Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Athens

Shelter from Gang pressing charges on the people.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Accessible to downtown, campus and mall.
Cons: Survey of anonymous customers for response to hidden messengers as Outside operates that contract with 3rd parties for commissioned income.
Location: Walmart, University of Georgia, ...
Staff accommodated my need for a locked door and rest, but unable to handle the electronic stimulus. 3rd parties sent to contact as agents or informants of the Hostess with the mostess; aka The Best in the business.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The lobby and common areas smelled smokie.The hotel was was 20 years old and has nenes been updated. My fault because the price was cheap.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta

What a dump!

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly and helpful
Cons: Everything else
We reserved via Expedia and were booked into a smoking room. Both times I have used Expedia, this has happened to me. Not the hotel's fault. The guy at the desk said that all Expedia reservations at this hotel default to smoking. So I checked into a smoking room that smelled like cigarettes masked with rotting flowers. Luckily somebody cancelled and the staff kindly moved us into a non- smoking room. It wasn't much better. It had clearly been a smoking room in the past. As far a source the rooms go, don't believe the pictures. The decor looks like the pictures, but I think the photos were taken 20 years ago. This place is in bad shape. Chipped and peeling paint. Disgusting sinks and drains. There were no other rooms in Athens so we had to stay here. But wenn checked out the next morning and stayed the next night 30 miles away and commuted. It was well with it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dahlonega Ga

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Hotel still doing renovations but overall the hotel was clean and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

Worn out!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The staff was pleasant and helpful
Cons: Complete top to bottom renovation. Painting the main entry doors that took place while I was there is not an improvement.
Location: It is in a good location near shopping and dining.
This hotel is worn out and in desperate need of a top to bottom renovation. Initial impression from the parking lot was not favorable as the roof looks in poor shape with visible blue tarp sections in some places. Carpet is so old in the hallways that there are holes worn in it. Also has the strong smell of smoke in the common areas. The room was only a little better. Carpet was not as worn but all fixtures are very dated in the room and bathroom. Power for the fridge and microwave outlet was tied into the main light switch so if you turned it off they lost power as well. My initial impression was that the linen on the pillows was not clean. In fact the linen was clean but the pillows underneath were so stained that it showed through the pillow case.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

Adequate

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Hard bed. Hard pillows No elevator. Cxxxxddddddddddddrrddffffff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not So Modern But Clean & Sufficient

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
The staff (Crystal, Brandon)with whom I dealt were excellent. They possessed all the qualities of good customer service; courteous, helpful, knowledgeable, professional,etc.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Room was very bad smell of mildew. The refrigerator did not work. My food went bad. Shower head was falling out of the wall. Water pressure was horrible. Sink in bathroom would not drain
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worn carpet, upholstery, furnishings

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Plenty of coffee at continental breakfast. It was quiet at night.
Cons: Regular maintenance and repairs. Do away with smoking rooms or put them far, far away from nonsmoking rooms.
Staff - front desk and housekeeping - was friendly, but building was in poor repair. The telephone didn't work in my room, and it was at least 4 hours before maintenance brought a working phone, and even though the replacement phone worked, several buttons were broken, and it appeared to have seen better days. Worn carpet, stained upholstery. One of the lamps in the room worked only with encouragement; the switch and other hardware were bent. The sheets and towels appeared clean and in good repair, but the overall impression was not one of cleanliness because of the stains and wear. Strong odor of cigarette smoke in the hallway; my nonsmoking room was very close to rooms where smoking was allowed. Wi-Fi was adequate much of the time but slowed to a crawl in the evenings, presumably with the heaviest use. The breakfast offerings looked pretty good, and there was plenty of good coffee, so that was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Facility was horrendous

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Place is very worn down on the interior. Roaches on the counters and in the bathroom. Also switched rooms because our previous room had bed bugs