Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta GA

You get what you pay for

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Upon our arrival, the front desk woman was pleasant enough. After getting to our rooms, we notice that the hallway upstairs and in the rooms was blazing hot. I guess to save money, but this stay was booked long in advance, so it would have been nice to a cooler area than what we found. In the room was a very standard room, no issues with that. It seemed odd to not have an ironing board or iron in the room, we just went down to the office to get one. Also noticed there were 2 towels in our rooms, so we called to get more. We were told to again come downstairs and get them. We were given 1 more. Guess you should bring your own towels? Bed was ok, but it was made with only 2 pillows, a fitted sheet, a flat sheet and the comforter that is usually decorative as the blanket. The room was clean though, so we just used the sheet as a blanket all 4 nights we were there. Breakfast wasn't bad, just very basic. Waffles were the frozen generic kind wrapped in sandwich bags. Needless to say, I opted for the stale cereal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you expressing your feedback. Our hotel strives to provide all our guests with an exceptional stay experience. We understand how these events could have altered your visit however we appreciate your cooperation as our staff assisted with your requests. When notified, our front desk We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to present you with best customer service you deserve..
4 out of 5
by John

Just Right For The Price

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Hotels
Right for the price. Other places wanted 2X to 3X price.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Krunal Patel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your valuable time to review your recent stay with us. We are very glad to hear that you found our place right with affordable price.We hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
by William

I like this place

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
I like this place, smoking is convenient despite 'no smoking' rooms. Breakfast has a little to be desired, but the price is right.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Krunal Patel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to review your most recent stay with us. We are outdoor property so it is so convenient for our guests to use the outside corridor for smoking. Our guest find it a real time and money saver.Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back soon.
3 out of 5
by Debbe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
For the money and for what it is, it is okay. There are certainly worse places to stay in Athens at this price point.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed in a worse hotel in Athens, OH when all options have been taken during busy weekends (Parents Weekend, Football Games, Home Coming, etc), so I have to be appreciative of this. We arrived and the AC unit was not turned on, so the room was hot. Fortunately it was a window unit and it worked very well. The AC also created white noise so we did not hear anything outside our room. The room was basically clean. The breakfast was not good (frozen waffles, the weakest coffee ever, packaged oatmeal). The one good thing was the towels were nice and were normal bath towel size.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this place

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Being from out of town, we wanted to book a reasonably priced hotel for OU move in weekend. We are not familiar with Knights Inn but the price was right. What a mistake. We will not be back. First off, 3 out of 4 of us are allergic to feathers. When we were asked if we could switch our down pillows and comforter we were flatly told "NO." The first night, we used our rolled up clothes in a pillow case. The second night, we went to Wal-Mart and purchased our own pillows. The room just felt dirty. This was confirmed by the cobwebs in the bathroom. I don't think this place has been updated in 40 years. The atmosphere is a little scary  Being from out of town, I had also booked this hotel for Dad's weekend. Thank God I was able to cancel it and find something else. Yes, it will cost me more money but it is well worth it to not stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anytown, PA

Don't do it.

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Gut it.
Location: It's a beautiful area of Ohio.
Book another place. The clerk barely gave me a blanket so I wouldn't have to use the disgusting comforter. Do Air bnb instead if there are no reasonably priced motel in Athens. The AC didn't really work. The shower was a joke, not really hot water. The room was nasty but not the worst motel I've ever been in but really not worth spending this kind of $$.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We take very seriously Customer satisfaction for each customer and would never compromise under any circumstances.We appreciate your feedback and hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back as a valued guest in the future
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should have received Full Refund

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Late checkin, last room, bleach smell, 6 gnats, 1 fly. Housekeeping said "I'll take care of it" but then the ants appeared. I left. Only one-half refund received, should have been full.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We take very seriously Customer satisfaction for each customer and would never compromise under any circumstances.We are performing month pest control service. Due to this ant issue, we have performed service again.We appreciate your feedback and hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back as a valued guest in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cincinnati

Scary

Posted Aug 18, 2016
First impressions....the parking lot is not well lit and the entry/lobby looks like garage sale or thrift store decor. Yikes There were people sitting in plastic chairs outdide of the two rooms next to mine drinking beer and smoking...they stopped and stared at me when i was attempting to get in my room. This was slightly scary for a women traveling alone. Inside the room. The door had windows that were painted over and had peeling stickers, dirt stuck to old glue. Thankfully a new lock and chain! I looked around and contemplated sleeping in my car. The entire room was maple wood paneling with random drilled holes from things that were moved and not patched. The outlets were yellowed from age. There were holes in the bathroom door and a missing mirror on the door (complete with hanging clamps and dirt ring still on the door from where it hung). There was a missing tile and hole in the wall in the bathroom. The decor had mauve curtain (didnt cover the whole window area) and dirt on the window sill that i coukd have carved my name in. red and brass lights with one missing broken cord cover. Some kind of printed comforter and (new) green and blue modern geometric carpet that matched nothing. Yikes. I could go on....but i think everyone gets what a disaster it was. The good...crisp white sheets and no bugs...i looked!!! Hot water. Internet worked. I got in too late to move and had to be up by 6am to leave for an important meeting. Otherwise, i would have left. Scary place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please know whenever possible our front desk and management teams will do everything within their power to assign your room, according to your preference, availability permitting.We appreciate your feedback and hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back as a valued guest in the future.