Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great hotel, great location

Posted Aug 26, 2015
I was feeling a little homesick after being in Greece for two weeks. As soon as I checked in to the Metropolis Hotel, I felt better! The staff was so friendly and helpful and my room was so nice and comfortable. I had a view of the Acropolis from my balcony. You can't beat the location either, it a 2 minute walk to Syntagma Square and a 5 minute walk to Plaka and all of the shopping. You can catch the train at either place. If I ever come back to Athens, I am definitely staying here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Air conditioning, clean rooms, nice bathroom and showers, helpful staff
Cons: Better breakfast, add a mini fridge to each room
Location: Close to everything - buses, restaurants, dining, markets, shopping
The hotel staff is helpful and friendly. They can arrange cabs to/from airport at fixed fares. They also recommended great options for markets and dining. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We stayed twice - 4 nights at the beginning of our 3 week trip and one night before our flight home. Our room was spacious, great view of the Acropolis with an outdoor balcony. Air conditioning was perfect, shower and hot water were great. The only thing missing would be a mini-fridge for the room to keep some cold drinks in. We had the breakfast at the hotel one time - it was just okay. But there are many cafes very close by for meals and a very inexpensive mini market right behind the hotel. Overall, a great experience there and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location, close to shops, metro, buses, food

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness and location
The check-in was quick. Our room was on the 5th floor with a very nice patio and great view of the Acropolis. Very clean room and housekeeping was very thorough. Safe neighborhood within walking distance of the metro, bus stops, shops and tavernas. The Wifi signal was good. The owner and manager were helpful, although lacked some genuineness that we found in other areas of the islands, but maybe that was some of the big city influence. We stayed 4 nights and had a very nice stay. The breakfasts in the town are much better than the hotel breakfast. We tried the hotel breakfast one morning and it was good, but not great. Overall, very happy with the hotel for our stay and sightseeing accessibility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hôtel accueillant et très bien placé

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Un très bon accueil, un personnel très aimable et à l'écoute. Très bien placé pour visiter la Plaka. Une superbe vue sur l'Acropole depuis le toit-ter
Cons: La literie (moyenne) et la puissance de la clim.
Location: La Plaka, la place Syndagma & le Parlement, l'Acropole, le quartier de Kolonaki pour y boire un verre (si vous souhaitez être entourés de grecs).
Un très bon accueil, un personnel très aimable et à l'écoute. Très bien placé pour visiter la Plaka. Une superbe vue sur l'Acropole depuis le toit-terrasse où l'on prend le petit-déjeuner. Demander une chambre au calme.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great value in a great location!

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: We liked the location and the view from our balcony.
Location: The location is great- steps to shopping, restaurants and the Acropolis!
The staff were very accommodating, the location is great, the room was small but clean and we had a fantastic balcony that looked at the Acropolis!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel great location

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Hotel is very close to the Acropolis, shopping and plenty of restaurants. Staff were welcoming and very helpful. Rooms were clean with a great view
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

They SWAPPED my booking for a cheaper hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2015
I had booked and paid for my booking with Metropolis Hotel. Three days later they called and said since they were overbooked, they 'offered' to transfer me to their partner hotel - Hotel Carolina. They assured me that it was a similar hotel. Since I was in the middle of my trip, I accepted the change. Metropolis Hotel has a tripadvisor rating of 34 out of 326 hotels in Athens, whereas Hotel Carolina is rated 157 out of 326. How these two can be the same, beats me. In hindsight, I should have checked out the hotel first before confirming, but when you're in the middle of your trip, with your family, and arriving in the city in a day, you just want to ensure that you have a room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 21, 2015
See the Acropolis from rooftop Breakfast was good and the staff was very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Great location and very helpful staff. Clean room with an Acropolis balcony view. Reasonable price considering the location. We did not try the breakfast, however it was optional at 8 Euros / day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by YU SHENG

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels