Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Excellent location close to main historic Athens

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Location: Go to the Parthenon. Monastiraki Square Acropolis Museum Close to many cafes and restaurants Thissio metro station
This cozy hotel is conveniently located by a promenade that surrounds the main historic buildings of Athens. You can go walking to the Parthenon, to Monastiraki, a little further walking to the Acropolis Museum. The personnel is very kind and helpful. If you have a breakfast included it is very complete, you can even order eggs made the way you like. The rooms are not luxurious but very comfy, the AC works fine. They have a cafeteria in front of the hotel where we spend the evenings watching people go by and enjoy some food or drink from their menu. If you reserve in advance ask for a room with a balcony to the promenade in that way instead of being in the cafeteria you could be in your balcony with the privacy of your own room handy. I would willingly go back to this hotel with my family again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spring Creek, Nevada

Nice location but they moved us.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Got to the property late and was told they were full. They moved us to another property in a less desirable part of town. Not too happy!
5 out of 5
by Shaun

Great small hotel in nice area

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
We were a little nervous staying at this hotel for three nights after reading the reviews, but we needn't have worried, because it way exceeded our expectations. It is in a really quiet and upmarket part of central Athens, only a couple of minutes walk from Monastiraki. We asked for a room with a double bed, and thats what we got. The room was at the back of the hotel, and was large by comparison with most places. The hotel has obviously been refurbished recently. Our room was well equipped, well furnished, and spotlessly clean. We had a small balcony, which could have done with a table and chairs. Breakfast was good, with scrambled and boiled eggs, cold meats and cheese, salads, fruit, cereals and all sorts of pastries as well as bread for toast. Tea, coffee and hot water were on tap. All in all a great stay, we will definitely come again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from invermere, bc

Close to the metro and Acropolis

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Really enjoyed our short stop at this hotel. Clean, great location, friendly and an early breakfast made our overnight in Athens very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good location, very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: The staff were very helpful.
Location: The Parthenon, the ancient agora the Roman agora Hadrian's library are all nearby
We spent a week in Athens and the environs and we found this hotel to be well situated and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Gergana, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comment! We hope to see you again next time if you decide to visit Athens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel close to Acropolis

Posted Nov 21, 2016
All staff we met were friendly, helpful and spoke good English. Rooms were clean. Very good breakfast with plenty of choice. The hotel was close to or within short walking distance to most places of interest.....highly recommend x
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great Location-Great Value

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Location was great
Cons: Larger room would have been OK but not really necessary
Location was ideal for visiting the Acropolis as well the shopping district - easy access to metro as well. Quieter area but not off the beaten path - very safe. Room was small but had a balcony and a large bed. Bathroom was also smaller but had very nice shower and was clean. Breakfast was good as was the service. Found the front desk staff to be helpful and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Gergana Berova, Phidias Hotel Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comment, We wish to see you soon again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Well located

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Friendly, attentive staff
Cons: Disclose what is being offered
Location: As above
Disappointing room - the the basement without views/windows - not disclosed at the time of booking
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Gergana, Hotel Management
We understand you unconvinience, but if your resrvation was for the Budget room-no windows, you should be more careful with your reservations. Also if you had asked us to move you, and if we had the availability we could upgrade your room. We hope to give us next time the chance to make you feel like Phidias is your home. Best Regards!