Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but not good facility & management

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Water dropping from the ceiling, bad room cleaning.....not so good to recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hope that whoever runs this hotel read this

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Very close the the subway station.
Cons: They need to change all their mattresses, very old and uncomfortable. They need to clean the rooms on the daily bases.
Location: Subway and a good number of restaurants to eat or to have breakfast. If you like walking, points of interest are at walking distance, 20 min.
The sheets in our room had stains, one with a blood stain. We asked to have them changed, staff does not smile very much which I don't care as long as they do what you request. When we returned late at night nothing had happened. Next day we asked again and nothing again. We asked one more time and It was until then they changed sheets with ones with fewer stains but not acceptable either. Every day we had to ask for towels since they only left two towels in the bathroom. By the way the towels were old. The rooms are clean when you get there, but they never clean them again. I was there for 6 nights and no cleaning. It is a shame because the building is a nice building and they do keep the reception and surroundings clean. They could improve their quality so easily but it seems they are happy with a mediocre hotel. They did not show any interest to make you feel comfortable or happy. I know it is a cheap hotel but they could make it better with very little. As you can see, the requests we had could have been easily solved but it seems is not part of their practices to listen to their customers. I would not stay there again or recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northampton, England

Really good location.

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere and friendly family run hotel
Cons: Rooms are not quite as updated as downstairs so maybe a little refresh of these but this is still not an essential thing that's needed.
Location: Brilliant location to access the metro but also walking distance to the Acropolis and the onto Plaka, a wonderful touristy place to eat and shop.
Lovely hotel, not a five star, full of mod cons hotel however we really enjoyed our stay. We used it as a base to view the wonderful sites of Athens and were able to come and go, no time restrictions. Very helpful when asking for directions. Breakfast was a traditional Greek serving of boiled eggs, ham, cheese and bread. Staff were lovely, room was refreshed daily and upon departure our flight being late evening meant leaving our bags which they were more than happy for us to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Oct 8, 2015
the staff will respond to the customers. at first, i was put into a room with no hot water, fridge not working, and lots of insets. After one night, they helped me change room. Although the fridge is not working still, there are much less insects. The wifi changes password every 3 hours. The staff is very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Near metro and lical transport

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Hotel staff were nice but some features of hotel need fixing. Near local transport
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel, good value, friendly staff

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: good value, helpful staff, good location
Cons: We had a two-bedroom place with beds for the five of us. However, the bathroom was small for five people. More thorough cleaning, too.
Location: Everything in Athens is quite close.
Overall, it was a decent stay with no major problems. The room was not very clean when we arrived, but the staff took care of it. A lot of loud guests in the hallways at night led to interrupted sleep. Hotel staff helped us arrange transportation when needed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Russia

Don't stay here!

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: The only good thing is its location. It is just a couple of minutes away from the metro station.
Cons: Start respect your guests.
I booked three nights at Rio Athens and would like to warn you that it doesn't have the amenities described. Well it does have, but they are just out of order. The room had a TV, but it didn't show any channel (the staff said it's a common problem for the hotel). The fridge didn't freeze. I mean it! It had room temperature inside and, again, the staff just didn't do anything despite my request. To add to it, wifi stopped just before the threshold of my room so I had to go online in the lobby. By the way, the password is valid for only 3 hours then you need to login again with a different one (the give you several paper slips with the passwords at the reception) I tried to request the room change but, of course, my request was denied. 'This is what you paid for', they said. But I didn't pay for TV and the fridge that I couldn't use! So don't repeat my mistake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good Value Budget Hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Location, price, quiet. Staff friendly enough without being overbearing.
Cons: TV didn't work in my room. Not a problem as I didn't have time to watch it anyway.
For the price you pay this is not bad at all. Good location very close to the metro which will take you to all the major sights and centres very quickly. I didn't have any problems at all with the area. I have lived in London most of my life and this was pretty typical for inner city. If you are only used to the leafy suburbs I guess it might be a bit of a culture shock. Get over it! There are a some good restaurants within a very short walk (I particularly recommend Seychelles on Avdi Square - where there are also a couple of good low key bars).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Some of the staff was very nice, others were not. Bathroom was gross, moldy and broken shower heads in both of the rooms we rented.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Three stops from the Acropolyps

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Accommodating staff will allow luggage storage after check out and speak English well enough to assist you with getting around locally.