Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northwest Ohio

Trying to find the positive

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: The television.
Cons: So much... see above.
The positive in my hotel experience was the updated television in the room. I have never had to pay extra for people staying in the room, we had to pay $10 per person. Then the owner told me she did that because her rates were so cheap, which they are not. She actually argued with me, trying to tell me I haven't stayed in a hotel for less... when in fact I have and I received a free breakfast when I did. Here they offered small muffins and coffee. The room had a bad scent, musty. The windows were eaily opened from the outside. I did not feel safe. The only reason I stayed is because the money was already taken out of my account when I booked the room. I didn't want to have to fight for a refund. The bathroom is very dated. The air conditioner unit is too loud, I had to sleep with ear plugs. And the refrigerator is very small, couldn't even fit my left over container in it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Ohio University

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Location: Close to Athens & Oho University
The manager was very polite & friendly. Room was clean & recently upgraded although dated & & without a lot of amenities. Perfect place to stay if you do not wish to spend a lot of money on a room. Bed was comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place

Posted Jun 11, 2015
room was clean and staff was very nice. if your expecting the ritz this isnt for you but if you want a clean affordable room this is your ticket
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2015
I did not previously print out the directions to Hometown Inn Athens. When I called for directions, the innkeeper provided clear and easy directions. I was there within minutes. When I arrived, she immediately recognized I was the one who had called and asked whether her directions were helpful. I assured her that the directions were excellent. This was followed with a short but pleasant conversation. Overall, very friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Much better than anticipated

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Price ,beds, and cleanliness.
Cons: Maybe a newer carpet,but hey,construction workers stay there a lot and you know....
Location: Beautiful Ohio University. Hocking State Park is a hop,skip, and a jump and it's got some scenic attractions and nice hikes.
The owner are people from India and they took pride in their motel. We slept on Amtrak,The two room Wright Patterson Inn and a 125 dollar a night cabin and we both agreed that the most comfortable beds were in this hotel. The room and bathroom (escepially) were spotless. We were pleasantly surprizsed. Another thing. The owners told is the price was right compared with all the other accomadations in Athens. If we go again for an Alumnae visit we'll stay there. Sincerely Eric and Joyce MacFarland
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2015
Room was clean, management very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as shown or described on website!

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Very disappointed! In fact, decided not to stay at this hotel at all. When we pulled up to the hotel, my first thought was "oh no! We asked to see the room before checking in and it was unacceptable! My wife and I agreed that we were not staying here tonight!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OH

Convenient location

Posted Nov 3, 2014
It wasn't a bad stay per say for the price but I wouldn't go back unless I had to.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ohio 43964

Very run-down facility.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING THE PLACE SHOULD BE BULLDOZED DOWN.
Location: UNDESIREABLE; NOTHING IS NEAR BY.
I did not stay there. I drove into the parking lot, if you could call it that. The surrounding area was unsightly, no landscaping, run-down outside. The staff was not able to communicate, using proper ENGLISH. This facility should not be advertised as AAA approved; that is what the sign reads. I should have been given my money back. I donated $85 plus dollars to a place that should not even be open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Visiting OU for the day, basic stay, perfect

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Extremely convenient to OU, inexpensive
Cons: Maybe better seals on entryway door? That's got to be hard to keep the rooms climate controlled
Location: OU is right down the highway (5 minutes away)
We were visting Ohio University for the day so just needed the basic amenities, clean room to sleep in. This hotel delivered that in full. The front desk was friendly and efficient at checking us in. The sheets and towels were clean, as was the rest of the room. The A/C kept the room cold even though it was steaming outside, and our showers in the morning were warm. The free wifi worked flawlessly too. Just as I needed, clean, basic place to sleep after a long and overwhelming day. At first I thought the A/C was loud, but it functioned as a white noise generator masking the nearby highway noise. No complaints at all, lots of compliments to the staff. You exceeded my expectations for the price.