Ratings based on 500 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Good reasonably priced

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Room ok for business user. Only used for sleeping. First night coincided with spring break (sat). Load of young people same floor as me partied very load until early hours. Keep everyone awake. But rest of week ok. Breakfast simple but ok. Middle of week breakfast stuff ran out then following day got replenished. I only slept in room at night, out all day so ok. Outside corridor door wouldnt close so everyone left it open. Still not fixed. Generally clean. One towel stained so didnt use. Room worn but acceptable. Bed clean. Top sheet stained a little. Front desk and breakfast staff awsome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am so sorry our staff was unable to handle/address the issues you experienced on the level of noise from other guests. We will work hard to further improve our services to provide our guests consistent, comfortable accommodation to you on your next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Somewhere to sleep

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Our family used this Howard Johnson to stay in because my son made All State band. When we arrived, the front desk was pleasant. Our room had a toilet that was having problems flushing whenever you used it. My husband luckily knew how to get it flush. The smoke alarm was was hanging down by a wire. When you turned on the heat, it smelled like something burning and the alarm clock was broken. I was disappointed because we paid 100 p/nt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will send request to check on the condition of the guest room you and your family stayed in. I assure you that your review will be addressed accordingly. Again. I apologize for this oversight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the Athens Classic Center

Posted Mar 5, 2017
It was a great hotel near the classic center. The front office people were very nice and prompt when we asked to get our room changed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am glad that you were pleased with the services at front desk. Thank you for staying here a tour hotel, we will do our best to make your next visit another fine experience. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Go somewhere else!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Spend your hundred somewhere else. This place is worth $60 at best. First time I was disappointed with a Howard Johnson
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us was a disappointing experience. I wish we have more details about your concern so we can identify aspect that needs more attention so we can serve our guests better. We hope to see you again soon and serve you better. Kind regards.
3 out of 5
by Andrew

Don't let the ratings deter you from picking this

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was a perfect cheap hotel to use for visiting the surrounding UGA campus. You pay for what you get with this hotel but it doesn't matter if you're not in the room all day anyways.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scum

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
A crazy woman was banging on every door. She was talking very ugly. I called the front desk and the guy that answered said "I will call the cops." She was still yelling in the hallway. How did she get access to the upstairs? She was not a guest from what I heard of the altercation. The girl ended up screaming in the parking lot and I called the desk again. All the guy said was "what else do you want me to do." After the girl left, I still had a girl and a guy right at my room door yelling and screaming. The front desk did not care to help. I had to open my door and tell these people to shut their mouths. I will never stay at another Howard Johnson.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
A little run-down, not the cleanest, but convenient, helpful staff, comfortable, roomy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just a place to lay your head

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
If you are looking for a clean place to lay your head after a long drive, this hotels serves that purpose. No frills or luxury. Near a hospital, so sirens are a regular occurrence. Included breakfast is nothing to write home about, but may be sufficient if you are in a hurry.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Not worth the $$ for a Game Day Weekend!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Run down motel with tiny rooms. Sunday morning staff was rushing us out by 9:00 AM. No extra linens in rooms and bathrooms are smaller than small. NOWHERE near worth the price they charge for a UGA Game Day weekend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Judy Wilson, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you were not happy with your stay at our hotel. Hotels increase their rates during special events such as ballgames, etc. We hope you will give us a second chance to change your view of our hotel. Thank you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Clean Hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
The location was great. The room was nice. My only complaint was the price. It was very expensive due to the UGA football game that was held the same day as our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate our guests and are happy to know your stay was good. Please come stay with us again when in our area.