Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old roadside motel

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Less expensive than others that are relatively near campus.
Very close to busy highway so bring your earplugs. Should be remodeled - bathroom has no vent fan, the mini-fridge is placed right by the bathroom door.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, low-priced travel housing

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Exceptionally clean
Clean, safe, basic travel housing. Excellent travel hosts.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Disappointed in Managment/ No Breakfast

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We originally chose this room for its reasonable price and prevailing review of "dated but clean". This description proved to be very accurate as it was spotless and with full amenities, though very few facilities had been updated. The problem with our stay began the minute we arrived with our room confirmation being missing. The fault was clearly on the Expedia site and not with her hotel. While neither my friend nor I were upset about this AT ALL the woman at the desk was very distressed. After the situation was resolved with a short call to Expedia, the woman chose to lecture us about how we should never use third party websites because they are all horrible. We found this a lititle ironic considering we never would have found this hole in the wall motel without one. On a separate note we were also disappointed to learn that the "continental breakfast" promised was a single, small packaged muffin. Not a bad hotel, but not as much as promised.
3 out of 5
by Lori from Strongsville

extra charge for 2nd bed??

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
I was charged $20 extra when I arrived to get 2 beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northeast Ohio

Great hotel for a quick overnight stay

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: The reasonable price and its cleanliness.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hotel is situated on the southern edge of town away from the commercial district and the University but is convenient for access to Ohio river area
The Hometown Inn is a great place if all you need is a clean room to sleep overnight at a very reasonable price in the Athens, Ohio area. Room rate is $50 less expensive than all other hotels I looked at online. The front desk staff is very nice and check in/check out is very fast and uncomplicated. My room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom very clean with a great shower and lots of hot water. Nice in room television with good cable plan. In room wifi, small refrigerator, and coffee maker were added pluses. Hotel is somewhat dated with no pool, exercise room, etc needed for a family vacation; but if all you need is a nice clean room to sleep in, the Hometown Inn is the place..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was friendly and helpful. Dated, but clean and comfortable. Muffins and coffee in the morning. Although right on the highway, not bothered by noise. Great value, would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Fairly cheap, but clean and not gross.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Quick check-in and check-out, clean, quiet. I also thought the vintage sink in my room was cool.
Cons: A slightly larger mini-fridge in rooms would be good, and more pillows on the bed.
Location: It's convenient to routes 33 and 50-32. About a half-mile or so away from Richland Ave, which has some restaurants, and about 2 miles away from OU.
It's in an odd place compared to the rest of the hotels in Athens, which tend to be clumped together on either end of town. But it's convenient to highway exits if you're just staying overnight and looking to leave town first thing. It's an older hotel, but it's clean and relatively quiet - the white noise from the A/C covered most of the noisy trucks on the highway. The non-smoking and smoking sections of the hotel seem to be separated, so I had no issues with cigarette smells. Check-in and check-out was quick and painless.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great budget motel in Athens, Ohio

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Nice, clean, friendly budget hotel.