. Just showing normal wear and tear but overall would recommend.
5 out of 5
by Cheryl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Leaky sink....................................